We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Good customer Service. The best choice for RiverWalk!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #8 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I. LOCATION: Very good location. Not centrally located but right on the quiet end of the river and within walking distance to everywhere. It is about 2-3 blocks from all the restaurants, 4 blocks from the Rivercenter mall. It is around the corner of Drury Inn and Suites but this one is bigger and newer.

II. ROOM: Rooms are large. We stayed in the 2 room terrace King suite and had a separate living area with small bar area (with sink), microwave and fridge. From the balcony, we can see "the river runs through it". The room is very clean and the bathroom is large. Free wifi and local called included which is an excellent feature.

III. FOODS: The hot breakfast buffet was excellent. There are a variety of choices including sausage, scambled eggs, pancakes....From that same dining area, you can get your soft drinks, snacks throughout the day. The evening reception also including some hot items.

IV. SERVICE: You can't ask for more accomodating staffs. I emailed them in advance regarding my son's allergy and was upgraded to the newer section of the hotel. They always tried their best to accomodate your every need.

V. OVERALL: Excellent hotel. Never thought I would selected a Drury Inn for my stay. However, having stayed at some other 4 stars hotel such as Hilton, Mariott and Westin there, Drury Inn is not only my choice to come back, it definitely beats out the Hilton and Mariott (I still love Westin:-).

Room Tip: Get Terrace room. Newer Tower with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tnghi121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,189 - 2,195 of 2,824 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

Everything was great from check in to check out. We stayed in an oversized suite. Got a great deal by using a code on the San Antonio travel site. Short walk on the riverwalk to all the busy areas but far enough that we were not bothered by the noise. We loved it. Kids loved the pools and the soda/popcorn made available on the 2nd floor. Room service was great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angsal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a great value hotel. Free breakfast and evening kickback. Central location. Rooftop pool, lovely during the day, but packed with kids at night. Gym has 4 treadmills, rower, dumb bells, leg machine and is very clean with cold water and towels. Coming from the UK San Antonio is "nice" and twee, but lets face it apart from the Riverwalk there aint much to do. If you don't have a car you're stuffed. You willnbe bored after about 3 hours. I'm here on business. The hotel is fine if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidgirlinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I won't go into detail as the hotel is like everyone else has described...Nice rooms, good breakfast, etc. A few points that really stood out for us though were that the elevators in the original building are EXTREMELY slow in peak times. I checked out on Sunday morning along with everyone else it seems and had to wait on an elevator 15-20 minutes. It's much faster to take the stairs if you dont have alot of luggage. The valet parking makes up for the elevators though. Very efficient, friendly and helpful. Never waited more than 5 minutes even during peak checkout time. For us the evening reception meal is not worth the hassle. Very crowded and food not too good. Breakfast is great though. We went at several different times and never had to wait on a table. We used a S.A.V.E. rate that included valet parking, late checkout, boat tickets and riverside room which was supposed to have a terrace but ours didnt. No big deal since the view wasnt great but we weren't there for the view anyway. We were in the new section of hotel which required us to use 2 different elevators and walk a maze to get to our room. Otyher than that, very nice, quiet and the A/C worked GREAT! No complaints really but due to the crowds at this hotel would probably stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: If you dont want to travel half a day to get to the lobby, stay in the old section of the hotel. Its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The Drury Plaza Hotel RiverWalk in San Antonio is in the preserved and remodeled former Alamo National Bank Building and a multi-story addition built a few years ago. The main building features a 50 foot high lobby, well-preserved from its past glory. The hotel front desk is located in the former cashier cages of the bank. Ornate architecture is everywhere you look. There's even a 1924(?) auto in the corner of the lobby!
The mezzanine level overlooks the lobby and is used as a breakfast area (Drury Inn includes free breakfast) and 5:30 Kickback (with a varied menu of snacks and beverages...also included).
Our room (2 room terrace suite) was in the new building, accessed by a multi-turn path from the main building. The room was very comfortable with separate bedroom and living room, two 27" TVs, sofa, desk/chair, free internet access (which was somewhat balky but free), PLENTY of storage, and a bath with granite counters and safe grab-bars in the bath tub.
We had a little kitchenette area with microwave, fridge and sink.
The private terrace had two chairs and a small table and overlooked the San Antonio River ten stories below. The new addition we were in was built above an existing hotel parking garage ... they added several stories of hotel rooms, most/many with balconies.
If you're an architecture buff, exploring this hotel is a delight. From the ground floor corridor lined with photos of the former Alamo National Bank in its glory and the actual old bank vaults ... to the top stories now used as terraces and pool areas, where you stand behind the 1920's stone decorations at the top of the building. Amazing. Even if you're not staying there, walk into the lobby and look around ... you'll be transported back in time.
Hotel service was excellent ,,, every staffer was friendly and hard-working.
The room was spotless, and stayed that way during our visit.
There are a couple of pools (indoor and outdoor) and a fitness area.
This was our first stay at a Drury Inn, so the following comments may not be a surprise to readers:
There is valet parking (for a fee), but no bellman assistance with bags. There are plenty of luggage carts available for your own use. The free breakfast is fine: scrambled eggs, sausage patties, bread/bagels/muffins, fruit, biscuits with gravy, coffee/tea/juices, and more. The 5:30 Kickback has a rotating menu of goodies, including hot dogs,chicken tenders, tacos, celery/carrots, baked potatoes with toppings, etc. 5:30 Kickback also includes up to 3 adult beverages per person (small glasses, but hey, it's free!)
The main guest demographic appeared to be young families with kids ... logical due to the included amenities.
All in all, we were pleased with this hotel, but would probably choose a more adult-oriented hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I had the opportunity to spend a long weekend at the Drury Hotel. From the moment we arrived, everything was picture perfect. We were allowed to check in early and the front desk was pleasant and helpful, offering directions and assistance when needed. Staff were friendly and service was excellent. Our hotel room was on a peaceful and quiet floor offering the solitutde needed but when one when to the second level for breakfast or the kickback happy hour, one was reminded that they indeed were staying at a very popular hotel. The variety of food and beverage options was sufficient and indeed, the lines did get very long. My advice: go early to get a good seat with less wait time in line. The close proximity to the Riverwalk was an added bonus. We purchased the "ROSE" package which included tickets to the San Antonio Rose Live Show just across the street from the theater. It was a show not to miss! For a decent hotel with added amenities: rooftop pool, happy hour, breakfast, etc. I would recommend the Drury Hotel. The price was right and the stay was very good!

Room Tip: Book the San Antonio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruisingDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

From hearing all the great reviews on Trip Advisor, I didn't think it stood up. First, the front desk wasn't very cheerful as I have heard. Politeness of the front desk is big deal for me through. We brought our pet with us, and they weren't as dog friendly as I thought as well. The two pools looked really nice in the pictures, but were just okay. The outside pool was a lot better then the indoor one. There was a complaint about our dog, so we left a day earlier then expected. The front desk did inform us that the Westin Downtown Hotel was more dog friendly.

The Hotel has great access to the River Walk, and the extras were nice. The lady that served our drinks was very nice. Plus, the our room was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry_Blaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,276 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $161 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing