We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #8 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I have stayed at many of the Riverwalk hotels over the years so I can say this hotel ranks about in the middle. I understand why it gets rave reviews because the freebies (breakfast and happy hour) are great for the budget minded. The food is standard budget hotel fare as well, nothing special about breakfast or happy hour meals. I did have breakfast each morning and it was very adequate...I thought the scrambled eggs were very good. There is no variety from day to day so it did get old quite quickly. Maybe they change from time to time but never saw any bacon or ham or different fruits, etc during my 4 day stay.

Happy hour was a nice get together but again, only one choice of beer and low end liquors and wine...just the facts here, I understand it is complimentary and wasn't expecting anything else.

The main draw of this hotel is the fact you can save some cash if you take advantage of the complimentary food. This is great for families and people on a tight budget for sure.

The room was quite big and I thought housekeeping did a great job each day. The flat screen TV had a bucket load of popular TV channels. My room had a ceiling fan as well and the bathroom was huge.

The Drury is what it proclaims to be, one of the best mid-level hotels with minimal service. It is not a luxury hotel and there are few services beyond the necessary. Its best feature is the well trained staff, the location, and the beautiful decor which remains from the old Alamo National Bank.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gehrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,189 - 2,195 of 2,831 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

The staff were very helpful, the free breakfast was great. Overall, we had a great experience during our 3 night stay in July. We had a corner suite on the 21st floor, near the rooftop pool, exercise room and observation deck, with easy access to the best area of the Riverwalk. A truly relaxing and enjoyable experience! The only slightly negative part of our stay was the food during the free afternoon "kickback" - hot dogs with stale buns and buffalo chicken nuggets that wern't too appetizing, but hey, it's free. Also, there were a few stains on the carpet in our room - on the other hand, we noticed the carpet cleaning crew on duty several times during our stay so I guess it was just a matter of time before they get to each room. We love San Antonio, and the Drury will be at the top of our list for hotel choices in the future!

Room Tip: We booked the room far in advance because it tends to sell out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duane_Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Every one should stay at least once at the Drury River Walk Hotel in San Antonio Texas. What a great hotel. The staff is wonderful and the room we had was fantastic. It is a historic place. Try it. You will like it.

Room Tip: Get highest floor on the Mission side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the2simpsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My friend and I decided to take a last minute trip to San Antonio. After looking at the high reviews this hotel received, we went with it. We really enjoyed it. Sure, it is not the Ritz! It's an old bank! We stayed in the new tower...and yes, you have to take 2 elevators to get there-no big deal! We never had to wait for the elevators except when we were going to check out...since lots of others were, too. The room was beautiful! Everything looked clean and new. The breakfast was fresh and hot. The kickback was simple and a money saver. People are pigs though! Popcorn was everywhere! There are two pools. One indoor and one outdoor on the roof. Not fun to swim outside though when the pool feels like bath water in this extreme heat- ICK! But, that's not their fault! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. They helped us rent a car so we could drive to Austin and called us a cab to get to the airport. Be aware...this is the Drury Plaza. There is also a Drury Inn and Suites. I've read they are both nice...but, this one has great access to the Riverwalk! It is also a really tall building in the city...we would just look up to help guide us back when we got turned around! :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiTownGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We chose this hotel mainly because of some special pricing for what looked like a decent room, with hot breakfast, free drinks and even a light dinner buffet. Our main consideration, though, was location - right on the Riverwalk, which we were visiting at Christmas. What a wonderful surprise - our room was large, with a separate living area and refrigerator & sink area. We had a beautiful view of the city, and the Riverwalk was right at the door. The food was plentiful and very good, and where else can you get free beer and wine at cocktail hour? We will definitely stay here whenever we go to San Antonio in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Beautiful hotel and had an oversized suite on the corner with great views. Never disappointed with a Drury. The dog, as always, was welcome. Even got a police escort for his 4am trip to the fire plug. I do recommend to ask security for an escort if you have to take your pet out late night/early morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfwtx55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had a wonderful experience. The staff was professional, courteous and obviously enjoyed their jobs. We stayed on the second floor, so we did not have to deal with the elevators ..which are a tad bit slow. This is an old building, beautiful and filled with historical details. We actually enjoyed using the stairs, nice and wide, with original brass details and handrails..seeped with history. Rooms have high ( very high!) ceilings, are built around the original components of the building. This makes a charming and unusual room ..
The food ..oh my goodness, we were surprised by the generous amounts and diverse selections. In addition to tasty food, all food was beautifully presented and served by staff!

We had an outstanding visit. ...which prompted us to submit our first ever trip advisor comments.

Thank you ! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,157 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,234 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,294 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $157 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing