We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Garden Inn
Ranked #87 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The room was fairly clean. It looked newly painted, and the bathroom was spotless, but the carpet had ground-in dirt, and the upholstery of the furniture was in very bad shape. We were willing to overlook that since we figured they were in the process of process of remodeling. The room was hot when we checked in, but we did not have reservations, so we overlooked that too. However, it never really cooled off, and we both woke up several times during the night.

The big problem came when we went to check out. They refused to take our AAA card, saying they did not honor AAA unless it was booked on the Internet. Then she told us that we really should have made a reservation on the Internet. If that wasn't bad enough she also refused to look up our Best Western Rewards number, telling us we could just add that via the Internet when we got home. I had to call Best Western on my cell to get my rewards number (we are new members and had not yet received our member card), then I had to insist that she add our member number so we would get credit for the stay.

We are newly retired, and plan to take many road trips. We did not want to make reservations in advance, because we want the luxury of staying as long as we want to in a city, and we won't know in advance what city we might be in when we're ready to call a night. They had vacancy's so you would have thought they'd be glad we chose to stay at their hotel. That was NOT how they made us feel. We were told several times that we should have made a reservation. I guess things have changed. We're not sure we want to stay with Best Western as our rewards hotel. There are too many other hotels that would be glad to fill a vacant room at the last minute.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieNTexas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Garden Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 304 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2009

Stayed here for one night. Had small swimming pool outside for guests. On the Interstate HW 35 so handy for getting away from the city.
The Breakfast was aerage, as with all basic hotels there is plastic cutlery but food ok.
Internet access through cable in room, wireless in lobby only.
Near Tower of Americas but nit walking distance from Riverwalk.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 841luisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 450annettea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperConstellation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
Thank AdriGaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jorge Florentin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
Northeast San Antonio
Comfort Suites North IH 35
Comfort Suites North IH 35
#195 of 358 in San Antonio
150 reviews
Northeast San Antonio
Best Western Windsor Pointe Hotel & Suites-At&T Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Alamo Suites
#84 of 358 in San Antonio
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Garden Inn

Address: 11939 N Interstate 35, San Antonio, TX 78233-5312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#91 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $73 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing