We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #5 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent three nights, had a wonderful time in at the Hotel Contessa. If you want to stay right on the riverwalk this is the place to stay. Each day we headed out on foot to enjoy the sights, a break later in the day before dinner we'd spend at the roof top pool, very well appointed. Our room had high ceilings, a full sitting area, very comfy bed and large well appointed bath. Each night we headed out again on foot to bars & restaurants located on the riverwalk, numerous choices, all great. We rented bikes one day and headed out to the missions along the river, great bike rental & trail system.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhodogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,266 - 2,272 of 3,295 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

1st time stay at Contessa. The hotel was right on the river, very modern, clean, and the whole staff was super friendly. My whole family was impressed with the whole experience. We'll definitely plan on staying there in the future.

Room Tip: We had suites. Both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlos q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

so relaxing , the place is wonderful, the stuff is nice and helpful, and I enjoyed the breakfast Buffet, so many choices and the stuff in restaurant was so helpful .
the room is amazing, I loved everything about my trip , including this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilime1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Contessa back when it first opened and it was so wonderful that when the girls said "Girls Trip in San Antonio", I said I know exactly where we should stay. Boy was that a mistake. We made a reservation for 3 three nights. Then we decided to stay another but needed to make a different reservation for that additional night. It was at the beginning of our stay. So we checked into the first reservation and indicated we had another reservation for the next three night and the reservation number. They just totally screwed it all up and then have been horrible on getting it all fixed. In the end, we paid for 5 nights for a 4 night stay. The extra night was considered a "No Show" (funny we were right there at the hotel). The staff was incompetent with every aspect of our stay. They could handle it when we were there and now cant handle it after our stay. They need either new staff or new direction.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank radwommman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here with family over a long weekend in April. The room are well appointed even though there is some wear and tear noticeable. The service is excellent and very helpful. The hotel is situated on the Riverwalk and very close to all the restaurants and attractions that downtown San Antonio has to offer. Not really satisfied with the double beds, and the pillows. The bed is not really comfortable, and the pillows provided are like 4-5 of them but very small, not really of use. The bar downstairs is excellent. I would visit again if I had the opportunity. On the downside, the bathroom door is very strange, like a closet door and doesn't make a lot of sense. All in all a good hotel, I would a solid 4 star.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites, so it doesn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AXH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had great service, food, and drinks at the bar by the river. Room was wonderful as was the entire experience. From valet parking to checkin to checkout there was excellent service.
George at breakfast was superb and made us feel right at home.

Room Tip: I think they all most be good. We did not ask for anything special and our room was wonderful and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glenn513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I LOVE this hotel! First of all - the rooms are suites. Can you say -spacious??!! Our family of 3 fits perfectly in this hotel room - private bedroom for Mom and Dad and a fold out couch for jr. in the living room! And a bathroom in between. Also extra counter space for spreading out the makeup/hair drying tools while someone else is in the shower. Works like a dream! Also, it is on the "quiet" side of the river walk. Which means less late night noise if you are an early to bed and early to rise type person!

One recommendation I highly recommend is to walk to the Gunther House for breakfast (order their special coffee - you can't go wrong with starting your day that way) and tour the historic homes in the King George District - on the way back from the Gunther House - all within walking distance along the river.

The pool on the rooftop is TINY! So get there early if you want a chair!

I wouldn't suggest staying here during Spring Break - unless you don't mind waiting in line to check in - slower elevators - and louder hallway noise from guests - since it is a hotel of suites - it tends to draw larger groups of guests.

But I highly recommend it for family, group, or for couples! Great hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvplayacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,158 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#25 of 357 in San Antonio
4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
3,234 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,571 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $171 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing