We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Convenient to Riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest US
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Convenient to Riverwalk”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed recently at the Drury for a medical conference. Not sure if the rooms were discounted but ended up in a small room with a desk workspace that was crammed into a small alcove. Nonetheless, the positives outweighed the negative.

The room was clean and during the week the cleaning crew kept the room spic and span. The room included a microwave and refrigerator which came in very handy. (There are several quick mart places near the hotel to stock up on soft drinks, beer, etc.)

The 32 inch LCD was a nice touch and unlike some hotel chains the source button on the TV and remote were open so if you brought a VGA/RGB audio/video cable you could access the hotels wireless though your laptop allowing you to connect with Netflix, OnDemand (if you have an account), etc. and run from your PC through the TV.

The bathroom was nice sized and there were soap, shampoo, conditioner dispensers in the shower and a hair dryer provided. The towels could use replaced though.

The comp breakfast was a nice touch with fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, sausage, oatmeal, etc. The 5:30 Kickback was welcome each night also as there was a spread of hot dogs, meatballs, salsa, chips, snack foods, etc. You could fill up and use the food as a meal or just nibble with your cocktails. While some reviewers commented on watered down drinks we did not find this to be the case. (We tipped the bar personnel so that might have helped). The tips also help get past the limit of three drinks per person. We saw people who got their drinks in plastic cups (lids provided) who would take them back to their room and refrigerate them and bring them to the pool the next day.

Speaking of the pool, the rooftop pool was very nice and rarely crowded until the weekend. Additionally the fitness room was equipped with the latest Nautilus equipment, free weights and treadmills and ellipticals. There was also a laundry on the pool/fitness level so it was nice to be able to throw a load in, work out then hit the pool while still being able to check on the laundry. Prices were a dollar for soap, 1.50 to wash and 1.25 to dry. Be warned to set the dryer on the highest setting even with a half load or you will have to run it twice.

Some reviewers have commented less than favorably on the staff. We never met anyone from the valet to the front desk to the food/bar to the cleaning crew that was any less than cheery. Everyone was helpful and friendly.

Complementary USA Today papers are provided at the front desk.

Access to the Riverwalk was through the basement. There are scores of restaurants to choose from on the Riverwalk. The Drury was also an easy 10 minute walk to the Alamo. Along the way there is a Hard Rock, Whataburger, Subway, McDonalds, etc.

All in all I am happy to give the Drury 4 stars. My only negatives were the decor didnt suit me. Some of the room fixtures and hotel hallway and lobby areas were dated and worn. Overall though, had a great experience at the Drury and would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank USSBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,715
    684
    166
    52
    37
See reviews for
880
960
62
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at this location for business. Staff was good. Enjoyed the food in the evenings, although the drinks were somewhat watered down. Overall good location and great value would stay again. Room was large and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kytraveltrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level Contributor
465 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

You have to love a chain that besides Disney has the happiness people working there we were in San Antonio for my Niece's Birthday had a suite which did not have a reclining chair they brought one up had lots of relatives and friends who came and visited the room had plenty of room we love the soda machine and breakfast and evening snack and the kids loved it to great location We enjoyed the hotel the suite not as big as my home base Drury Inn on Delt Rd Atlanta but very nice we had a ball

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypandaNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is beautiful. We have no complaints. We read every one of the "terrible" reviews and had none of those experiences. Some people just like to complain.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the minute we walked in the door.

My main concern for hotels is that they are clean. I found a couple hairs in the bathtub, but other than that, the room was perfect.

The free breakfast, dinner, and drinks are a nice extra.

Location is great too.

We'd definitely recommend this place. Don't get it confused with the other Drury hotel down the street- this review is for the Drury Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wynckcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I picked this hotel, based on the positive reviews for a short family vacation. When we arrived after a six hour car ride with an infant and a three year old we were told that our room would not be ready for another hour. Disappointment number one. When we finally got into the room I quickly realized the infant crib that had been placed in our room was broken and completely unusable. We telephoned the front desk to request a replacement and were told that a new crib would be sent to our room. It never arrived. As we were leaving for dinner we stopped by the desk to ask again for a replacement crib and this time were told that all the cribs in the hotel were in use and we were stuck with the broken one! Extreme disappointment number two. My husband found a manager and informed him that if they could not provide a safe place for our child to sleep we would be leaving immediately. The manager resolved the issue by borrowing a bed from another hotel so we stayed. After day one we didn't have any further.issues, but the overall experience was just okay. Not the hotel I would choose for another family trip.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much for letting us know your past experience with us. We are very sorry we didn’t have your room ready for check in upon arrival. I'm not sure what the room type or time of arrival, but we strive to have all rooms possible ready for early check ins for our guests. We will certainly cover this very important issue of the broken crib with our staff. We sincerely apologize for the delay at check in and the failure to provide the proper crib. We hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Thank you again for choosing Drury Hotels.

Sincerely,
Curt Greer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 30th wedding anniversary in a King-size suite in the San Fernando Tower side of the Hotel. The service was exceptional by everyone we encountered and the location is fantastic (right on the river walk). We valeted our car when we checked in and didn't drive again until we were heading home. Everything we did was within walking distance. The room was spacious and clean. King size bed 2 tv's one in the living room area and one in the bedroom. Some reviews were saying the building was old and needed upgrades, the building is actually a renovated bank building and that is what gives it it's charm. The complimentary breakfast and 5:30 kickbacks were very tasty. The breakfast was the usual breakfast type fare. The 5:30 kickback included hot dogs, nachos, baked potatoes, etc. along with 3 adult beverages. Just enough to get you started on a fun night along the river!! We will definitely be staying here again.
There was some confusion when we tried to check in, seems there are 2 Drury's very close together. No worries it was easy to rectify and the staff at the other Drury had printed directions they handed out since "it happens all the time."

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed there for 8 nights and everything was great. We had oversized room and the room was well-appointed and very clean. Breakfast was excellent and the kickback was great. The location was excellent, just a short distance walk to the Riverwalk and other attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocelyne59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,456 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,031 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,877 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing