We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Breakfast and Kickoff (5:30pm)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free Breakfast and Kickoff (5:30pm)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Bedroom is alright for the price you pay but service is a notch better. Was given free breakfast and 3 beverages during kickoff (5:30pm daily) with some snacks. Overall a good package and a block away from nearby river cruise ticket station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenOh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,513
    613
    150
    47
    33
See reviews for
783
849
57
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I spent one nite at this hotel (we were in town for a band competition). What a cool old hotel. It was a former bank. The lobby retained the old bank feel (stained glass, marble, brass, decorative plaster ceiling). The rooms were comfortable. There is a roof top pool, hot tub and observation deck with tables and chairs. They are former offices. The hotel is in walking distance to the Riverwalk. The bus stop is outside the front door. Parking is $20.00. Elevators are slow.
There is a free happy hour. Each legal drinking age person gets a card at check-in which is good for 3 free drinks, happy hour food and breakfast. Free fountain drinks are available all day long. The happy hour food was enough to make a dinner: chicken strips, baked potatoes and toppings, tossed salad, mac and cheese, hot dogs, nachos and desserts. There was a complete breakfast also: pancakes, eggs, sausage, cereal, bagels, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smrmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words regarding out hotel. We are very proud of our historic hotel and work very hard to exceed expectations. We certainly appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us. The elevators do get very busy and we appreciate your patience. Thanks again for sharing your experience with us!

James Robbins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped at this hotel for a couple of nights while travelling around Texas. It was a little difficult to find and park outside as its in a crowded part of down town San Antonio, however this is offset by the fact it is close to all the major attractions including the Alamo and river walk.

Converted from a bank built back in the thirties, it is a wonderful art deco building with all that brings both good and bad. The main entrance and reception area area amazing architecturally, the walls are thick which makes it cool in the Texas sun, however it has plenty of corridors and the rooms are on the smaller side to more modern hotels.

The hotel offers free cooked breakfast, and brunch but we found these to be a total scrum as is often the case, but as you can walk directly from the hotel onto the riverwalk with all it's places to eat it was no hardship. you get what you pay for, and we enjoyed both huge steaks and haute cuisine within a 10 minute walk of the hotel a typical reasonable Texas prices.

It was a touch noisy at times but we were not bothered, the building and location well made up for it. A special word for the reception staff who were both helpful and friendly, to us couple of brits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagdabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Convenient location on the River Walk in downtown San Antonio. We stayed in a suite with a balcony and a hot tub. It was a little bit of a walk to get to our room (had to go up two banks of elevators and down a few hallways) but the room was worth the walk. They have a nice set up in the evening where you can enjoy drinks and some appetizers. We really enjoyed our stay at the Drury Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemphill, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a perfect location downtown San Antonio with easy access to the Riverwalk,shopping and nightlife.We had a large corner room with double beds.It was a little noisy on Saturday night but that was expected.Very spacious and clean.Refrigerator and microwave came in handy for our weekend visit of 3 days.I grew up in San Antonio and remember this hotel as a bank so the history of this building is unique.Plenty to do in the hotel alone.We swam on the rooftop pool which was great in the evening watching the sunset and the city lights coming on.Breakfast was excellent and evening refreshment was another bonus.We could walk to local restaurants and the Riverwalk was right out the backdoor to the hotel.Security was good and I felt safe.The hotel was full so it was a little crazy when getting our vehicle from valet parking when we checked out.The parking fee was high I thought, but the free meals made up for it.Perfect family place to vacation.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodtxn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent a couple nights at this hotel and explored the riverwalk. When we checked in, there were no rooms available. The manager instantly assigned us to what appeared to be an upgraded room. 14th floor. This is a beautiful building. Old bank building. Laid out a little strange, but, kept up very nice. Our bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The view looked to the east, away from the riverwalk. This is a very nice hotel with direct access to the riverwalk.

Pros:
1) The "5:30 pm kickback" snack/drinks in the hotel was a pleasant surprise. Free drinks (yes, free drinks), chips, hot dogs, misc snacks. All free and plentiful.
2) Staff was very friendly....we got a phone call 5 minutes after walking into our room to ensure that everything was OK.
3) The rooftop pool and patio area was really nice. Check out the one on the 22nd floor. Great place to just hang out and take in the view.
4) The breakfast was very good. Pancakes, eggs, bagels, toast, yogurt, juices, cereal, sausage, breakfast potatoes, coffee..... Don't miss this.
5) Free wifi worked great

Cons:
1) The location, while on the riverwalk, is at the far east end of the riverwalk. When we first arrived, we walked right out onto the riverwalk after dark. That section is poorly lit and there were not any people around. A little disconcerting. You have to walk a block or so to get to the main area of the riverwalk where all the restaurants are. Also, at street level of the Drury, there were some "questionable" characters hanging around.
2) We were in the San Fernando tower and it was a somewhat "winding" walk and two elevators to reach our room.
3) No in-room safe

Overall, I would recommend this hotel. The price was right, the amenities are hard to beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ititravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel has something special....and I'm not talking about the amazing hot breakfast, the clean, very comfortable rooms, the popcorn and soda in the afternoon or the terrific Kickback at 5:30 PM. Oh, yes, all of that is amazing...but the thing that always strikes us is the friendliness and smiles of the employees!! While customer service is a dying art in this country...and I'm sorry to say that, but it's true....this hotel takes customer service to a level you cannot believe!! Not a single staff person passes you without a happy greeting or asking if everything is ok!! From the front desk to the housekeeping staff, from the food service to the valet parking....it is nothing but a pleasant experience, making you want to return again and again....or to just LIVE IN this wonderful place!!!! Thank you, Drury....you know we'll be back!!!

Room Tip: We've stayed here for many years and have never had a bad room....even though it's downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandJK780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
#8 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,835 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,693 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Address: 105 S Saint Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Best of all, our riverside doors offer direct access to the beautiful San Antonio River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Drury Hotels Company, LLC so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing