We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend getaway”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #5 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend getaway”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice location with very spacious rooms and lovely overlook to riverwalk. Great happy hour with Spanish Tapa munchies. Walking distance to all the main attractions in the area. We will return in the future to spend more couples getaway time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,137
    650
    192
    105
    87
See reviews for
827
1,050
68
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX, USA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Perfectly located on the famous River Walk within walking distance to The Alamo, Convention Center, shopping, lots of restaurants and, of course, access to the River Walk shops and boat trip. The staff was friendly and helpful.The bar has comfortable sofas, chairs and tables and prices are fair. The breakfast is a little pricey - buffet if you want all you can eat or a nice selection of individual menu items. You can eat outside but be aware of the birds!! We watched the birds descend on tables stealing food (one little girl had her bacon taken) and several people were constantly busy flapping napkins to keep the birds off their tables. (But this is common for most outdoor eating places along the river.) The decor of the hotel is really lovely "Uniquely San Antonio"!. Our room was spacious with a living room area, bar area, huge bathroom and nice sized bedroom. We were in room 305 and our main complaint was although it overlooked a little piece of the river it also overlooked a huge dumpster! And about 6:50 AM and lasting until about 10AM we were awakened (after a late night) by the roaring of a truck, grinding of gears, banging of dumpsters being slammed into the truck etc. So recommend you ask for a higher level floor away from the dumpsters. (Friends were on the 10th floor and could also hear it. - but nothing like we could.) But overall, it was a really good place to stay in San Antonio and we would definitely go back. .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinTXUSAJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Was unable to book a room at the conference host hotel. Hotel Contessa was a second option. Very glad that it was. Everything from the interior design, Architecture & amenities we're absolutely first class. I was particularly impressed with the housekeeping staff. Upon each encounter whether it be in the hallways or elevators they were very friendly cordial and kind. The valet staff was equally engaging professional in appearance helpful and friendly. My only disappointment was that the manager at check in would not grant the government discount on my room rate due to another city sponsored event happening at the same time as my conference. Although, I represented a governmental entity. I felt the manager placed profit ahead of first time impressions and reputation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank T Baridi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlin, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just returned from a perfect stay at the Hotel Contessa. The entire staff is extremly friendly and helpful. Even though there are hundreds of restaurants we had dinner two nights at the bar in the hotel. The tappas are fantastic and the staff was so friendly there was no reason to go anyplace else. They also have a great happy hour. Everyone from the gentlemen at the door, the people at the front desk, housekeeping and especially the restaurant staff go way out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. The location is great and you can walk along the river to find anything you need. The rooftop pool is beautiful and the fitness center is great. I would love to return to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathiem120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband & I had stayed at the Hotel Contessa previously and liked it, so when we had a chance to escape from our home in Austin (and our kids!) for a night in San Antonio, it was an easy choice to return here. Just as with our previous visit, the service and location are exactly what you want for a peaceful get-away on the River Walk.

This time, we got a room with a view to the River Walk (last time we'd been in a city view room). The view was nice, though perhaps not worth the extra money, primarily because the view was mostly to the parking garage across the river. We also had a bit more crowd noise coming up from the river - and also from the central atrium inside the hotel, but thankfully that died down at a decent hour. Being on this part of the River Walk means quiet - unlike other areas with bars & restaurants that stay open later.

Last time, I'd noticed a few minor issues with the bathrooms. Seems like maintenance has done a good job to keep things in good working order (though they could still go over the bathroom with a fine-tooth comb to look for minor issues with grout/etc. -- details that would easily earn the hotel an "excellent" review from me). The bed was comfortable and we really liked having a separate sitting area so I didn't wake my husband when I woke up earlier than him.

The front-desk staff were exceptional and friendly, once again. The lobby and other public spaces are nicely decorated, adding to the feeling that you're at a hotel for grown-ups, rather than noisy parties. Valet is quick & easy - and worth the price so you don't have to bother with the hassle of finding your own parking.

If you're not in town for just the River Walk, the location is also great for quick access to other areas of downtown, Market Square, etc.

This is an easy hotel to recommend to others. If you want quiet, good sleep, and a more relaxed atmosphere, you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: River view is pretty but can be louder - choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDSUGRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

When I arrived I was warmly greeted by Valerie at the front desk. She was very helpful with both check-in & out. The rooms were beyond expectation. We were able to see the fireworks show during Fiesta from the roof. Overall a great experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I had always wanted to visit San Antonio and the river walk. I selected the Contessa and booked through their web site for the BandB special. The hotel is beautiful and the room was large and very well appointed. Opening the curtains revealed the river walk. It is a lovely place in all aspects. We stayed in an end room nearest the Navarro street bridge and heard more bus and truck noise than I would have liked. I'm sure that rooms further from the bridge or on higher floors would not notice this.

Room Tip: Rooms on far right are somewhat noisy at least on fourth floor. Choose higher floors or lower numbe...
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't notice nor care and don't really know anything about them.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 355 in San Antonio
3,050 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
3,725 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,471 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 355 in San Antonio
2,836 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 355 in San Antonio
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing