We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT Hotel!!! Very nice place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #11 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT Hotel!!! Very nice place to stay!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was there for a girl's weekend in downtown San Antonio and 7 of us stayed at Hotel Contessa. I was very impressed with the Hotel itsels, it was beautiful, clean and a perfect location! The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, the bathroom and shower was a great size and the room had great views. Upon arrival, after check-in, Joseph took all of our bags for us crazy women up to our rooms, he adjusted the temperature for us as the room was really cold when we first walked in. He also informed of us of some of the amenities the hotel had to offer, like where the pool was, some information about pool and bar at the pool, when Happy Hour was at the Cork bar on the river level, along with some other general information. He was so friendly and helpful, we saw him a few other times as we were entering and exiting the hotel lobby, he even took several pictures of our group with all of our cameras. I hope the hotel recognizes what a valuable employee Joseph is. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place with a convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txashli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCDOSM, Director of Sales at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hello and thank you for staying in Hotel Contessa during your recent girls’ weekend. We are delighted that you selected our hotel as the place for you and your girlfriends to relax and enjoy all of the amenities, like the Cork Bar and our heated pool. We will pass along your very kind comments to Joseph. Our team tries very hard to enrich our guests’ experience and it looks like he went above and beyond to make your stay a very happy one. We hope you and your friends come back to stay with us on your next trip.

Warm Regards,
Steve DeFelice - Director of Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,056
    641
    190
    104
    85
See reviews for
791
1,017
68
676
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My boyfriend, his family and I spent a night here for Mother's Day weekend. We have no complaints. The room was big, the bed was clean. A variety of channels available. There was a quinceañera going on in one of the lower floors and we had no problem with the party/noise/guests. In our plans were included the Riverwalk, Sea World, and the market. Seaworld and the market are at a reasonable distance. Only thing, during check-in they gave us the wrong room assignment/key, however, good thing the key didn't work to that room because there was already a guest in that room. We don't make big problems out of little issues, unless it's sanitary or customer service issues. No problem went back downstairs, got correct key. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCDOSM, Director of Sales at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much for selecting the Hotel Contessa in celebration of Mother’s Day weekend. It is nice to have the extra spacious room when you’re traveling with family, so that each person has a place to relax. We’re glad the room key issue was settled to your satisfaction and that you found our property to be conveniently located to the downtown attractions. Staying right on the Riverwalk is why most people visit San Antonio and we certainly hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Steve DeFelice - Director of Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Contessa just prior to Independence day, our party had two rooms, graciously they put us next door to one another at our request at check-in. Everything was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions on restaurants, although not always suggestioning the most efficient route to get from point "a" to point "b". The beds were very comfortable and I liked the quality of the pillows. The only negative I have to offer was that I could hear the TV in the room next door when in bed, so perhaps the walls might be a little on the thin side. We got a great deal on the two rooms booked via Priceline.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblegames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCDOSM, Director of Sales at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hello and thank you for providing such a good review of the Hotel Contessa. We work hard to maintain a clean, spacious property with all of the amenities for a great stay. In addition, our team is always available to answer questions about great places to visit. We hope you’ll visit us again, the next time you are in San Antonio.

Warm Regards,
Steve DeFelice - Director of Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Lovely hotel but some staff have an attitude like they're too important to be friendly to guests.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olderfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCDOSM, Director of Sales at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Hotel Contessa. We take customer service very seriously and apologize for any issues you had with members of our team.

Warm Regards,
Steve DeFelice - Director of Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Louis, MO
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Contessa 4-nights before the 4th of July. The location is great...just a few minutes walk to all of the Riverwalk action. Eddie at the front door was fabulous! Offered great spots for local breakfast and ideas for the day's journey. Contessa couldn't ask for a better front man. Hotel was great, rooms spacious and clean. The rooftop pool was a welcome cool off in the hot San Antonio afternoons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eglazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCDOSM, Director of Sales at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We are so glad that you chose Hotel Contessa as your place to stay during the 4th of July holiday. We’re pleased that you were able to relax and cool off in the rooftop pool and that our rooms were to your liking. We believe our location is perfect—at the quiet end of the Riverwalk, but still in the heart of the action. Hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Steve DeFelice - Director of Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We just got back today from a wonderful stay at the Hotel Contessa. We loved it. We have stayed in downtown San Antonio before, but it was at the Market Square (nothing wrong with that) but this time we only stayed two nights, so we wanted to stay ON the Riverwalk.

It was just so easy to get around the downtown area. Easy access everywhere. It is two blocks from the Hard Rock Cafe and about three or so from the Alamo. Actually, as anyone who has been to the riverwalk can tell you is that once you are on the riverwalk, you are connected to everything, ie. Rivercenter Mall, The Alamo, restaurants, all sorts of shoppoing, including handmade and the general retail shops we all know.
They have valet parking and that was new to me. It was fine. The guys were very nice. The rooms are suites. I chose our room to overlook the riverwalk. After seeing the area from various angles, I now know I would have enjoyed the city view as well. The pool is on the roof. Cool! The views from there are just great. That's how I realized we were right by the Hard Rock.
The people on staff were polite, professional, and friendly.
They did not have a refrigerator in the room. No big deal, but a lot of people travel with a cooler and it would have been nice. When we want to stay downtown again, we will go here. It was well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler17711812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCDOSM, Director of Sales at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your very kind comments about your recent stay in the Hotel Contessa. It’s great that you were able to walk to all of the downtown attractions, such as the Alamo and the cafes. Our spacious suites are a great feature when you’re traveling with family and friends and it sounds like you enjoyed that about the hotel. Our team tries hard to be gracious and helpful to all of our guests and we’re happy that you had a good experience.

Warm Regards,
Steve DeFelice - Director of Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed there three times now and have had a wonderful time. The people are very friendly and very helpful. This last time we had Azeem as the concierge and he was very nice and very helpful. Mondo helped with the luggage checking in and out. Very polite. The bartenders were polite as well. We will stay there again .

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCDOSM, Director of Sales at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
It is such a compliment that you have selected us as your ‘go to’ place when you visit San Antonio. We will tell Azeem and Mando that you enjoyed their service, as well as our Cork bartenders. Thank you!

Warm Regards,
Steve DeFelice - Director of Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,548 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing