We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually on the Riverwalk”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #10 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Actually on the Riverwalk”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I feel the need to start with this. The Hotel Contessa is actually on the Riverwalk. Alot of the hotels in downtown San Antonio have Riverwalk in thier name but are several blocks away from the Riverwalk. (whew...got that off my chest) I really enjoyed our stay at the Contessa. Staff was great and we felt well tended to. We happened to be there the night the Spurs won the championship so it was alittle loud in the streets, but not so loud as to bother us. This is a pretty quiet part of the river but an easy walk to the more action packed areas. We had a riverview king suite that had a sitting room we really liked. 2 TVs, large bathroom and a good shower that made our stay very comfortable. The room was clean, comfortable and had a nice view. There is valet parking on site for $30 a night or a lot and ramp across the street for $16 per night. Should you stay here? I know I will next time I'm in San Antonio

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,112
    645
    192
    105
    86
See reviews for
816
1,039
68
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (877)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel exceeded my four star expectation. Great room, great location, great restaurant, great pool and staff took care of our every need. Eddie doorman was very helpful giving directions, suggesting restaurants and helped me rent a bike for the week.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fantastic. All suites. Great location. Wonderful staff. Meeting space comfortable. The bar and restaurant were excellent. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. Would be a great hotel for a family vacation. Great location on the river walk

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I attended a conference at the Hotel. The concierge was excellent and told us about alternative parking across the street, saving us $14 a day. We arrived around noon and had to wait two hours to check in although the hotel seemed relatively empty. Room was excellent except the television and ice machine were broken. Engineering came to fix both but that evening, they both were not working. Most disappointing was the food. Fish was over cooked and not fresh. Salads lacked seasoning and baked potato was really bad. Braised ribs were tender and delicious.
This is our third time at the Contessa. The fire alarm went off everyday (3 times). I have to assume there were extenuating circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I wanted to send out a note on the stellar service we received from Ismael Gaona during our retreat. I was at your hotel for an AARP retreat and I for every need I looked to Ismael and he provided an exceptional level of service.

He was great with our staff and our attendees and I appreciate his attention to detail and his forward thinking when it came to assisting us with our needs during the week of 6/16-6/21.

Thanks Ismael. Your service did not go unnoticed.

Best,
Benne' Gallion

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nice clean beautiful hotel, I had a little problem with the room keys, but nothing that they couldn't fix & the issue I had with the hotel . Kate was nice enough to help me with what was going on I wouldn't recommend any other person from this hotel . She is the one ! She took very good care of me

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Thank you Contessa staff for your courteous, helpful, and inviting environment you create for your guest!

I was extremely impressed while at The Hotel Contessa! The staff was extremely kind, polite, knowledgeable; they even remembered me by my first name . . . IMPRESSIVE to say the least.

With access to the Riverwalk, this made it a convenient place to browse the stores, access restaurants, and other locales inviting to the traveler in San Antonio.

Once again, thank you for exceptional service and welcoming staff!

Jon A. - Corporate Risk Manager

Room Tip: Don't compromise price for comfort!
See more room tips
Green Features: Employees are eager to assit your every need within their ability to please.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,661 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,008 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,456 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
2,800 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing