We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like one of the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #11 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yorktown, Texas, USA
1 review
“Feel like one of the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

While staying at the Hotel Contessa my family had a wonderful experience. Having stayed there a few years ago my family decided to return for a weekend. We really enjoy San Antonio and the River Walk and the Hotel Contessa is in a great location to enjoy many sites like the Alamo and many restaurants within walking distance. Mostly I liked the staff, they made us feel like one of the family.
However the really impressive part was the following week when decided at the spur of the moment to return again to the Contessa.
The Hotel Contessa staff actually remembered us, so along with the Great location, nice suites, atmosphere and AWESOME staff, this is the place my family will be staying when we return to San Antonio in the near future!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,027
    632
    189
    103
    83
See reviews for
782
1,000
68
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst Il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my third trip to this property and every time I see new art or finis details that i never noticed. The whole property is full of very interesting mosaics, glass work, and metal. As an example "The Cork Bar" really is sealed cork. The rooms are full suites also nicely populated with unusual things. The "tapas"at the restuarant are fun and the location on the riverwalk is tough to beat. Steps from" La Villita" and an easy walk to the convention center. Good for business or pleasure. The rooftop pool is beautiful and dont miss the mosaic mural. The staff is always willing to help. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElmhurstEBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at several other hotels on the San Antonio Riverwalk, but Hotel Contessa was my best experience hands down! The hotel is beautiful with awe inspiring furnishings. The food in the restaurant was superb. Best of all was the service... Top notch. Eddie, the bellman, was outstanding. When he saw that my husband and I were going out for a run he offered maps, directions, and a water upon our return. That is going that extra mile for your guests! I will definitely stay at Hotel Contessa on future visits to San Antonio!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jench2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Ending a 3 day stay at the Hotel Contesssa. From arrival everyone has been very helpful and friendly. We requested a room overlooking the River Walk and got a suite.

The location was perfect for the boat parade as part of a local Marco Gras celebration. We were able to walk to all the major attractions such as the Alamo, King William historic district, and La Villita.

We didn't have to rent a car or take a taxi.

A great start to our vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry6305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great location on the Riverwalk, helpful staff, spacious and impecable rooms!!
We had a city-view room on the 4th floor and it was just fine (I had read in previous reviews that these rooms were very noisy).
Takin into consideration price and quality I would say this is the best hotel in San Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guidillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Spent 3 days/nights at the Hotel Contessa while in town for a convention. It is conveniently located 2 blocks from the Convention Center and within 2-3 blocks of every worthwhile dining/entertainment establishment on the San Antonio Riverwalk. Rooms are very big and spacious, beds are very comfortable and hotel staff is very attentive. There is a great hotel bar and restaurant on site and a rooftop pool and jacuzzi along with rooftop exercise facility and Woodhouse Day Spa. I will definitely be back on leisure next time!

Room Tip: Riverwalk view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth,Western Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Pretty nice hotel. Awesome location, you just walk out onto the River Walk at San Antonio. So many restaurants/cafes nearby. Very friendly & helpful staff. Rooms clean,comfortable & well maintained. Would stay there again. Only gripe we had was that the buffet breakfast was quite ordinary, although the bacon was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leongie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing