We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style, Charm, and Warm Welcome”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #8 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Contessa. It was a wonderful experience right on the river walk. The hotel suite was comfortable and clean. The hotel staff is excellent! We loved Blas and Fatima at the front desk, and Eddie is helped us with our bags and taxis. He is charming with his great sense of humor and his friendly disposition. The restaurant staff is also very kind. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoolforFlying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,218)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Contessa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,042 - 2,048 of 3,221 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel was wonderful. We stayed for three nights at the Contessa. This was our final hotel stay after touring southwest/east Texas for two weeks. I can’t think of anything that went wrong; except I had a problem in the bathroom with the toilet and maintenance was there in about 7-8 min fixing it. The hotel is strategically located right on the river walk where it is quiet and not near the hustling and bustling of the core tourist areas. And, it’s not far from attractions as well. The room was very large with a living room area (sofa) at a good price. We stayed at three other brand name hotels in other parts of Texas and the rooms were not even comparable to Contessa’s for the price.

We used valet parking and they were excellent, staff was friendly, we dined at the hotel once and it was very good. The pool and hot tub is very nice (on top of the building) - used it every day. This is a great way to relax and meet people. The river walk has places to eat for breakfast up to 11:00AM and not far from the Contessa—so you have options (including lunch). The Alamo is about 10-15 min walk.

I highly recommend this hotel and will be staying again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room near the elevator, the room is so big you don't hear anybody and it's easy in and...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Downtown_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

As everyone has mentioned-Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Staff, Great Spa, Except for the Breakfast Buffet - Great Food! San Antonio Riverwalk is such a fun area to walk. We took advantage of the extensions and would take very long walks each morning. Come back and enjoy the spa. The bar is beautiful and a great place to unwind after walking all day.

Room Tip: We booked the City View, but when we mentioned it was our anniversary we were given a great room ove...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We only stayed one night however we will be back as the customer service was 5 star! The property was super clean!! Great location! Parking on property is expensive just like everone else has stated but you can self park directly across the street for 1/2 the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blo900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here for a business meeting. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. I was amazed by how quiet the room was even though the room was facing the street. The hotel staff were very cordial and helpful during my stay. The hotel was in walking distance from the Alamo and part of the River walk. The selection of restaurants was .wonderful and reasonable. I definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: The pool on the roof top of the hotel is a great place to sit out and enjoy a nice breeze.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The rooms were very comfortable and roomy. Close to lots of restaurants and stores yet very quiet. Everyone was very helpful from valet to room service. Parking is very expensive but there is a lot across the street that is reasonable. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TashaMoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for one night last week. We had a room overlooking the riverwalk. We wished we had stayed longer! Room was immaculate, comfortable and quiet!!!

Sheer perfection - stay here - bet you won't be disappointed. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinagirl0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,095 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,108 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,523 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $200 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing