We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodations, location and staff”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #11 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Excellent accomodations, location and staff”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were very pleased with all aspects of this hotel. Stephen and Katie were very helpful and professional. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.................................................................

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,101
    645
    192
    104
    86
See reviews for
810
1,036
68
681
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wonderful suites with all the amenities. Comfortable beds and roomy bathrooms. The staff were the best I've experienced in a long time. Extremely helpful and accommodating... everyone from the valet, bellman (Eddie G.) and the check-in desk. Great location along the river, easy access and pretty views. Enjoyed the pretty lounge area for happy hour as well. I will stay there again when visiting San Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent stay. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel restaurant was top notch and the rooms were spacious and well appointed. Loved the rooftop pool, which is glassed in and offers panoramic views of the city. On a return trip to San Antonio we would definitely stay at the Hotel Contessa again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gajdbeudne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at the Hotel Contessa for my first visit to San Antonio. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else the next time I'm in town. The room was excellent and staff was amazing. Spacious rooms, great dining room and bar, beautiful rooftop pool, and right on the river walk. Plenty of sights and restaurants within walking distance. This is an excellent venue for business meetings. Best in class!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We travel with our pooch and usually have to stay at The Motel 6's and La Quinta Inns of the world,so when I find a nice or unique hotel that accepts pets,I jump at the chance.
We went during mid week right before Valentines Day to avoid the higher prices of the holiday.I started looking on line about 7 days before and best price was $229 per night for a City view room,48 hours before arrival I checked again and Texas residents got a deal for $179 a night.Sidenote-the old and really run down La Quinta Inn Market *off* The Riverwalk was $159 a night.
We arrived at 12:45 and ck in was at 3. I guess everyone else was trying to check in early too because I was 5th in line. There was a 20 minute wait to get checked in- but they did get me and the other guests in our rooms ASAP .
They put us on the third floor(311) which I read could be noisey from the street activity below but I didn't hear a thing and Im a light sleeper.The view was of a building next door and the A/C unit. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was very large and clean.The sitting area in the other room was OK, but the sofa sat really low to the floor. It was nice to have two TVs but having a suite didn't really impress me anymore than a nice, one room hotel.
We ordered room service and the food was delivered in a timely manner and was very good. We also ordered a movie for $14.99! Much to our dismay the picture was really bad.Someone came up to fix it but it really didn't get much better if at all.If you exit thru the bar to the Riverwalk, turn right and you will reach the Westin Hotel and their Italian restaurant,this is the quieter end of the RW,if you turn left, after a 2 minute walk you will reach several Mexican restaurants,Salt Grass Steakhouse and Boudros.We didn't go any farther because weve been on the RW many many times. The staff at Hotel Contessa were very friendly and helpful,especially our bell man,Eddie.
We had a nice stay and do not really have any complaints but in comparison,
about 4 months ago we stayed at The La Fonda Inn in Santa Fe-it cost the same per night and also had good reviews.I have to give the edge to La Fonda,they just had a few extra little touches that were better.The remote controls to the TV were sanitized and in a plastic bag,you could open the windows for fresh air,a newspaper was delivered to your door and they provided our dog with a swag bag of doggie treats and a chew toy.The beds were fluffier too.Even so,All in all Id definitely recommend Hotel Contessa.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakecat5084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a gem in the heart of San Antonio. I can say nothing negative about the hotel. The room was fantastic, staff equally so. They have done a great job with this property and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djphilosophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

There are plenty of hotels in San Antonio...lots of chains, some with history, and some interesting boutiques. None of them offer the design and esthetic, combined with the service and amenities, that the Hotel Contessa does. It's conveniently located on the river, near the convention center, walking distance to almost anything you'll want or need to do. The hotel itself is beautiful with incredibly comfortable beds, spacious suites for every room, and a great style. The service is fantastic, especially if you're dealing with Mrs. Andrade the floor manager. I've been traveling to San Antonio regularly for 15 years and once I found The Hotel Contessa I have not stayed anywhere else...I've been in rooms in all of the big hotels in recent years, but my home away from home in San Antonio is the Hotel Contessa.

Room Tip: Best rooms are in the teens on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,643 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
2,995 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,447 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
2,792 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing