We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Place for a Weekend Visit to San Antonio!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #11 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Weekend Visit to San Antonio!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband, my daughter, and my other daughter and son-in-law spent the weekend enjoying San Antonio. It was made all the nicer because we stayed at Hotel Contessa. All the rooms are two room suites and very comfortable. The staff was wonderful too! They really aimed to please. We enjoyed the cocktail lounge one afternoon and we ate breakfast our last morning in the restaurant which overlooked the Riverwalk. Our waiter was wonderful as was the food! We only had one problem. We stayed there 3 nights. After the first night, our 2 rooms were not made up until almost 6PM the next day. We informed the front desk and they promised to fix that the next day. The next day, our rooms were made up at 2:30 (still a little late since we were gone all day). However, we really like the hotel and will stay there again when we visit San Antonio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlgernonofChrisKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,900
    601
    178
    99
    80
See reviews for
738
936
66
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel seems small and quaint with charm. It has a great restaurant and bar with outdoor seating overlooking a quiet area of the river walk. The room was quite nice and bed very comfortable. This hotel is now our first choice for a stay on the river walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teandjc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We came for volleyball tournament and could not beat the price, the rooms are all suites, so a very large living area, hall way with counter space, coffee maker, no acces to fridge :( then seperate bedroom. Very large space and the bathroom is very nice.

ALL of the staff was very nice!

We would stay again for sure!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LVNtheDRM247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Clean, comfortable, quiet, accommodating, and personable. Cannot say enough. And, it is right on the river-walk. The room was more like a suite. Two TVs, a sitting room, excellent mattress, and good coffee.
I would stay again and again...
Gary

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were only able to stay for one might, but wish we could have stayed longer. The accommodations were spacious and comfortable. Chris at the front desk, graciously switched our room in order to satisfy our request for a different room location. We loved the pool and jacuzzi on the top floor. And we enjoyed the sangria served in the bar, as well as our dining experience in the restaurant. The buffet breakfast was wonderful, as well. Also, it was included with our room.. All the staff throughout the hotel were gracious and helpful in every way. Elisa, the front desk manager, was very personable and handled our check out very efficiently. We definitely would choose Hotel Contessa the next time we return to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Our first room was dark when we walked in and there was no way to really brighten it up because ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chsblk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Hotel Contessa is so centrally located, that it does not mater where you are going or what you are doing, in San Antonio, this place is home. My daughter’s first concert was splendid, my wife went with her and I was able to retreat to all the great hotel amenities at my fingertips. The valet service was great and well worth the small fee. The room was clean and spacious and the view priceless. The Staff was friendly but not over-ambitious. For business or pleasure I highly recommend this hotel. The people here really care about your stay and it shows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went on a recommendation and are very glad we did. The location on the Riverwalk was ideal. Our suite was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. On a cold winter's day the pool at 84 degrees together with the jacuzzi was a great place to relax after a visit to the Alamo which was a short walk away. We were well looked after by the very attentive staff when we went for our buffet breakfast with a good choice of food. Given the opportunity to be in San Antonio again we would love to make a return visit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the Riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BEECUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing