We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Find”

La Hacienda de los Barrios
Ranked #139 of 4,645 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Far North Central
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We like authentic Mexican cuisine, and La Hacienda did not disappoint in that regard. You can also get TexMex dishes if that is what you prefer. I had the marinated shrimp enchiladas with poblano sauce, which was absolutely delicious. We were there as a family group which included two young children; this is definitely a family restaurant. The service was excellent. Our waitress was cheerful and attentive. The atmosphere of the restaurant I would describe as elegant, yet still down to earth. One of our party had the blackened fish tacos, and said they were the best he's ever had. The sopapillas were also quite good. If you want an all around good restaurant, and like TexMex or Mexican cuisine, this restaurant is worth visiting. Prices are very reasonable. I highly recommend this restaurant and am looking forward to a return visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    74
    43
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Decor and Ambiance”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

But food and margaritas are pretty average. I stick to beer and wine for adult beverage. Nachos or quesadillas for meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Solid tex mex / mexican”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has one of the best atmospheres with both indoor and outdoor seating. Seeing as though it was December, we ate inside. I had the 5 enchilada plate and it was great. Next time I go back I will be eating the molle enchiladas. If you do not know which set of enchiladas to choose, go with the five pack sampler. You can eat it all (like me), or get two meals out of it easy.

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Hacienda was very good and reasonable. A little out of the way if you are not from San Antonio but worth the search. Very good Tex Mex

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jthomas1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Every bit as good as Los Barrios”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is one of the family restaurants and is a bit more pricy than the other one on Blanco rd but just as good and larger. It has a nice outdoor seating area and we have had high school group dinners there. Great place to meet friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texascouple9290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hacienda de los Barrios also viewed

 

Been to La Hacienda de los Barrios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing