We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame.”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #8 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
Plano, TX
13
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We just returned from one night at the Contessa. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are nice, but the service just isn't there. This hotel could charge much higher rates if it was well managed.

We called to confirm our reseration the night before we were to check in and were told that we didn't have a reservation. I told them that we had booked our rooms on their website, they advised me that the confirmation code I had given then was not from their site, but a discount travel site and they had no reservation for us. After speaking to another employee, they decided that we had made our reservations on their site and that they had our last name as a first name.......a twenty minute phone call and not a good start to the trip.

We traveled with our 18 month old son and needed a crib. They brought a pack and play with no sheets, no blanket, just the pack and play. We removed the sheet from the sleeper sofa and wrapped it over the "mattress" for him.

My parents had a corner room which gave us a lot more room for the baby to play and the bedroom was much larger than our room as well.

The bathrooms are very nice and good sized.

The hotel is non smoking, but our first room had obviously been smoked in and we asked to be moved. When we initially checked in we couldn't get two rooms on the same floor, but after returning to the lobby to request a non smoked in room, we could be on the same floor, a mere 5 minutes later?

The second room seemed great until we were ready for bed......we climbed into a very nice and comfortable bed only to be greated by a rather nasty smell....someone had been sick in the bed, or in the room, it made for a long night of tossing and turning....however, they did make an adjustment to our bill after explaining the situation.

Others have commented about the Valet parking situation, we understand that you pay a lot of money for this service in a nice hotel. However, we called down for our car, checked out and saw a HUGE line in the lobby. There was a lot of confusion and several hotel employees wandering around confused. The hotel is on a corner and there really isn't a good system for loading up as many people as they had staying there. What we found so suprisning is that this wasn't opening weekend. You would expect long lines from a hotel that just opened, but they still don't have the system down yet.


We had a wonderful time in San Antonio but were very sad about how bad service can ruin a BEAUTIFUL hotel.

Try your luck, if you don't want to actually speak to anyone.......stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,215)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Contessa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,153 - 3,159 of 3,215 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sjb95u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KMB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
dallas, texas
15
Reviewed April 17, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2006

We usually stay at the Westin, but decided to try the Contessa based on the reviews. When we arrived at 5:00 p.m. to check in we were informed that our rooms were not ready even though check-in was at 3:00 p.m.
They told us they would call us when the rooms were ready. We decided to hang out and eat at the Riverwalk while waiting. We never received our call and when we finished eating decidded to go back and check with Hotel. Front Desk informwd us that they did not have the exact rooms we reserved but offered us an alternative which we gladly accepted as it was already 8:00 p.m. We were not the exception to the rule as there were several parties trying to check in and being told that their rooms were not ready.
Room was nice. The design of the Hotel can make it quite noisy as the rooms all face inwards to atrium which has the bar at the bottom. This makes for lots of noise if rowdy or loud Bar Patrons are present.
Service was good.
Valet Parking is outrageous at the amount they charge each day. Ridiculous. Luckily there is a car park right accross the street from the hotel at more than half the price. So, we were able to park there every day.
The overall stay was pleasent, but not great. Westin is by far the best HOtel on the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank luckyheart61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ColoradoTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Statesboro, Georgia
16
Reviewed March 28, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,093 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,101 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,521 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $200 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing