We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing about this hotel is the pool on the roof!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #7 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh on Sea
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best thing about this hotel is the pool on the roof!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely friendly reception staff, very good with pointing out where local sights were. This building has character which fits with the rest of San Antonio it's grand on in the lobby, but office block like in the rooms and corridors. Our room had a massive gap under the door which let in light and sound from the corridor. The happy hour was like a rugby scrum and I saw lots of unhygienic prodding and poking of food, and I was quite ill after having a drink and some what looked like safe food!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience! We appreciate your honest feedback to help us become better. We are very proud of our historic hotel and put a great amount of care and attention into it. We do typically fill up with many families and the kickback time is enjoyed by most of them. The issues you had pointed out in your review are great constructive criticism that we will take under review and correct. We hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Thank you again for choosing Drury Hotels.

James Robbins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,767
    696
    168
    52
    37
See reviews for
903
976
63
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This isn't a bad hotel. Maybe they were gouging a little charging 230 for a very basic room because of the rodeo. I don't know. But for that amount, I expect much more.

If you're into history and art deco, this is a very cool lobby to see. It's a 20's? bank restored as a hotel. I feel more thought should've been given to the front desk. The lobby is massive. The front desk is tiny in comparison. It took 15 mins to check in at 9PM and 30 to check out. That seems like forever when your on a tight schedule.
It was a long walk involving 2 elevators to get to my room.
My room had an empty fridge and a microwave. I'm well traveled and this is not something I expect from a 230/night room. Bottled water, chocolate, booze? Overcharge me for it, I don't care
The bed and linen were nice.
The hotel is situated on a dead spot of the riverwalk. Maybe good if you want quiet.
I booked this hotel because everything else on the river was booked. Now I know why it wasn't full.
Walking thru the hotel to the river was the best part. It's kind of a museum of the Alamo Bank. Very cool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have you stayed in downtown San Antonio and had to wait a long, long time to get your car? Stay here and your car is right there, any time, no waiting. The suites are big and comfortable. The included breakfast is great. Free happy hour, including some drinks. Fitness center, pool, hot tub, walk out, sit down balcony, and ... you are right on the Riverwalk. You are in a big city so there is some street noise.

Room Tip: ask for Riverwalk side but you may be way above the Riverwalk. You can look below from a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

New favorite Riverwalk hotel...I needed a hotel at the last minute when on a recent business trip. The location was perfect and the price was right. The hotel is beautiful--restored Art Nouveau architecture in a historic bank building. The staff was friendly. They clearly like working for Drury. The room was large and had a huge bathroom. Unexpected benefit--complimentary buffet and happy hour in the evening. I would recommend this hotel to business or vacation travelers--individuals or with kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, AR
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for vacation and it was nice. I would stay again. My only regret is the room was small and we were with our 20 month old daughter, but other than that it was nice! The pool is awesome.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Drury Plaza Riverwalk Hotel in San Antonio. The hotel is the former Alamo National Bank, and they have done a magnificent job of turning it into a hotel while keeping the feel of the original building. The lobby of the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. We did have a bit of confusion at check-in. The first attendant at the valet parking said we should have checked in first and gotten a ticket for valet parking. So I ran in and had to stand in line to check in, only to be told that our room wasn't ready. In the meantime, another valet person automatically gave my husband a parking ticket so that my husband was standing beside me with our luggage as I was finding out that our room wasn't ready. When I received the cell phone call that our room was ready, I was very upset that I had to stand in line again to check-in, even though I had already stood in line once. The rest of our stay was without incident, and on our last evening I asked to speak to the manager on duty. We explained that we didn't think it was right to make a guest stand in line twice to check in...that there should be a different way of handling guests who had already tried to check in only to find their room wasn't ready, well after check-in time began. Hector, an assistant manager of the hotel, was wonderful. He listened to our concerns and took notes and was genuinely appreciative of our input. The free breakfast in the mornings served everything from bagels, pancakes, toast and yogurt to biscuits, sausage, eggs and gravy. The 5:30pm "Kick-Back" served up to 3 free drinks (mixed, beer or wine) per person plus enough food to make your "kick-back" your supper for the evening. Our room was cleaned perfectly every day, and we did not encounter even one employee who wasn't smiling. Even with the snafu about getting the first valet parking ticket/delayed check-in, I give this hotel a 5 rating because our stay was pleasant in every other way. We walked out the front door, walked less than half a block and were at the steps down to the Riverwalk. We will definitely stay here again if we are ever lucky enough to visit San Antonio again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BirdwatcherGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel was awesome from top to bottom. Housed in an old bank building, it was striking and also comfortable. The lobby is gorgeous. Our room was sizable and comfortable to the max, with an awesome king size bed that just invited sleeping in. I especially loved the proximity to the Riverwalk and other areas. Yes, we had to pay for valet parking, but we didn't mind after checking out prices for parking in nearby lots. At $19 a night, it was either about the same or even cheaper than using an alternative lot. From the front desk staff to housekeeping to the buffet/evening kickback staff, to the parking attendants, everyone was absolutely lovely. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel! Make sure you check out the rooftop heated pool and hot tubs, and the other indoor pool. They are spotless and welcoming. We enjoyed an evening at the kickback event, then went up to the rooftop pool and swam under the stars while looking out at the city lights. Accessing the Riverwalk is as simple as walking to the lowest level of the hotel and stepping out the back door. Area restaurants were wonderful, as was the overall ambiance. This is how a hotel should be - impressive and welcoming at the same time. I would absolutely recommend this for any traveller in the area. Way to go, Drury!

Room Tip: Our room did not have a view of the Riverwalk, but it didn't matter to us. There are so many thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Visitor_041998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,661 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing