We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location on Riverwalk”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #8 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great central location on Riverwalk”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over my Birthday weekend. Over all very nice hotel. Our room was nice however the sheets on the bed were wrinkled and the staff was not as knowledgable about local night life as I would have expected. No balconies on any room in the place made a river view room not as charming. Service and aminities were excellent. Good size bath tub and our suit was very spacious.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,139
    650
    192
    105
    87
See reviews for
828
1,050
68
689
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent a weekend at Hotel Contessa February 8th for a birthday celebration. Comfy beds and quiet bedrooms. You can hear people talking in the hallways, but that is on the LR side of the unit, so it didn't bother us. The rooftop pool was very nice. The location is on the quiet side of the Riverwalk loop. Convenent to everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in mid October 2012 for a birthday/anniversary celebration.
The location is ON THE RIVER, but very quiet. Room was beautiful, but the staff make the hotel stay wonderful....they know your name, and are helpful with anything asked. Weather was beautiful, and we enjoyed breakfast on the river.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allweathergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was blown away by the high level of customer service I received from the moment I walked in the door until the moment I left! The accommodations were beautiful and so comfortable! I loved staying right on the River Walk, it was so easy to go out and explore the area.
Thanks for such a great experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a River view! I loved mine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrinca1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The best thing about the Contessa is it's location. It's at the tail end of the River Walk, so it's quiet while affording great views. But it's also only a few steps from all the eating and drinking establishments along the river, which makes for easy late-night carousing and day-time sight-seeing. The service everywhere in the hotel was friendly and professional----save the front desk, who are curt, indifferent, and act put-out if you ask any questions, and by that I mean, the usual sort of questions that out-of-towners might ask. One major drawback is the lack of parking anywhere near the hotel. While the Contessa does offer parking, it comes with a hefty daily fee and is limited (not nearly enough spaces to accomodate all the guests), so even if you're willing to pay, chances are it's already full. There's another garage (not owned by the hotel) several blocks away that charges slightly less, if you don't mind the walk. The hotel is billed as all suites, but this is not really true. The 'suites' are what I call cheater-suites. They're actually the size of a normal hotel room that has been partitioned into two cubicles---a sitting area and a sleeping area. The bathrooms are ordinary and minus the little comforts one expects at this price level. Overall the hotel decor is clean but nothing terribly exciting. Another minus are the elevators, which are too few to accomodate the size of the place, so that at busy times (breakfast, dinner, etc) there are lines on every floor waiting to go up or down. We actually took the stairs several times, it was quicker. The pool area on the roof was a plus. It's small, but affords fantastic views of downtown. Especially at night, although it could really use a bar to go with the city views. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Contessa, but did not feel particularly pampered or decadent. As I said, the best thing is the location, otherwise it's an ordinary medium priced hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, you might want to look somewhere else. With the slow elevators it's a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location was so great for us because even though you are right on the riverwalk, you aren't in the midst of all the restaurants and late night bars. It has a beautiful bar/lounge area with an outdoor area as well to enjoy happy hour or a snack and cup of coffee, and just a few steps away you are enjoying the river. The staff were extremely accomodating, the rooms are more like mini-suites. We really enjoyed this spot and wouldn't stay anywhere else if we return.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view, didn't even think to ask for one, but might be worth asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had prepaid hotel reservation. When we arrived late in the night, they did not honor our reservation and instead directed us to a Holiday Inn on the other side of town. In a follow up with the manager she said we arrived too late and that all the rooms were already taken. This despite our reservation being prepaid! We were given wrong directions to the Holiday and no assistance.

Beware when making reservations at this hotel and you are not going to be arriving at check in time

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thptrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,726 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 356 in San Antonio
1,475 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 356 in San Antonio
2,842 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 356 in San Antonio
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing