We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit - even better than the first” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #9 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
277 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Return visit - even better than the first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband & I had stayed at the Hotel Contessa previously and liked it, so when we had a chance to escape from our home in Austin (and our kids!) for a night in San Antonio, it was an easy choice to return here. Just as with our previous visit, the service and location are exactly what you want for a peaceful get-away on the River Walk.

This time, we got a room with a view to the River Walk (last time we'd been in a city view room). The view was nice, though perhaps not worth the extra money, primarily because the view was mostly to the parking garage across the river. We also had a bit more crowd noise coming up from the river - and also from the central atrium inside the hotel, but thankfully that died down at a decent hour. Being on this part of the River Walk means quiet - unlike other areas with bars & restaurants that stay open later.

Last time, I'd noticed a few minor issues with the bathrooms. Seems like maintenance has done a good job to keep things in good working order (though they could still go over the bathroom with a fine-tooth comb to look for minor issues with grout/etc. -- details that would easily earn the hotel an "excellent" review from me). The bed was comfortable and we really liked having a separate sitting area so I didn't wake my husband when I woke up earlier than him.

The front-desk staff were exceptional and friendly, once again. The lobby and other public spaces are nicely decorated, adding to the feeling that you're at a hotel for grown-ups, rather than noisy parties. Valet is quick & easy - and worth the price so you don't have to bother with the hassle of finding your own parking.

If you're not in town for just the River Walk, the location is also great for quick access to other areas of downtown, Market Square, etc.

This is an easy hotel to recommend to others. If you want quiet, good sleep, and a more relaxed atmosphere, you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: River view is pretty but can be louder - choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDSUGRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,003
    626
    189
    101
    83
See reviews for
773
990
68
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

When I arrived I was warmly greeted by Valerie at the front desk. She was very helpful with both check-in & out. The rooms were beyond expectation. We were able to see the fireworks show during Fiesta from the roof. Overall a great experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I had always wanted to visit San Antonio and the river walk. I selected the Contessa and booked through their web site for the BandB special. The hotel is beautiful and the room was large and very well appointed. Opening the curtains revealed the river walk. It is a lovely place in all aspects. We stayed in an end room nearest the Navarro street bridge and heard more bus and truck noise than I would have liked. I'm sure that rooms further from the bridge or on higher floors would not notice this.

Room Tip: Rooms on far right are somewhat noisy at least on fourth floor. Choose higher floors or lower numbe...
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't notice nor care and don't really know anything about them.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were in San Antonio for a conference and decided to upgrade to a nicer hotel for the last night to celebrate my birthday. Online the Hotel Contessa looked on par with the Windsor Court, the Grand Hotel, various Ritz Carlton's where we have stayed previously. The hotel was beautiful and our room had a wonderful view; however, the service we received was not on par with the price of the hotel. One of the bellmen discouraged us from taking a cab to a restaurant which he said was only 4 blocks away, but it was really about 12 blocks and we were late for our reservation. We went to the bar for a drink before leaving and although there were only a few other people in the bar, we waited for 10 minutes before attempting to flag down a waitress, who waved at us and said she would come back. About 5 minutes later a rookie waitress arrived and took our order, andat least another 5 minutes passed before receiving our drinks. Rather than place them on the table in front of us, she handed each of us our drink. When going to the pool late that afternoon, the pool was full of noisy children and there was no attendant cleaning up the soiled towels so it was difficult to see if there were any free lounge chairs. There was no turn down service nor were there bathrobes for our use. Location was fantastic, however.

Room Tip: Definitely get a river view if it's in your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My family spent 4 days at the Hotel Contessa in San Antonio Texas on the River walk. It was beautiful and impeccably clean. From our room, you could see birds and trees and the river walk. We watched several small weddings on their wedding island, walked the river everyday and really enjoyed our time there. The Doorman and concierge's were especially nice and went out of their way to help us with everything. When we needed a wheel chair, they found one. When we wanted a smaller eatery, they walk us down the block to make sure we found it! Their service was some of the best in their industry.

We did not really like the onsite restaurant but there are so many great places to eat that it did not matter. 4.5 stars on this hotel!

Room Tip: Pay extra to have a river walk view, the 4th floor was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a small conference. Room was spacious. Really appreciated the Starbucks Verona dark roast coffee in room. Full sized hair dryer, which women appreciate. Very comfortable bedding. Staff were very accommodating. Located on the quieter end of the river walk so not so much congestion, which was really nice. Would definitely stay here again if in San Antonio for any reason.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank knordal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I attended a conference in Austin, after which we drove to San Antonio for a night's stay. Our room was spacious and very nicely decorated, with a great view of downtown. We knew the location would be perfect, and it was. What genuinely surprised us was the superb dinner we had at the hotel restaurant. We ate late (we're from the East Coast), but we were too tired to go anywhere else and decided to just go downstairs for dinner. That turned out to be the right decision. We will definitely stay at the Contessa the next time we visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear William D,

We appreciate you taking time to share a positive review of Hotel Contessa with the TripAdvisor community. We are certainly happy that you found that your room was spacious, very nicely decorated, with a great view of downtown and that our location was perfect. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed a superb dinner in our riverfront Las Ramblas restaurant! This time of year, the patio dining overlooking the river is something every Contessa guest should definitely not miss! We look forward to having you return again sometime in the not too distant future!
Les Utley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing