We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #7 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect place for reunion”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay--very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful lobby, fast elevators (maybe this issue was fixed since some of the earlier reviews), lovely and comfortable room, fantastic breakfast, good location for Riverwalk, Alamo and more. We missed the afternoon snacks both days as we were out and about but were really impressed with the healthy and well-made breakfast food plus plenty of seating. Although our reunion group was spread out over the hotel, it was easy to gather in the lobby, at the pool or terrace and for breakfast plus we were a short walk to many attractions. For my husband and I personally as frequent and world-wide travellers, this was a 5 star rating--however, one of our party had a laptop stolen out of their room while we were at the pool for a couple of hours. The staff responded quickly by getting the police and were very helpful, but that is why my rating is for 4 stars rather than 5. Ironically, this Drury is located in an historic bank building--we recommended to them that they put safes in each room like many hotels and motels now offer. In spite of that, I would gladly stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OperaDiva71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,767
    696
    168
    52
    37
See reviews for
903
976
63
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The location of the hotel (I assume) provides a large part of its business and as far as tourist Hotels I think it works well. The free buffet and drinks were nice in the evenings after work and the early breakfast worked out well too. I would be nice if there was a bar in the hotel instead of having to go out on the pricey riverwalk, but I can see where it would be tough to compete. As a business hotel, I think it could do a little better, but since it is primarily aimed towards tourism, I don't know why they would bother.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McHorseOats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a great stay at the Drury Plaza Hotel. Breakfast and afternoon snacks included in the rate. Breakfast was hot and fresh. Afternoon snacks included 3 alcoholic drinks plus snack foods from 5:30-7:00. Excellent location on riverwalk. Away from congestion but just a short walk away from everything. Perfect location with access to Alamo and market place all within walking distance. Also easy access to roads if driving to different parts of San Antonio. Rooms clean and include fridge and microwave. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lilnsabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Now Freezing in Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great stay everyone super friendly pool on the 22nd fl overlooking the entire city. Breakfast buffet was full of health & great tasting food ( eggs ,pancakes, sausage ) and snacks ( dinner included chicken nuggets, pasta, drinks...yes alcohol too). Couldn't ask for anything better.So to recap room, breakfast, drinker, and drinks were all included !!!!! Add the extremely friendly staff could not have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hawaii0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at the Drury Plaza when in San Antonio Labor Day weekend to attend my son's graduation from Lackland. This was an outstanding place to stay. It is situated on the riverwalk half way between the Alamo and the Mexican market so you can walk everywhere. Our room was clean, spacious. Bed was comfortable with 5 pillows!!!! There was a small frig and microwave provided. The customer service was attentive, accommodating and top notch. Can't tell you how many times a member of the staff asked us how our stay was going, if there was any concerns or if they could help us in any way. Every member of the staff came across as genuinely caring and all had a smile for us. It was wonderful to have the morning breakfast and nightly kick back provided with the room. The variety at breakfast was as good as any buffet. The evening had baked potatoes, a pasta dish, hot dogs, soup, salad, chips and cheese and 3 drinks provided. It did get a little crazy on the weekend but the staff once again did a fantastic job and got everyone through it in a timely manner.

The pool and rooftop terrace were very nice. View at night was amazing. Admittedly more enjoyable on Thursday and Friday which were quieter. On Saturday we were going to go to riverwalk for a night cap--it was so crazy you could hardly walk. There was a two hour wait to go anywhere--we ended up back at the Drury on the rooftop terrace enjoying the night lights, eating popcorn and having a soda which are provided free in the lobby. I only wish it was open later than 10:00.

The hotel does require Valet parking which is an additional $21 on your bill. It is run very smoothly and efficiently like every other service provided at the Drury.

I would not hesitate to stay or recommend the Drury Plaza. The Drury deserves to be in the top 10 if not number one in our opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CindyGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
376 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked over 20 rooms for the weekend activities for our daughter's wedding. The hotel staff was very easy to work with on this. The hotel easily accommodated our guests.
Every room was unique. The breakfast was fine. Having a fridge in each room was convenient.
We didn't get to try out the kick back events.
Parking at the hotel is costly. There were extremely long waits for getting our vehicles out of the garage. Sometimes you needed to allow half an hour to get your vehicle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Se stayed at the Drury Plaza Hotel right on the Riverwalk in San Antonio. It's a grand old hotel with a door opening right onto the Riverwalk. Very convenient, clean and modern old hotel that Drury has done a great job of modernizing. The only complaint was the elevator speeds, they were unusually slow, but everything else was exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parks W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,663 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing