We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Garden Inn
Ranked #73 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is well situated for business activities on the north east side of San Antonio. Access to interstate very easy and lots of dining choices. If you want to shop, there are several big shopping areas close by. The room we stayed in needed a little cosmetic maintenance but every thing worked well, the shower was a trip, enough water pressure and water to take at least one layer of skin off. I was very surprised to find that they did not supply the usual shampoo and lotion in the room, you have to ask for it. Despite being right on the interstate, our room was very quiet even though it was located very close to the highway. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the usual fare found in most hotels these days. The hotel is a good value for the price paid and yes I would return should we need to stay in the area again. I've become very suspicious of hotels lately, most we've stayed at lately were disappointing and so we've switched to Best Western and have been a lot happier while traveling.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGardenInnSA, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

I want to Thank You for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel. I am glad your stay with us was good and that you found our hotel very clean and a good value. Service and Cleanliness are very important to our hotel and staff. The hotel does provide extra amenities at the front desk however Best Western Plus and Best Western Premier do offer extra amenities in their hotel rooms. We are working to improve maintenance and hope the next time you come that it will be impeccable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 319 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Friendly staff on arrival and departure. Clean room and clean lobby. Internet and fitness room available. Great location and near many restaurants. Great place to stay for price paid. Decent size pool and clean. Breakfast was good no complaints. I would recommend this hotel to friends, family and others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Desiree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGardenInnSA, General Manager at Best Western Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

We appreciate the kind words to describe our hotel. I am glad to read your stay with us was comfortable and a good value. We try to ensure that we provide a clean and comfortable stay for every guest at a great value. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel was better then expected! It was clean and the staff was very friendly/helpful! The 1st room we received the lock on the door was broken so they had to move us to another room. They were very nice and helpful in accommodating to us! We would return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Miche85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGardenInnSA, General Manager at Best Western Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank You for sharing your experience. I am glad you found our hotel to be clean, friendly and accommodating. We try to ensure that our guests are provided with great service. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wow, this is one of the most challenging reviews that I have written. The hotel was rated so well by Trip Advisor Reviews that I was swayed away from the hotel I originally selected for my stay in the Universal City area. When I return in 2 days I will not stay at this hotel...ever again. When we drove up I was not pleased with the exterior doors and lack of an elevator. Not a deal breaker at this point. The exterior actually looks very well maintained but one step into the lobby and the stench was overwhelming. I still did not back out...figuiring my room would be non-smoking and certainly be sprayed to a welcoming freshness. Upon entering my assigned room I was not greeted with a cool fresh room, but rather a hot and musty smelling room. I unloaded my wife and belongings into the room. This is were it went completely down hill. My wife decided to brew a pot of hot water...the coffee maker is plugged into a built in nook shelve...which was at her shoulder level. She took out the pot to fill with water...but it was already full of coffee and you guessed it...it ended up all over her blouse and pants. Remains to be seen if the coffee stains come out with laundering. Due to a busy evening I did not climb in bed until after 11pm. My wife did not crawl in until 12:30am. Before she crawled into the sheets, she pulled back all the blankets due to the lack of effeciency the A/C offered in cooling off the room. She went into a panic. The bottom sheet on her side of the been was filthy...dirty, dragged in dirt...dirty. I was awoken by her fretting. As she was trying to figure out a solution rather putting clothes on to obtain a clean sheet from the front office. She slept ontop of the bedding. When the maid came to service the room in the morning my wife showed her the sheets. The maid told my wife it looked as if the sheets had fallen, dragged and by the black skidded had even been ran over by the cleaning cart. The maid assured my wife it was not her that had serviced the room. The room never did cool down. The bed offered average comfort. The sofa was one of worst of sitting comfort. The roomt that the tub/shower and toilet occupies is so small that the toilet was actually not put in straight, to allow the bathoom door to close. The showerhead was upgraded and mounted high; offering a decent and relaxing shower. Very basic room. Although under $100 with tax per night for the room, not a good enough value. Two nights of noise and uncomfortable room tempature. I will be staying in Schertz on my return trip to the area.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room and the pounding of the feet overbeared the noisy A/C. At 3am we turned on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGardenInnSA, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

I am disappointed to read that we fell short of your expectations as this is not normal for our hotel. I see that you feel the rooms were not clean and I am surprised that the housekeeper did not address the issue. I will personally look into this issue. If there are any issues please do not hesitate to call the front desk even at midnight. I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please come again and we will exceed them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After a string of crummy motels this was a welcome change. It is close to everything and the staff was very helpful. The room was clean and everything worked. The only drawback was not being able to park in front of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank solotraveler172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGardenInnSA, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

I want to Thank You for staying with us recently and sharing your experience. I am glad your stay with us was great and that you found our hotel very clean and comfortable. Service and Cleanliness are very important to our hotel and staff. We always try to strive to ensure our guests receive the best product and service at all times. We do have some rooms with parking in front, please ask at check-in or call beforehand and we always try to accommodate guest requests. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed the weekend at the Best Western Garden Inn this past weekend. The service was great, and the room was good. Downtown was like 10 minutes down the road and there were restaurants nearby (within a minute or two from the hotel.) We did have a freak power outage in our room but the staff took care of it immediately. Overall I would say it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGardenInnSA, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

I am excited to read that you had a good stay with us. We try to ensure that our guests are provided with great service. I’m glad to hear the staff was able to take care of the outage efficiently. We are close to a variety of places including Natural Bridge Caverns (5miles), Splashtown (12miles) and the San Antonio Zoo (13 miles). We hope to see you soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked this hotel same day we checked in, so didn't get the best rate but we enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very helpful and nice. The room was clean. Breakfast was good. We enjoyed our overall stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Manojit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGardenInnSA, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We appreciate you sharing your experience. I am glad you found our hotel clean and enjoyable. I also see that our staff was helpful which is important to us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we will see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northeast San Antonio
Travelodge Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport
Northwest Side
Best Western Ingram Park Inn
Best Western Ingram Park Inn
#127 of 358 in San Antonio
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast San Antonio
Best Western Windsor Pointe Hotel & Suites-At&T Center
Best Western Alamo Suites
#93 of 358 in San Antonio
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Garden Inn

Address: 11939 N Interstate 35, San Antonio, TX 78233-5312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#91 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $72 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing