We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Riverwalk Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #8 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Carthage, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Perfect Riverwalk Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Drury Plaza Riverwalk is perfectly located right on the Riverwalk, directly across from the Main Plaza and a couple of blocks from the Market Square. It is also very close to the Aztec, Majestic and Empire Theatres. The hotel itself was once the Alamo The roof pool and spa, on the 23rd floor, offers a spectacular view of San Antonio. There was a very nice Breakfast buffet everyday and a Kick Back happy hour every evening that was also very nice. The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. We took the city bus "Via" from the airport (#5,30) and it took about 40 minutes to get to the hotel but only set us back $1.20 each compared to the $27 it cost us for a taxi back to the airport. The bus stop was easy to find, just outside the B terminal bag claim, and was clean and the driver nice. The hotel has a onsite parking garage which costs $20+ per day, and you just don't need a car to get around anywhere downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 893DavidW456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    677
    160
    49
    35
See reviews for
866
946
62
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Staff was friendly. Hotel clean. The breakfast was good and the evening reception was good. At 5:30-7 each night they have hot food and you can get 3 free drinks. It was a whole meal. They had chicken strips, baked potato, Mac and cheese, salad, soup and hot dogs! The rooms are clean and ours even had a ceiling fan. It is convenient location on river walk. It is not far from restaurants. We spent some time at rooftop pool which is very pretty.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We just returned from 5 fantastic days in SA-the Drury Plaza on S.St.Mary's was wonderful! Staff very friendly and helpful- nice to have breakfast and evening snacks (Kickback could even be dinner).Great location with the Riverwalk right out the door on the ground level and the Alamo only 2 blocks away,along with the Haunted Menger Hotel (dinner and Ghost walk with Sarah, of the Sisters Grimm was great!) The Trolley is easy to find from the Drury- be sure to visit the King Williams District . We can't wait to return and we will definitely stay at the Drury! Our room was on the 9th floor in the San Fernando Tower overlooking the Cathedral Plaza- beautiful view of the cathedral at night - really can't say enough about this hotel- such a great value!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PollyBeth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We are honored that you selected our hotel for your first visit to our historic city. We appreciate the wonderful comments you made about our team members and have celebrated their success with your kind words. Further, we love that you highlighted several attractions in downtown San Antonio like the Alamo and the King William district. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to a Drury Hotel in the future!

Matthew H.
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here with a group during July 4th week 2013. The rooms were very clean and I didn't encounter anyone who worked here that was anything less than incredibly helpful. They offered free breakfast and dinner each night. It certainly wasn't gourmet, but it kept the group happy and allowed us to have really wonderful lunches. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone going to San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eimile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Me and my best friend came here for a girls weekend November 1st - 3rd. It was great... the entire staff is amazing. From when you check in, to the people that take your plates at breakfast, to the valet, to the maintenance people, bartenders, etc... every single person that we encountered was so sweet and helpful. We loved the free breakfast and evening food and drinks. The breakfast had scrambled eggs, fresh made pancakes, biscuits and gravy, bagels with cream cheese, sausage patties, baked potato wedges, donuts, muffins, oatmeal with toppings, cereals, milk, orange juice, apple juice, sodas, coffee with different flavored creamers... it was SO good. It would have cost you at least $10 a person anywhere else, and you couldn't have gotten more when you were done. Loved smelling the popcorn in the afternoons. The evening drinks and food were really good. They had pretty much any drink you wanted - you get 3 free an evening, the food was hot dogs, nachos, some kind of soup, chili, baked potato, a pasta with tomato sauce, salad, carrot and celery sticks, and there was more food on that one, I just didn't look at everything on that either. The room was nice, big and roomy. Had a recliner in there, with a desk and chair, mini fridge, microwave, nice flat screen TV... the beds were so comfortable, pillows too. We just got a basic double room so I'm sure the suites are unreal! Me and my friend really enjoyed the hotel, and for the price you really can't beat it! We walked everywhere... it's about a 15 minute walk to the Alamodome, and everything else is right around the hotel... it's pretty centrally located to everything you would want to see. We did not use the valet because it was $21 a night, so we parked at a parking garage that is directly across from the Omni la Mansion del Rio which is about 2 blocks away from the hotel... just map the Omni and it's literally across from it... that garage is $9 a night. So when we left on Sunday, my friend had to go get the car while I waited with our bags where the valet is. I thought once they found out we didn't use them for parking, they would be rude and snobby, but they were SO sweet! Once she came, the valet got all of our bags that were on the cart, wheeled them over to the trunk, and put everything in the car for us and told us which way to get back on the highway. I mean, you honestly can't get any better than this hotel in my opinion. OH, and the view from the rooftop pool was amazing! There were 2 hot tubs up there too.... both full of people. I would recommend this to everyone, and this is the only place I will be staying anytime I'm in San Antonio!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank havefaith324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed October 24-27th at the Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk on South St. Mary's Street. We could not have been happier. We had a one room suite. Our boys are 7 and 9 and they slept fine on the pull out couch because they had their own tv and complimentary drinks and popcorn. We slept well in the King sized bed because we had a door and our own tv! The hotel is well located directly on the riverwalk. Our balcony overlooked the Cathedral, which is beautiful lit up at night. We ate at Rita's on the riverwalk, which is convenient and has good drinks, but ok food. The Alamo is exactly one mile from the hotel. We easily walked it and lucked out that it was living history day. There were several people dressed up and demonstrating guns, knives, cookware, etc. from the period. We took a ton of pictures for any future Alamo school projects. We truly enjoyed the hotel, their morning breakfasts, and the daily evening kickbacks. Let's face it, boys are always hungry and this helped us with the hot dogs, macaroni and cheese and nachos. Everyone at the hotel was really nice and I would definitely come back. I have never stayed in a Drury Inn and will definitely look for them in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is an old bank building, it is a cool building right on the river walk. Free cocktails in the evening, is a nice plus. The free breakfast was good, with lots of choices. Hope to return again next year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Travelers4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,376 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing