We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel...4 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel...4 Stars”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was an excellent hotel. All the positive reviews should indicate how good the hotel is. The only downside is the parking is valet only and costs about $25 per day.

I recommend staying at this hotel over any other in San Antonio. It is on the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,796
    709
    173
    55
    41
See reviews for
930
987
63
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Loved the Drury Plaza! The first thing you will notice is the giant sign on top of the building, and don't underrate its usefulness. When walking around the Riverwalk, that sign is always in view, making it almost impossible to get lost. Like others have said, the Drury Plaza has been renovated from an old bank, and the lobby and rooms have been upgraded and beautifully preserved. Valet service was very easy and quick, though there was a bit of confusion upon our departure. I highly recommend checking out half an hour before 11:00 (checkout time) so you're not in a swarm of people trying to get to your car.

We booked two queens but were upgraded to a king immediately. The room was appointed nicely and the bathroom was very clean and very spacious. The beds were ridiculously comfortable, and the curtains must have been super blackout curtains - we could have stayed in bed all morning.

The 5:30 "free food and drinks" is nice - three free drinks and snacks. The food wasn't particularly spectacular, but it was a nice snack before heading out to the Riverwalk. This is great for kids and anyone drinking, but since I'm 6 months pregnant, that didn't include us. This is not to detract from generosity of it all. Same goes for breakfast - nothing spectacular, but it's free and hot. You won't get that at many other places on the Riverwalk.

Overall, a great stay! We would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank captaup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We are normally big fans of the Drury Inns and stay there frequently. However, this Drury did not measure up to the others we have stayed at. First the positives: this is a very attractive hotel that is well located for the River Walk. Most of the staff were very friendly; the room was clean as was the hotel in general; the breakfast was tasty; and the free drinks and evening snacks were fine. Unfortunately, there were negatives that offset these positives. On the reservation, our room was called a “king deluxe,” but it was so small that you could not get to the bathroom when someone was sitting at the desk. The bathroom was large, but the towels were very thin (except for the last day when they were fine), and the shower curtain wasn’t quite long enough to prevent the water from going onto the floor. We used our disposable cups on day one, and they were never replaced, though we were there for 4 nights. The room temperature was impossible to control. It was either too hot or too cold. The wait for the elevators was ridiculously long, suggesting to us that they weren’t running all of their five elevators. Those replenishing the morning and evening food could not keep up, and there were frequently empty containers where there should have been food. Moreover, it was difficult to find a table that had been cleaned. We understand that the hotel was probably full, but there should have been enough staff to handle the number of guests. Would we stay here again? Maybe, but probably not. It would depend on the other options in the same general price range.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NearlyRetired68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words on our friendly staff and clean rooms. We certainly appreciate our guests feedback on areas we can focus more on and will address these with our staff. Please feel free to call down to the desk and ask for one of our many different room types that might be more suitable choice in the future. We will always be happy to make any adjustments necessary.

Thank you,
Curt Greer
General manager
Drury Plaza Riverwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have stayed at several of the hotels on the Riverwalk and this hotel takes the cake!! W
Everyone was wonderful and went above and beyond to make our stay the best!! We had a suite on the. 20 th floor and the views were breath taking. Happy hour and the breakfast buffet was great too!! Thanks Drury...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Belin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times. Everyone is always more than friendly. Our first stay, we were upgraded to a suite!! The rooms are very plush and relaxing in both the main hotel and the San Fernando Tower. When we stayed on the San Fernando tower side, we got a small balcony with our suite. This hotel is a really great value too!! Breakfast and dinner is free. This hotel doesn't feel like a 3.5 star hotel. When we stay on the riverwalk, it is always the Drury Plaza for us!

Room Tip: The Alamo Bank section has a very plush, rich, homey decor. The suites on this side make you feel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nemertes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Rooms are large and clean with great bed and showers. Stayed in a suite at end of hall - very quiet with 2 large rooms. Price was great for 4 nights, with a location right on riverwalk; and, a 10-minute walk to convention center.
Service is great - I haved stayed at 2 other Drury inns with same elsewhere.
Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Suites at end of hall are large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTF25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

They gave us a free upgrade for my birthday and when we got in the room we could see the roof tops of San Antonio . It was so beautiful. Thy have free food and drinks in the evening and free popcorn and soda as well. The location was perfect for our dinner on the river walk and a close stroll to the hotel. We were so impressed that we're already planning to return for my husbands birthday in june

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TiffanyGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,196 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,786 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing