We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Drury Plaza made our first visit to San Antonio an amazing experience....And we will be back!!! I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else! The building is beautiful and the fact that the Drury family has preserved the historical value of the bldg. (which was once the Alamo Bank) is awesome. I loved looking at the pictures that chronicled the story behind the hotel as well as recent investment in extending the riverwalk area. The staff was excellent. We loved our suite! Very roomy, clean, comfortable bed, incredible view of the city from our balcony as well as from the rooftop pool. The free breakfast and kickback happy hr. drinks and food were super. Can't beat the location.

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Fernando Tower. It was a suite with a Jacuzzi in the bathroom. The view from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stjoejanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,568 - 1,574 of 2,801 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our stay at the Drury Plaza Riverwalk in San Antonio was one of the best we've experienced. The hotel housed in the former Alamo National Bank is solidly built, which helps reduce street noise.

The beds and bedding were very comfortable, and the room (one of the bigger ones), had a very comfortable sofa and reclining chair.

A hot buffet breakfast offered a wide selection of food, and the "5:30 Kick Back" every evening was tremendous value. As well as a great selection of food (salads, pasta, wings, hot dogs, baked potatoes) each adult (legal drinking age) was offered 3 free alcoholic beverages each evening.

The staff were genuinely caring and appreciative of our business. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2005Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at the Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk for work. I must say I was very delighted with the hotel's amenities. The afternoon happy hour is not as bad as others make it out to be. If you're looking for a five course meal then you're going to be disappointed. It's basically appetizers and light refreshments and that can get you through the day if you don't eat much. If you want meat, there is a very good steakhouse just down the street called Texas Land and Cattle. Prices are not too bad.

The hotel is right on the riverwalk and you can walk down the riverwalk and see all the nice shops and restaurants along the way. There's something for everyone on the riverwalk from ice cream shop to nice sit down restaurants, to an Irish Pub.

Overall, the stay was excellent because it was close to where I needed to go for work, and the Riverwalk was great to walk at night. I would highly recommend this hotel for any stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Trip to see my son graduate from BMT. Good hotel in great old banking building and good food in the lobby everyday. Lots of kids around but surprisingly quiet. Not directly on Riverwalk which is a bonus. Cannot beat the value really.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justgo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I traveled to San Antonio for a night on the Riverwalk to celebrate our first anniversary. We spent the night at the Drury and from the moment we pulled into the Valet, they were fabulous. The valet was courteous and promt, the front desk staff was polite and helpful with all questions.

The room was a good size, well decorated, and comfortable.

The only complaint would be the insulation was terrible. We were very close to the elevator and could hear the elevator all night long. The elevators announce every floor, and we heard it every time someone got on or off our floor. We are both heavy sleepers, so we slept through it, but for a light sleeper this could be a definite deal breaker.

The hotel itself is an old bank, and we had some fun exploring it. If you go down to the basement (Riverwalk Level) you can see the old vault, which they swing open during the day. There was also a courtyard that we had to go to the sixth floor, to another set of elevators and then all the way to the top to find, but it was beautiful. There was no one there, but it was an excellent place to sit and read, or bring a drink and sit with friends.

We explored more and looked at the pools, they were both decent sized and well taken care of. The indoor pool was empty! (I don't think a lot of people knew it was there.) The outdoor pool also had two hot tubs separate from the pool to enjoy.

The location of the hotel is technically ON the Riverwalk, but it is about two blocks from the majority of the restaurants/stores that most people consider to be the hub of the Riverwalk. I actually preferred being a little bit away but still close enough to walk.

Overall it was a great hotel for my husband and I for the night, and I would definitely like to stay there again for a longer trip. I would recommend asking for a room away from the elevators if you are a light sleeper (or don't want to hear them all night.)

Room Tip: Corner suite seemed large! Elevators are loud, and you can hear them if you are nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'm an older person, and the Drury is an older hotel. But I like to do new and exciting things, and the Drury accommodates that too. I arrived late in the evening and the exact room that I had reserved had already been sold. I was quickly given an upgrade. And not just to a larger room, but to a suite. My reservation had stated that I wanted a Jacuzzi, and the suite had one. Needless to say, that made my experience a pleasure. I realize that this circumstance would not happen all the time, but the rest of the amenities happen every day. Full service breakfast buffet, with food being cooked fresh right in front of you. A complimentary cocktail hour with a large variety of hot and cold foods. A private entrance on the the famous Riverwalk. Two pools, one inside, the other out. Key card controlled elevator access 24/7 and on the lobby doors in the evening. And a lobby decor fitting to the bank that it once was. I would be remiss in not mentioning Desiree at the front desk as being a true ambassador for this hotel. Her treatment of me was as if I were a guest in her home and that she was glad I was there.
My next vacation is to New Orleans in March. I would not even think of staying with any other hotel.company.

Room Tip: Use whatever booking service you like to compare hotels when you are planning your trip. Make your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jtfftj1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Let me start off by saying the hotel is beautiful inside but filled with rude and disrespectful people. Not only did I get cussed at and disrespected. Valet stole from me and when I approached management they could care less. DEREK one of the most disrespectful managers cussed me out and when trying to approach general manager James he refused to listen and insisted I was a liar smh. If your into getting cussed out and being degraded then this is the hotel for you. Not a family friendly environment at all. New management lack professionalism and respect for there guest.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
8  Thank YANG K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

At Drury Hotels, we hold guest service in the highest regard. We apologize if you felt the interactions with our team were unprofessional. We’ve had the opportunity to speak with you directly to address your concerns on several occasions, and feel it is not appropriate to share the details of our one-on-one conversation in this public forum. In the future, another hotel may be better able to accommodate your specific requests and we wish you success in finding a hotel to fit your needs when traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,112 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,238 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,133 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $184 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing