We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good hotel, lots of kids and not fancy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Pros:
Great location on the Riverwalk
Exceptional staff
Nice rooms
Rooftop pool, terrace, and fitness room, all with great views
Evening happy hour and free breakfast, internet

Cons:
Lots of kids / families
Not a fancy place

This is a good value for its location. The rooms are nice, the staff is excellent, and it's nice to have the evening happy hour (3 alcoholic drinks plus snacks) and the free breakfast, free internet, etc. The rooftop pool, hot tubs, terrace, and fitness room are all great and have killer views.

This is a pretty family-oriented place, so if you don't like kids, this may not be your place. The food at breakfast and happy hour is okay, but not healthy. And pretty much everything in the hotel is disposable--styrofoam, styrofoam, styrofoam. But for a basic hotel, this place is great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timpitts57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,784)
There are newer reviews for Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,122 - 2,128 of 2,784 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

This hotel has an interesting business model. Give lots of stuff for free, but not at the best quality. Breakfast is free, but only ok. There are three free drinks in the evening (avoid the mixed drinks!) with "bar food" that was pretty cheap. BUT, free internet and free phone calls. The pool at the top of the main building is very nice. The rooms were fine. But the hotel was very full and the cleaning staff often had a hard time keeping up with the all the people at breakfast and eating the free bar food.

BUT, location right on the Riverwalk is great. Lots of good restaurants close by.

It would have been nice if they kept a bar open later in the evening for a closing drink.

All in all, a good family choice, but definitely not high class if that is what you are looking for. Colleagues of mine got better service for lower prices also on the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdowling58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My Mother-in-Law, and my Brother-in-Law's family of 3, and my husband and I stayed there around Thanksgiving in 3 rooms. The rooms were spacious, clean, and very elegant. The free wifi worked well. Lots of electrical outlets in the lamps, VERY convenient for gadget recharging!
The rooftop pool was kind of small, but clean and well-maintained, plus they had 2 large hot-tub/spas. All 3 were absolutely full of children while we were there. The view from the rooftop was fantastic! Great place to grab a sunset photo, or read a book.
The public areas were nothing less than spectacular! The historic features of the hotel were very well-preserved.
The free drinks and snacks had its ups and downs. The lines were long, and if you wanted a martini, you could not even pay to get a decent one. Very unskilled bar staff, you get a cup FULL of ice, with a squirt of house brand of whatever. Beer was your only safe choice. The food bar was also hit and miss, some things were ok, some things not so good. In general not as good as a cruise buffet. I would not base my stay on it. We ate at a different local restaurant each night, and enjoyed them all.
It is ON the Riverwalk, but its not in the middle of all the action, you will have to walk 1/2 mile or so to all the restaurants/shops, or take a water taxi tour. Riverwalk is a LOT of walking, so wear comfy shoes!
Overall, I would probably stay there again, but I'd bring my own Goose, lol.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sh3rryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel have a excellent breakfast, after 5pm happy hour with kids snacks such as hot dogs, juice, sodas, etc. The room are not too big, but they make the best of your stay with the friendly staff. It's a little too pricey, but it was worth it, the a/c conduct needs to be clean, I was able to see the dust.

Room Tip: Request a riverwalk view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YmlMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I choose Drury whenever possible. Right in the middle of SA's downtown and overlooking the river, The Drury Plaza in San Antonio has the added ambiance of of a 1920s bank building-back when the banks were trying to impress with the over-the-top moldings, columns, marble and brass. Daughter and I were celebrating a 50th and a 72nd birthday. The hotel reception kindly upgraded us to a suite which we loved! Even without the suite upgrade the rooms are outfitted with coffee maker, microwave, fridge and, I hope, the same plush beds with four pillows!. The breakfast is as good as the $8-10 breakfast on the Riverwalk.. If you are in San Antonio with children, the room price includes a 5:30 PM reception with enough varied food to save you a $100 dinner tab. There were many families staying at the hotel. Kudoes to the Drury Plaza. The only negative while staying there was the not-too-clean carpets in the room and the very dirty stair carpets leading to Drury's Riverwalk access.

Room Tip: If celebrating a special occasion-birthday, anniversary-tell the desk and ask for an upgrade. Nothin...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OccidentalTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed here April, 13, 2011 to attend NIOSA . We booked it through Expedia and it was a good deal (about $100) considering that Fiesta was running. The room was clean, more elegant than average priced hotels in San Antonio, and suited our requirements perfectly. The heavy drapes on the windows and quiet surroundings worked well for the occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blakester49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stopped at the Drury Inn in Austin on our way to the Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk in San Antonio. Everyone on the staff and I mean everyone was pleasant and intent on us having a good experience at their hotel. That went from the Security Guard as we pulled in to park, to the check in, food service, and houskeeping. The facilities are great and close to everything. The room was spacious and comfortable. Very good food service for both breakfast and the afternoon "Kick Back". Drury is at the top of our preferred list from now on.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LandJ_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,093 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,215 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,102 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $173 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing