We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very "Family Friendly" Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #9 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very "Family Friendly" Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

My child and I spent two nights at this hotel with my husband while he attended a work conference. The set up of our room was fantastic. There was a bedroom for my husband and I with an attached living room area with a pullout couch for our child. There was a lockable door between the two areas for privacy. Each area had a tv in it. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed using the rooftop pool but it was very small and filled with young noisy children at all hours day and evening. The hot tub was lukewarm with barely any pressure from the jets. The gym is well equipped and we had a good time there but the water dispenser was empty. We enjoyed "Happy Hour" at the downstairs bar with $5 margaritas and $3 domestic light beers and $4 rib snacks. There is a nice spot to meet up with family and friends in the area by the Riverwalk entrance. The breakfast buffet was included in our business stay plan and it tasted very good but was just your average hotel type breakfast. The servers at the bar and at breakfast were friendly, courteous, and efficient. The hotel is in a great spot on the Riverwalk and my child and I felt very safe as we walked along the Riverwalk to various destinations.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mamalmltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLFerguson, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thank you so much for your positive review, we truly appreciate your kind words. Our goal is to cater to every type of guest and we are pleased that your "business traveling family" felt comfortable and safe at Hotel Contessa. We also appreciate your feedback on our breakfast buffet. We strive to be beyond ordinary and missed the mark. We will share your comments with our team and continue to improve.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,003
    626
    189
    101
    83
See reviews for
773
990
68
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Stayed here two nights for a concert. Booked a double bed, but when arrived they stated that it is no guarantee and that the expedia booking is just a request but not for sure. We were stuck with a one queen bed. However the living room couch does open up to another bed. Nice layout though. Comfy bed and pull out sofa bed.

Pool upstairs is nice and they do have movie night, the bar is decent, and overall clean facility. Right on the Riverwalk, and not far from the riverwalk areas at all. You can walk the whole river walk in probably 15-30 min. Location is good, Spa facility preseent as well

Pool is open 6am-11pm

Fitness center is 24/7

Spa is 9a9p daily

Internet is 9.99 per 24 hrs...

Had to request extra comforters

Bathroom was clean but could do better job to remove the mold/mildew from the siding

Parking is only valet or parking lots/garages that cost $10-20 a 24 hrs, or 30 overnight valet parking... If its the weekend after 6 or sunday, than the parking meters are free.

Did not try the resturant

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbtran321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
We always appreciate reading reviews from our guests regarding their experience while staying at the Hotel Contessa. While we appreciate your acknowledgement of the facilities and amenities that you enjoyed in our hotel, we also take serious note of the issues you had with the the cleanliness of the bathroom siding and rest assured that this incident has been addressed with the housekeeping department.

We take great pride in providing a standard of quality to our guests and I hope that you will consider us for future overnight accommodations.

Sincerely,


Wende Blumberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Wonderful hotel and personnel working there. Super comfortable room. We had a great view of Marriage Island and the river.

Super bar area with great happy hour offers but overpriced regular drinks.

Only had breakfast at the restaurant but it had a small buffet with omelet station which was reasonably priced.

The hotel seems a little overpriced with what you start to find.

Ridiculous valet parking rate, $30 a night, and long waits to get vehicle.

What is up with the short sheeting of the bottom bed sheet? My feet tangled in the bottom sheet both nights of stay. Seems it was tucked in at the head and left about a foot short of the bottom of the bed . My feet were on top of some sort of pad that I don't know if it was washed between visitors or not.

Then comes the 11 AM checkout time. Long waits for the bell hop, but was lucky to get Eddie who was top notch. Had called way early for the valet parking because of the days before normal wait times and still it took an hour for the car. Good luck on the elevator at checkout also.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txjackpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write all that you did and for providing a full view of your stay from beginning to end. You were kind to compliment Eddie. My apolgies for the bed sheets not being tucked in propery, this is not a norm and rest assured this has been addressed with the housekeeping manager. We are sorry about your dissatisfaction with the parking situation and are sorry that you had to wait so long for your vehicle. We strive to provide fast efficient service but failed you on the valet service. Without your feedback, we cannot continue to make improvements.

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed here at the end of June and the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were decorated so modern and the outdoor rooftop pool and hottub were perfect for sitting under the stars at night.

This is a fabulous hotel and well worth the money. For a better room rate and free wi-fi, join the "preferred real " club and you'll save a good deal on the price of the room.

Parking is $28.00 if you valet, park but at the corner less than a block away is a self parking garage and you'll only pay $12.00 a day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debdoll63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Thank you for recently staying with us at the Hotel Contessa. We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while here in San Antonio on business or pleasure.

We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room,and the right service to make every stay relaxing, invigorating, stimulating and filled with positive interactions

We look forward to having you as guest again in the future.

Sincerely,

Wende Blumberg-Genearal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

My husband and I cancelled reservations at The Hotel Valencia to stay at the Hotel Contessa... big mistake! The hotel is in the "quiet portion" of the Riverwalk. Simple translation, you have to walk a long way to get to anything you want to do. We arrived and were given a room between the ice machine and the bus stop on the street below. Needless to say, noise was a factor. The knotty pine bathroom doors were so knotty that they had holes through them, allowing an unobstructed view into the bathroom. However, being good sports, we ventured on.... We were up the next morning early thanks to the bus outside the window and took the long walk sightseeing. We arrived back late in the afternoon around 5:00 PM to get ready for our night out. The room had not been touched by housekeeping. I called the desk and got a very unapologetic response and was offered nothing. I then requested washclothes so we could shower, 45 min. later we got 2 towels (not washclothes). I waited another 45 min. for washclothes... The room was not cleaned our entire stay and the front desk was made aware of that fact. Upon checkout we AGAIN told the front desk of our experience. We were told she would "pass that along to management" and that they had our email address and would respond. Nothing, and it has 2 weeks. When we arrived home, I emailed Hotel Contessa... nothing. We will not be back, nor will our friends and family. They honestly did not care about their guests...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rationalbalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
My sincere apologies for your displeasure with the less than satisfactory service your experienced. Everyone in the hospitality industry desires to provide their guests with a quality product and outstanding service, and reading through your comments I can see why you would be less than thrilled with your stay. There is no excuse for the lack of service you received from the housekeeping department. Rest assured that these have been shared with our management staff. I know this does not change your experience but know that without your comments we cannot continue to make improvements.

Once again, I apologize that we did not provide a better experience, we will always strive to do better, and I thank you for the constructive thoughts you have shared on your review.

Sincererly,
Wende Blumberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

I have been to San Antonio many times and have tried all the usual top hotels. The Hotel Contessa outshines them all. There is no need to look anywhere else. The location is perfect if you want to be just a few steps away from the madding crowd on the River Walk. The rooms are beautiful suites with lovely decor and terrific bathrooms (LOVE the Aveda products). The hotel bar (Cork Bar) and restaurant (Las Ramblas) are wonderful. The rooftop pool is perfect. You will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSM93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

We visit San Antonio 2 or 3 times per year and try to stay at a different hotel each time because there are so many of them to choose from! On a whim, we decided to take off for the 4th of July weekend for a quick getaway. I put a bid on Priceline and this hotel came up. I had never stayed there before so that was a treat. It is a small-ish, all suite hotel in a low-key building. We had to circle the block once to find the entrance since our GPS put us at the loading dock. :-) Our room was on a corner and I have a feeling it was one of the smaller ones (being a last minute thing) but it was still excellent. I loved the brick walls in the "living room" and huge, deep sofa that pulled out into a bed. There is a flat screen TV in both the living room and the bedroom, with a desk and chair in both places, along with a separate chair with a reading lamp. The bathroom is in the hall between the living room and bedroom and was adequately roomy, but not huge. There was a bar/refrigerator area outside in the hall. I agree with another poster that it would have been nice to have water in the bar area to fill the coffee pot while someone else is taking a shower, but that's a minor complaint. If you take the elevator to river level, you can step right out onto the Riverwalk, even though the hotel is in a quieter area, it's easy to get to all the restaurants and shops just around the corner. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again if I can get the super rate I was able to get from Priceline! :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
We appreciate your compliments about all our staff and your comments have been shared with our entire staff. I am very impressed with the level of detail you have provided in your review. WE appreciate your suggestions and comments about the suite. Thank you for taking the time to write all that you did and for providing a full view of your stay from beginning to end.

We look forward to having you as guest again in the future.

Sincerely,

Wende Blumberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing