We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Location, and Pool”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #5 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Contessa Hotel staff were terrific. They were helpful, courteous, and extremely friendly. This was the most enjoyable hotel experience my family and I have had on a vacation surpassing vacation hotel experiences in San Diego, Williamsburg, Washington DC, Orlando, and New York City. The rooftop pool is a great touch; great view of the city and relaxing piano music playing on speakers. It was a great place to relax in the late afternoon after a day of sightseeing and recharge for an evening on the Riverwalk or a Fiesta location. The concierge staff did a great job assisting us with recommendations and navigating all the sights that are in walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,758 - 1,764 of 3,295 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Contessa is a very nice hotel in a great location. The rooms have a very nice sitting room with beautiful upgraded bathrooms. The pool on the top floor is very small...can't do laps. The bar area is very nice on the
Riverwalk. I do think at over $300 a night that it is s little overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel rooms are large and well appointed. They feel a little worn, but I think the hotel is undergoing some renovations of the rooms. The staff was kind and helpful. Especially the valet people. We were stuck in some horrible traffic and could not get to hotel in our car. My husband walked to hotel and a valet person walked back with him to our car and took care of it. This saved us a about 30 minutes of sitting a big traffic jam. It is the nicest hotel I've stayed on the river walk and the hotel restaurant was good as well. We sat at a quiet table outside by the river. Nicest views of the river.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank cjg2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Wonderful place, clean and rooms are very nice! I stay downtown for Fiesta and this was my first time at the Contessa and I plan to return. The roof top pool was awesome and there was a great view of the city. The food was great and the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: River view room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This property is in an excellent location. It is right on the water as all reviews mention.you can see the riverwalk as you descend on the elevator. Ten steps out the back door and you are on it. Calm and peaceful. Lovely to sit in the restaurant indoor or outdoors and gaze at the tranquil beauty.
If you wish more action: take a ten minute walk to the busy center of the river walk. A further five minutes gets you to the quieter far end. In fact - this location provides you with both a peaceful location plus easy access to the busier portions of the river walk. The location is a huge asset. The rooms are also exceptional with sizeable living area and separate bedroom. Although staying at a conference rate city view room we were still able to get a partial view of the river walk which was a most enjoyable bonus to watch the boats drift by under your window(1208). The restaurants, bars and room service were all well presented with good quality tasty food.
The property was well maintained and seemed to be renovated in the recent past.
This is a recommended property for good location, room quality and value.

Room Tip: High floor is good to request
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halifaxduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have been to San Antonio many times over the years. This was my first stay at the Hotel Contessa. It will not be my last. It was a most enjoyable experience. All of the hotel staff were extremely courteous and went out of their way to be helpful. The room was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the quiet side of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a beautiful all suites hotel right on a quiet part of the river walk and is highly recommended. This is the second nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in and easily the largest.
Have you ever seen a hotel room with a 12 x 8 foyer? How about a 8 x 14 bathroom, a 12 x 14 bedroom with it's own door and a 12 x 14 living room, two separate closets plus a small ante room area opposite the bathroom with mini-bar, safe and granite top coffee bar area? (all measurements are approximate). Also included are two flat screen televisions.
With most hotels I've stayed in, there are major deficiencies with repairs needed. In The Contessa, I had no real complaints. But there was a tiny chip in the porcelain of the bathtub, a small chunk off the bottom edge of the bedroom door and a scrape on the wall by the bed. These are mentioned only for completeness. These items would be overshadowed in the usual room by numerous more serious problems.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnieTheB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,157 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#25 of 357 in San Antonio
4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
3,234 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,571 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $171 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing