We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Truly Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #10 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I began working with the Hotel Contessa In January 2012 to plan my wedding reception. They were absolutely fantastic and accommodating. They set up a room block for the bridal party, and went out of their way to make sure my wedding went off without a hitch. I worked closely with Erin Luther their catering manager. I took several trips to San Antonio prior to my wedding to iron out minor details and Erin was also very accommodating and very sweet! My hotel room the days before my wedding was stunning, I had a stunning view, they brought more blankets and pillows at our request they even took my bags to my room. The valet service was excellent, and I always had my car in a timely manner, the food and Anqua room where my reception was held was stunning, and the food very delicious! I will definitely refer the Contessa to everyone I know

Room Tip: Any room over looking the Riverwalk is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,782
    567
    167
    93
    77
See reviews for
686
875
63
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel Contessa did a fabulous job helping us plan our wedding reception event. The room was beautiful and food was a rave review from our guest.The Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. All our guest that stayed at the Contessa were extremely pleased with their accommodations. I would recommend the Hotel Contessa to anyone looking for a great place to plan an event or stay in San Antonio.

Room Tip: All the rooms are suites so anyone would be very comfortable. The Hotel is on the quite side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The location is great.
We had a king superior suite on floor 8. The room was very loud, since city buses stop in front of the room all day and night. The windows do not insulate well from noise. The room was clean, but the hallways were not. It seems there are no vacuums available for the hallways.
Also, the room had no fridge, only a minibar that was locked.
Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was average fair, but good. The waiter was friendly, but not very attentive. No refills on the coffee, had to ask twice for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjoe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

From the minute we pulled up we were thrilled with our decision to book The Hotel Contessa!! Everyone was beyond friendly and helpful.From the vallet (that we didn't even use), to the door attendents, the bartendars, the servers in the restaurant and especially the front desk Henri;they all seemed to REALLY enjoy their jobs and just aimed to please!! The location can't be beat;The Riverwalk is literally right at your doorstep. As soon as you walk out of the lower level of the hotel you are surrounded by lush greenery and huge trees, the path is RIGHT there. It is a short walk along the path to all the hustle and bustle which is nice because it is quiet and peaceful. We ate breakfast on the patio and it felt like we were in our own private park. Rooms were large and unique-an exposed brick wall, rustic wood bathroom doors, two tv's and a SUPER comfortable bed!! Fantastic pool area that reminded me of a tropical resort. Would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weewilliewonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Hotel Contessa is a reasonable priced luxury hotel. The staff is tremendously friendly. The service is superb! The rooms are very clean & the beds are the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in! It's located within walking distance of the river walk, shops & restaurants. Eddie G is one of the most helpful employees there. Always greeting you with a smile & he goes out of his way to assist you with any of your needs! It's truly a 5+ star hotel. I will be going back to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KasatraE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I love this hotel!!! Not only is it beautiful and clean and roomy, the staff is superb as well. They were very friendly and eager to please. I really, really enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay again. The restaurant in the hotel was very good with great service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Contessa for a business conference and was inspired by the Exceptional Customer Service exhibited by Hotel Staff! From the moment I walked in the door until I left 3 days later, each employee that I came in contact with treated me as if I was the only person in the hotel. The restuarant staff were Phenomenal! The front desk staff conducted themselves in a very professional manner and made me feel welcomed and at home! Top Notch!! I cannot wait to stay there again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the River...it is away from the street. San Antonio is a busy city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,517 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#9 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,348 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
#8 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing