We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly staff, but poor amenities”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #11 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kansas
1 review
“friendly staff, but poor amenities”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2008

My wife and I are empty nesters and travel domestically 3 or 4 times a year. We never expect a hotel to be as good as home, but the stay at this hotel had enough issues, that it compelled me to write my first review. We stayed during the Final Four basketball tournament. We were first taken back that the room was not ready when we arrived mid afternoon. Also, valet parking was an additional $25/day. When we did get our room, several items were noticed - broken knob on dresser, wall lamp separated from base, several electrical outlets not working, bath light disloged from ceiling. We stayed 4 nights and left a tip for the maid service each day, even when one day had a surprise when the thermostat was turned to 90F! Probably a disgruntled employee. We were also not pleased with the fact that the hotel restaurant and bar were reserved for Coca-Cola employees only for the entire weekend. The pool was also closed one evening for a private party. We walked over to the Westin Hotel (next door) for their breakfast buffet, which was good. We really enjoyed San Antonio, but will definitely find a better hotel next time.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank kubballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,033
    633
    189
    103
    84
See reviews for
784
1,003
68
668
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2008

Me and my husband stayed at the Contessa in the early part of Nov. 07 for seven days, so that means that I am a little late writing this. But none the less the hotel is beautiful, we had a corner suite with the riverwalk view, which was amazing and would had definitely been more than enough space for a family.

We did not need a car, because everything was within walking distance and the hotel was located right on the quiet end of riverwalk.

For the most part the staff was very friendly and courteous, but now for the minus, there was one doorman who was rude and told us that there were no public bathrooms when we were returning to the hotel.

And normally this would not have bothered me, but he did it a second time the following day after our morning run. So besides one small minded person everyone else was great.

  • Liked — The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly
  • Disliked — The older doorman
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jak3mira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

The staff was courteous, attentive and very friendly. We had a river view room and the view was gorgeous. The rooms are really spacious and have a nice decor. We are a family of five so we always need more room. Anyhow, the hotel is very beautiful and we will definitely stay here when we are in San Antonio.

  • Liked — The spaciousness of the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TxModelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2008

I booked the hotel for a small business meeting (12 attendees) for three days. The rooms are real suites: large and comfortable. The service we received for our meeting was excellent. Many hotels are indifferent to small groups like ours, but we received very attentive service from room set-up to AV. The staff is friendly--an increasingly rare amenity--and you get an answer to your question, even if the person you asked has to get help to answer. Overall, you feel like everyone really cares that your stay is pleasant. It's a smaller hotel (248 rooms), so you might want to check if there are any really large groups there. The day of our departure a large group had the restaurant closed to other guests for the next five days. The hotel had a buffet set up in a large meeting room for other guests, which was OK for breakfast. Fortunately, there are plenty of alternatives nearby. I guess the bottom line is that I would book another meeting there without hesitation, and if returning to San Antonio on a personal trip, I'd book this hotel.

  • Liked — Large, well appointed rooms; great service
  • Disliked — Restaurant was good, not great
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

Really enjoyed our stay. Hotel was beautiful and staff really went out of their way to accomdate. Would definitley reccommend it. All rooms are suites. Not many options like that on the river walk.

  • Liked — Staff, decor and size of rooms
  • Disliked — A little road noise from our room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2L2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcpnj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2008

WOW! Right on the riverwalk. 3 blocks from the alamo. Lovely hotel all suites, clean and new. Staff was more then helpful with dining places, things to see and do. Very attentive. Catered to every whim. Bell men were great, front desk superb, concierge wonderful, charming and very up on the things to do and where to go where the locals go. Did not get a bad place out of them for dinner or things to see. I rate them perfect!

  • Liked — Staff and room and location
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lcpnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

The decor is something you'll want to take home! I wouldn't stay elsewhere--felt like home. LOVELY bathroom; 4 people could easily be accomodated in one suite. The food in the restaurant was great and the good-smelling aroma in the lobby takes your breath away. The only negative was that the housekeeping was unacceptable i.e., no sweeping of bathroom floor (with visible hairs). I called management but we played phone tag twice--but the tag's been on her for weeks. Received no return call.

  • Liked — The suites--so spacious.
  • Disliked — No pets permitted.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GumboRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,477 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing