We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Need to Stay Here!”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #5 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have absolutely nothing but positive things to say. I would rate Hotel Contessa six stars if tripadvisor would let me. The staff was great, the rooms were as good as any I have ever stayed in, and I passed out asleep as soon as I put my head on the pillow (very comfy bed). All aspects of my stay were awesome. I think this may be the first time I've ever left a review for any trip. I usually just don't bother with it. I just got back from my conference trip and am entering my thoughts right away. When I was checking in, the nice lady working at the desk told me that a large number of families would be in on Friday night for a high school girls' volleyball tournament and our entire floor was pretty much reserved for them. She said they would move me to another room if I had any worries, even if it was on Friday (my last night). How wonderful is that? I guess the volleyball kids and families were there. I saw a lot of them in the lobby on Friday night waiting for their rides to the tournaments. There was a lot of pep being shown by them and their families. I never noticed one little peep when I was in my room, however. The rooms are so comfy, nice, and quiet, it felt like I was totally isolated (in a good way).

This is a great hotel. There's nothing left to say. It was beyond a good deal. I went to San Antonio for a conference and I spent a lot of time looking at all the lists of hotels trying to find the best deal (not necessarily the absolute cheapest). I'll never waste my time before going to SA again. I know where I'll be staying. Thanks to Les and all the crew. Top-notch in every way!

Room Tip: The king room suite with the sleeper sofa in the living room was like staying in a two-bedroom apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,902 - 1,908 of 3,330 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here for one night for a conference and did not want to leave. The staff made me feel as though I were a VIP! It's a beautiful hotel on a very pretty and convenient location on the river. From check-in to check out, it was an amazing stay! The Woodhouse Day Spa on the 12th floor was icing on the cake and squeezed me in for a massage with short notice! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: My corner suite in the 11th floor offered river views from both windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Contessa. The service was super and the hotel was spotless. The patio area is very nice and clam, and they serve delicious drinks and appetizers. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I've stayed in different river walk hotels during my San Antonio visits and was eager to try this hotel for my 2 night stay. The competition along thr river walk is strong and I was hoping this hotel would stand out. Unfortunately it is not exceptional although it's certainly a good hotel.
PLUSES
+ well it is on the RIver Walk! It's also very convenient to walks either to the north or south, being centrally located
+ VERY friendly staff, from the valet to the check in to the bartender
+ nicely decorated room, and although it was small it was nicely divided into two rooms

MINUSES
+ expensive valet parking ($30), yikes!
+ very slow internet access in the room
+ (I know this is going to sound silly) no beer on tap at the bar???

Being a frequent traveler I'm also amazed at how many restaurants offer a very mediocre breakfast. I could get the same food at a Quality Inn!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is one of the ratings I can do easily. Nothing to complain about. Great location, at the River Walk, 10 minutes from the Airport, great rooms, great river walk view, great meeting rooms (I went there to participate in a couple of meetings). I did not eat, thus that is something I can not give an opinion about.

Room Tip: I do not know if they have different room types, but mine had a river walk view and that is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leomex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel and in a good location, everything is within walking distance. The suites are very spacious. I have only two complaints. First, the maids work was not good. She left dirty glasses out and just basic straightening of items in our room, she didn't do. We even left a $5.00 tip. Second, I highly, recommend a room high up!! We were on the 8th floor and even with a fan blowing we could hear trucks on the streets below. However, the desk clerk was very honest and recommended a upper floor room. The only thing I missed at this hotel was a balcony! other than that, I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rv8erdonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were unsure what to expect when we won this hotel through hotwire, but once we arrived we were smiles ear to ear. immediately on the riverwalk with the marriage tree right outside. Great suite set up where you walk into a small living room area with sofa bed and large screen tv, keep walking and you have a tiny"hallway" with the minibar on your left and the nice large bathroom on your right, then full door to king sized bedroom with another flat screen tv and a window overlooking the beautiful lights of the riverwalk in december. Top it off with an evening swim on their gorgeous heated rooftop pool under the stars. Can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ck y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,191 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,275 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,591 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 357 in San Antonio
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $198 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing