We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exemplary hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #10 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Juneau
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exemplary hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

From the moment we pulled in the entrance after a 6000 road trip, we were greeted with outstanding service, advice, and friendly attitude. Everyone was anxious to please at all points of our check-in. Directed to our room we were highly impressed with the room layout, extra sitting room with TV, and plush bathroom facilities. Our bed was thick and comfortable with a small view of the riverwalk...which was 20 feet from one of the hotels exits. Nice bar and restaurant with happy hour tapas at reasonable fare. Wish we would have booked a longer stay there. Will look them up again in the future. As should you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reno60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,001
    626
    189
    101
    83
See reviews for
772
990
68
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

My compliments to Blas and Verlissa(sp?) at the front desk. They found reasons things could be done instead of why they couldn't. Eddie, bellman, all the valet parkers and Ismael the doorman and the ladies on the fourth floor that cleaned the rooms were all very cordial. Everything seemed very clean. All the staff including Joe, one of the maintenance engineers we asking if we needed anything. It was just, all in all, a very pleasant stay. My daughters in two other rooms were all very impressed. Thanks for a nice holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was my first time to San Antonio. I went for work, but I still had some spare time. I got lucky. I picked a hotel close to the address of my conference. My room was beautiful. Staff was excellent - very kind, well informed, eager to help me . I was right on the river walk (river boat tour a must). I was within walking distance to shopping, bouble decker tour, reastaurants, museums, Alamo, etc. Cork Bar inside Hotel Contessa had wonderful food - staff their was also terrific. If I ever go back to San Antonio, there is no place else I would stay. Hotel Contessa was AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to the San Antonio area and I must say that the Hotel Contessa is a breath of fresh air. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are perfect at the restaurant was excellent. It is located right on the Riverwalk and next to everything that I wanted and needed to do. My family and I had a wonderful time. We have found our new home away from home in San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was my first trip to San Antonio and I definitely wanted to stay right on the river walk. I was not disappointed with my choice of Hotel Contessa. Just walk out of the lobby and you are on the river walk. Our room was excellent. There is nothing I would have changed. Spacious bathroom, fresh and clean, and the bed was sooo comfy. We enjoyed the large sitting area and bar near the lobby. Everything was beautifully decorated. Staff was vey nice. The bellman was friendly. The doorman very attentive. We look forward to staying here again on our next visit to San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IGgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Contessa for 4 days/nights and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff is friendly and helpful, and our Valet, Jaro, was very pleasant. The Hotel is right on the river and everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the river--3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Contessa for a long weekend get away. Location is perfect. Right on the riverwalk, within walking distance to downtown, shopping, restaurants, Alamo, etc. We went to Zinc to eat/drink several times, very good. We also had a drink at "Drink" which also nice. Went to the spa, which was also excellent. We only had drinks in the bar area and service could have been better but the beverages were good. Our room was clean. The front desk staff was helpful. Everytime we went to talk to the consearie(sp) she or he wasn't there. Although the bell staff was GREAT!!!! Friendly, kind, helpful...probably the best I've incountered in a long time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olive1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,375 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing