We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Suite!”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #5 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I LOVE this hotel! First of all - the rooms are suites. Can you say -spacious??!! Our family of 3 fits perfectly in this hotel room - private bedroom for Mom and Dad and a fold out couch for jr. in the living room! And a bathroom in between. Also extra counter space for spreading out the makeup/hair drying tools while someone else is in the shower. Works like a dream! Also, it is on the "quiet" side of the river walk. Which means less late night noise if you are an early to bed and early to rise type person!

One recommendation I highly recommend is to walk to the Gunther House for breakfast (order their special coffee - you can't go wrong with starting your day that way) and tour the historic homes in the King George District - on the way back from the Gunther House - all within walking distance along the river.

The pool on the rooftop is TINY! So get there early if you want a chair!

I wouldn't suggest staying here during Spring Break - unless you don't mind waiting in line to check in - slower elevators - and louder hallway noise from guests - since it is a hotel of suites - it tends to draw larger groups of guests.

But I highly recommend it for family, group, or for couples! Great hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvplayacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,272 - 2,278 of 3,295 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. They went above and beyond at every turn!! We had 21 people at this hotel for a conference and NOT ONE complaint!! Eddie, the doorman, was very accommodating, professional and kept us informed. Rocio was amazing helping me with last minute changes and being available at a moments notice. Ismael Gaona really brought it home exceeding my expectations and providing amazing service ALL DAY long always with a smile on his face!! Special thanks to Kathy for keeping it all together for me and really making our group feel comfortable and welcomed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This centrally located hotel on the San Antonio River Walk is amazing. The Apartment style rooms make it comfortable for both business and leisure travel. I often take my parents with me on business trips. The fact that the bedroom is separated by a hallway with the bathroom in between makes it possible for me to work into the evening and not disturb my parents. The hotel is quiet. The restaurant and happy hour are divine. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit San Antonio. If you sign up for emails from the hotel, you will learn about specials and discounts.

Room Tip: All the rooms are essentially the same from my multiple trips to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Govmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here recently when a cold spell hit the area, so the temperature in the room was either too cold or too hot (adjusting the temperature in the room had minimal impact). The room was clean, and other than the scratchy sheets and blanket, the room was comfortable. The fitness facility was nice, and the free weights were maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DawninDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of the best hotels in San Antonio on the Riverwalk. The rooms are large, modern, updated, and clean. Rooftop pool was fantastic and offers best views of the city. Great workout facility with new equipment. This is a must stay place.

Room Tip: High floor with city view or low floor with Riverwalk view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiTravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Contessa because everywhere else was booked solid - we did not know it was Fiesta weekend! Our friends from Scotland were in the US for the first time and this was their final weekend. They were blown away. The hotel is excellent and the location is perfect. It is pricey but we consider that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob12426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our profeesional group of EA's stayed at this fabulous place this past weekend - and I'd highly recommend staying here. The staff was especially top notch. On Saturday morning, I went downstairs at 6:15 am not realizing they did not open for breakfast until 6:30. They still welcomed me in, even though they weren’t quite set up, and the waiter (George) was particularly awesome, as he offered me numerous refills of coffee, told me about how much the riverwalk had changed in the past 30 years (we shared stories on memories of different establishments come and gone) along with all the improvements, and even got me a to-go coffee for my walk/run after the meal. Another gal, believer her name was Linda, checked several rooms in the middle of the day searching for a wine bottle opener. Our group had also rented a hospitality suite one evening for a limited engagement, and the wait staff (Luis) stayed with us until the wee hours (well beyond the call of duty or contract) in the Hospitality suite on Saturday night while we talked into the night. It's located very close to shopping, right on the riverwalk-GREAT LOCATION! The bed and pillows were fantastic; had a perfect night's sleep every night.

Room Tip: I can't comment on the Spa, as I did not use their services, but the pool on the top floor over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,158 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#25 of 357 in San Antonio
4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
3,234 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,571 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $171 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing