We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverwalk!!”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #8 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 19, 2013

When we arrive we didn't get help with our luggage, and we thought that our entire stay will be like that but, also was the weekend of spring break and they have a lot of guests so we decide to give a chance to get better and we were not disappointed, very very good location just in the riverwalk very good restaurants and major attractions we also love the little island in the hotel. The rooms very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelerJn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,215)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Contessa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,259 - 2,265 of 3,215 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Contessa for our anniversary, by far this is the nicest most elegant hotel on the riverwalk. We have stayed at many different hotels on the riverwalk and by far the Hotel Contessa is the best. We will no longer be staying anywhere else. Thank you for such a wonderful anniversary!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tbox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family found this hotel last Spring Break by chance... and we have established it as our favorite little getaway spot! From the amazingly courteous staff to the insane rooftop pool, we just enjoy our stay every time! Our 5 and 7 year old girls think this hotel is just about the most awesome mini vacay we can get.... second to Disney World:) This time we stayed on the 10th floor with a city view, and it was amazing. We love to start our day with the incredible breakfast buffet, and then hit the street for family fun. The location is perfect! We don't have to use our car until its time to check out. We take the kids to the Children's Museum, the Magik Theatre, Tower of America, Mirror Maze, and Tomb Rider attractions. Everything is within comfortable walking distance for even our girls. Although, we are beginning to realize that we may stop packing our schedule so tight because our favorite thing to do is go to the rooftop pool! We feel very comfortable with our kids here:) The walls must be sound proof too, because I know our girls were hyped up and loud... but we never got any complaints... nor did we hear the kids that were staying right next door. That is a huge plus for my family!

We look forward to our bi-annual San Antonio visits so much more now:)

Room Tip: We prefer the higher floor city view as opposed to the lower floor river view. Our room directly ac...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I just came back from the USA, I had a very enjoyable stay at the Hotel Contessa in San Antonio. The room was very big and all personnels were competent, helpfully and very courteous. Fantastic swimming pool on top, with a nice view of San Antonio downtown and River walks. I had no time to try the SPA.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Triky92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Location is excellent for exploring all areas of downtown San Antonio. The wine bar and appetizers ordered in the lounge were a nice rest everyday before dinner. Great service throughout the hotel and very comfortable suites. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stay in San Antonio about twice a year for business and this is my favorite place to stay now. Great service and great location. Love the suite rooms. Over the past 20 years I think I've stay in almost all the hotels near the Convention Center, this one is usually sold out for a reason. I must remember to book early every year.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RunningQueen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose this hotel over several other options in and around the same price point based on a feeling and I am glad we did. The hotel itself is lovely and the staff are friendly and accomodating. House keeping and room service was slow but apologies were given for both.
There is a small roof top pool that is nice to sit by at the end of the day and the lobby lounge is a worth while visit. Try the Brussel sprouts!
The hotel is in a perfect location and is only a short walk to the Alamo, finer restaurants, and late night clubs.
Our room was on the 12th floor and had a seperate sitting area from the bedroom which makes for better entertaining or in room office set up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennyBear13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,093 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,103 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,519 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $200 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing