We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We thought this hotel had incredible ammenties. The happy hour in the evening with snacks/light dinnner and drinks plus the hot breakfast makes this stay a wonderful value. The suites were spacious with great views. This is a really interesting old building and has a very unique charm. The staff was gracious and helpful. A lady walked in with her dog and they brought a special little treat bag just for the puppy. :) I don't travel with animals, but if I did I would most certainly stay here.
Easy access to the riverwalk!!! Very nice stay. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Suites are fabulous!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,784)
There are newer reviews for Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,696 - 1,702 of 2,784 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Drury Plaza Hotel River Walk is a good place to stay. Like all Drury hotels, you know what to expect when staying at them. It offers the free hot breakfast as well as an evening meal which includes free alcoholic drinks. Check-in was quick and efficient, although the receptionist didn't necessarily understand the layout. She mentioned that my room was on the first floor, however there were no rooms on it. It was actually on the 19th floor (just a little different!)

How they organized the room with the given space was unique. The bathroom was around the corner with the work desk along the all. The bed was in the center of the bed away from the window. The bed itself had several pillows with different consistencies as far as their softness. It took time to test each one to find a suitable one. At least the mattress was very comfortable. Make sure to check the clock in the room as well, as I was awoken at 0530 in the morning by a previous guest setting the alarm and not turning it off.

Breakfast was very good with a selection of both hot and cold choices. The quality is what you could expect for a place catering to a large crowd. The evening 5:30 kickback offered a selection of food which I didn't try since I was short on time. However I did have a free glass of wine. They had only Bud Light for beer, but had several choices of wine to include both red and white wine. There were also a selection of mixed drinks. It is not often that you find this type of options for both breakfast and dinner included in the room price.

The biggest issue with the hotel is the noise. The hallway is not carpeted and is all tile, which means that all noise reverberates throughout the hall into the rooms. Even at the end of the hall you can hear the dings from the elevator. Add to that doors closing and people talking makes it hard to sleep. You can also expect to hear noise from outside as well. Not sure the reasoning behind not putting carpet on the floor or thicker windows.

Overall, the Drury Plaza Hotel River Walk was a good hotel for a stay in San Antonio and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you very much for letting us know of your past experience with us. We appreciate your honest feedback to help us become better. We are very proud of our historic hotel and put a great amount of care and attention into it. We do appreciate the positive comments regarding our staff as we strive to give outstanding customer service. Because of the historic nature of our property and the location we do have some opportunities with noise issues which we strive to keep to a minimum. We hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Thank you again for choosing Drury Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our family stayed for three nights to see San Antonio over Spring Break. The hotel has a lot going for it. Being on a slightly out-of-the-way part of the Riverwalk, it is a bit less expensive than some of the competition. There is an indoor pool so that the kids can swim throughout the year. The lobby of the old bank building looks cool. The breakfast buffet is a full breakfast with nice variety, and it is free. (The breakfast buffet and elevators can get crowded later in the morning, but they do warn you.) The afternoon happy hour is nicely run if you get tired of spending more money or just being on the Riverwalk. There is a couple wonderful terraces (one faces west and might be too hot for some people in the summer, the other is better shaded.) Some rooms are true suites with doors to the bedrooms -- great if the kids need to go to bed early. The staff has always been helpful.

All the good things are offset a little by a few quirks, some of which are beyond the hotel's control. Although the hotel is not on a noisy part of the Riverwalk, it is not a "quiet" hotel. The hotel is bordered on three sides by major downtown bus and delivery routes, so you get to hear buses (and trucks making late-night deliveries) stopping and revving up to start. The location of the hotel leads to another issue, if you decide to walk on the streets (as opposed to down in the Riverwalk, which can take longer), you have to wade through all of the people milling around the large bus stops. Another problem we noted was that the beds were hard. I know that the hardness of a matress is a matter of taste, but everyone in our group commented about the beds at different times. The other strange quirk is the television. There is no pay-per-view. That has become so common that I took it for granted that after dragging my poor kid around all day, we could find some (overly-expensive) movie to watch before bedtime, but it didn't happen. There was the usual selection of cable stuff and HBO.

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel, and I'm sort of "meh" about returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwindsorfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding out hotel. We are very proud of our historic hotel and work very hard to exceed expectations. We certainly appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have many different types of rooms and layouts because of the historical nature of the building. We are very popular with families because of the great value we provide and do have many value add-ons to offer our guests. Thanks again for sharing your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was beautiful, and the access to the Riverwalk was within a block. The staff was wonderful, especially when my keycard stopped working. Not only did the front desk immediately re-key my card, but a staff member went up with me to check to see if it now worked. It didn't, but he had the repairman there in less than 2 minutes. It was a problem in the mechanism in the door and it was fixed in less than 2 more minutes. Service was fantastic. As we were there for my son's air force graduation, we were able to get a military discount which helped with the price. The valet service was really fast every time we used it. The free breakfast and 5:30 Kickback (free food and 3 free drinks) every night was a huge plus. On the 22nd floor there is an outdoor observation area with tables you can sit out and enjoy the view, as well as 2 jacuzzis and a pool in another area of the that floor. It was amazing to sit outside in the jacuzzi at night watching the city lights. We even observed a downtown fire that night from the jacuzzi! Loved everything about our visit!

Room Tip: We got a suite which had a sitting room as well as a roomy bedroom. Very nice to have separate spac...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boesjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked this hotel because of all the great reviews and it exceeded our expectations. the price fir the room was also reasonable for us since we used a corporate discount. it was a beautiful hotel and the rooms were clean and comfortable. it is located right on the riverwalk. were able to walk one block and get to the riverwalk tour boat. the view from the terrace is beautiful. we got the king size bed with the jacuzzi and after a long day of walking (everything downtown is walking distance) the two person jacuzzi and comfortable king size bed with down pillows and comforter were so relaxing. wanted to stay an extra night but they were booked so ended up staying at a drury several miles away. the other drury was ok (it was a budget hotel and the only drury available) but nothing compared to the plaza hotel. everything was perfect. the staff was friendly, valet service was excellent, the breakfast and 530 kickback were good and plentiful. cant wait to stay here again. next time though i will make sure to book the number of nights i need well ahead of time. no complaints and would recommend this hotel to anyone. given all of the amenaties and the great location, it is definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I would like to begin by stating that I was a little uncertain about booking this hotel, based on some of the reviews I read here on tripadvisor. I was worried that the hotel might not be located directly on the Riverwalk, and I also was concerned that the hotel furnishings might be a little outdated. My husband and I both were extremely pleased with the hotel and all it's amenities. I am so glad that we decided to book this hotel, and we are already making plans to return at the end of this year.

We had no problems locating the hotel by following the directions that we printed directly from the Drury website. Valet parking was a breeze, even though we arrived exactly at check-in time along with many other families. We were checked in and on our way to our room within 15 minutes max. I had booked a king suite with a terrace, as we wanted to experience a wonderful view of San Antonio for our anniversary. We were placed in the "new" tower, which although we did need to change elevators to get to our room, this was not a problem at all even with luggage. When we walked in the room, the view from our balcony was AMAZING! We were overlooking the Riverwalk and directly across from the Cathedral, which was gorgeous at night. On Sunday morning, we watched and listened as the Catholic priests conduct Mass at the Cathedral, which was fascinating for us Baptists! :)

The room we booked was huge; the king bed was extremely comfortable; the bathroom was large and fully stocked with amenities. I thought the furnishings were very appropriate for the Texas Hill Country. We did have a small kitchen area with a fridge and table and chairs, which was a nice bonus. The terrace was actually my favorite part of the room. The pictures that I took of the night sky from our terrace does not do the view justice.

We did enjoy the complimentary breakfast one morning, and were pleased with the many different choices available. We also enjoyed the complimentary evening "kick-back" two different afternoons along with cocktails, which we viewed as a nice bonus. Although the sessions were busy, we never waited more than a few minutes and we enjoyed seeing the other guests and their families. There were a lot of families at the hotel and everyone was pleasant and enjoying their time in San Antonio.

We visited both hotel pools, although we did not use either, and the rooftop pool is GORGEOUS with amazing panoramic views of the city. I can imagine that the view is spectacular at night from the rooftop pool and jacuzzi. I do plan on enjoying these amenities when we return.

Riverwalk access from the hotel was perfect; you walk downstairs and you are directly on the Riverwalk. You walk maybe one block down, turn to the right, and you are at the heart of the Riverwalk nightlife, which we loved. We walked everywhere we went from our hotel with no problems. We also walked down street level to the Rivercenter (?) mall, which was a pleasant trip.

The hotel staff was friendly, polite and helpful. Housekeeping was great and our room was immaculate. Everyone we encountered had a smile and a friendly greeting for us, which was very much appreciated.

If you are planning a trip to the Riverwalk, I would suggest taking a riverboat tour, visiting Coyote Ugly and Howl at the Moon, and visiting many of the quaint shops along the Riverwalk. When we return, we plan to enjoy the hotel pool and hopefully take a carriage ride along downtown at night.

Room Tip: Book a room with a terrace overlooking the Riverwalk in the new tower.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Really enjoyed our night at the Drury Plaza. The hotel is in a great location, and easy to find. The Hotel is in the old Alamo Bank building, so the history and details are fun to look around at. The breakfast and happy hour can not be beat with children. We were in a terrace room in the San Fernando tower, so it was a little bit of a hike to take luggage to and get around. The pool was great for the kids. Always pleased with Drury!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oneday_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,093 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,215 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,102 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $173 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing