We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Customer Service”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #5 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Customer Service”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was with a group of 40 Business Professionals and we had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Contessa for a recent trip to San Antonio. We were immediately impressed. As our group came in the door, they front desk added more people to check us in. This allowed our entire group to check in at a very convenient pace and get settled into our rooms. We were going on a group trip by bus on one morning and we asked if there was anywhere we could get some bottled water for our trip. Mairvel and Mando both were able to get us a cooler and iced down bottled water for our trip! It is small things like this that will have me to continue to recommend this hotel to all of my fellow business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank workforfun699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,144
    651
    192
    105
    87
See reviews for
829
1,054
68
690
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel was great from booking to checkout. Normally I book under sites like Priceline or Hotwire to get great hotel deals that are in the vicinity of where I want to be, but this time I was more concerned about exact location than price. This hotel is centrally located right on the riverwalk and they offered a government rate that is actually a government rate. Those who look for hotels with gov't rates will know that often times hotels charge MORE or virtually the same price for a gov't rate. In this case it was a $64 savings!

Check in was fast and went smoothly. Because this is a downtown hotel, there is no free parking, which I was well aware of and expected to just pay for valet service. The valet explained that they would be happy to valet our car for $30/night or we could just park the car ourselves for only $15/night at the same garage across the street that they use. I'm used to almost being bullied by valets, so this was really nice that they told us our options so we could save $. We chose to valet the car anyway, and I would recommend this, as there is still quite a walk from the garage back to the hotel.

We had a city view room, which actually overlooked some of the riverwalk as well, and it was very comfortable and clean. All the rooms are suites, so it was very spacious. The bed and its coverings were very comfortable. The only downside would be the bathroom tub/shower area. The tub/shower combo did seem a bit on the older side, and the faucet/shower head could definitely use updating. The tiling looked newer, but I noticed poor workmanship. That's really the only negative I have about the room.

The pool/jacuzzi is on the top floor and is outdoors, but with walls and windows surrounding it. You get very pretty views of the city, the night views especially. I came here later at night and in the earlier morning hours and it was fairly quiet and peaceful. The pool is a smaller pool without a deep end and the jacuzzi was nice and was the perfect jacuzzi temp. I didn't use the weight room, but it looked like it had a decent assortment of equipment.

We did use the Cork Bar during the later happy hour from 10-11pm and were satisfied with our drinks. It has a loungy feel to it, with lots of couches and chairs and places to just relax. The Cork Bar area is where the Riverwalk exit/entrance is located. You can walk out and have all the amenities of the Riverwalk right within short walking distance - lots of restaurants, bars and shops.

The best part of this hotel is the staff. They were exceptional, from the bell boys to the maids and everyone in between. Anytime we passed by staff we were asked if we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything we needed. We were asked that by the guy in the elevator who was delivering room service, as well as the maid we passed, the valet, bell hops, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

On a visit ealier this month, I found this hotel very comfortable, relaxing and unpretentious, the staff knowledgeable and respectfull to all the guests...even a small child, I witnessed, on her way to the rooftop pool. The location was pretty amazing as well. The one thing I will always remember is there are some places that if they serve "pepsi", you can can not find a "coke" anywhere and vice-versa. Heck, there are even fast food places that will refuse to take an empty container for trash if it is a beverage they do no serve....anyways, not here. If you ask, you will receive. Can anyone say Pepsi please. Funny how something so insignificant can remain with you. I will be back. In the meantime, I'll be letting my friends know..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jax4409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

There is a bellman by the name of Eddie. Not only handled our luggage, but we felt his handling of us personally was excellent! Seemed extra knowledgeable of hotel and surrounding areas. The stay in the presidential...excellent! We attempted to re-book but others must know of this hidden treasure as well. Added a connecting room (regular suite)...but the way it all flowed together allowed our accommodations to be MORE than we expected. Have decided that all of our VIPs deserve this sort of attention and will plan well in advance to ensure the presidential suite is available!

Room Tip: Most like the river view side...but really the city views are not bad...perhaps high floors are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were traveling with our grandchildren and had a wonderful room and the service was great. The kids really loved the roof top pool and we all enjoyed being on the Riverwalk and went out daily for walks along the river.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hpp123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Room temperature would go form warm to cool every 30 minutes making it hard to stay asleep.

At checkout I paid for parking on my bill ($32.00).
When I reviewed my account I was charged $39.27.
I called the hotel and they told that was an error in should have been $35.73 for adding a fee of $3.73.
I now have both $39.27 and $37.73 on my statement.

Room Tip: Stay on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Stan S,

We are terribly sorry to hear about your billing issues from your recent stay at Hotel Contessa. It would be my pleasure to ensure this gets taken care of appropriately. Please feel free to reach out to me at your convenience.

My direct line, 210-298-8059

Best Regards,
Crystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We purchased the Texas resident package which included valet parking and breakfast. Hotel was nice, clean, and comfortable. The location was great too. The room was a "city view" but we had a little river view too. The breakfast buffet was good as well. We had a small problem because we were there over Mother's day weekend and they were having a special brunch which meant that the buffet (which was what was included in our package) was scheduled to end at 8am, but we spoke with Eddie who quickly resolved the issue for us by offering us room service for our buffet vouchers. We interacted with Eddie on several occasions and he was always pleasant and helpful. Also, George O., our server in the restaurant was great, very friendly and attentive even though it was a buffet. The rooftop pool and hot tub were very nice and having a bar available there was convenient. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in 505 which is priced at a city view price but has views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,057 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 357 in San Antonio
3,736 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,483 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 357 in San Antonio
3,016 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 357 in San Antonio
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing