We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“105 degree weather + rooftop pool + grandchildren = a winner!”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #7 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“105 degree weather + rooftop pool + grandchildren = a winner!”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I selected the hotel after getting a good web rate for a place on the riverwalk with a pool.
The hotel is pleasing, friendly and clean. The rooms are large and the upper floors have a nice view.
We had "happy hour" at the bar in the lobby. The staff was good and helpful. The drink specials were an added plus ( the g-children had cola).
Wether on business (in downtown) or with family, it is a good place at a good price.
Did I mention that the pool was a winner for all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
We appreciate your acknowledgement of the accommodations and facilities. I thank you for your praise of our staff and the excellence they displayed. You were very kind to recognize the service they provided. We look forward to your return visit


Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,154
    657
    193
    106
    87
See reviews for
836
1,058
70
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Don't go anywhere else. This place is fantastic. It is right in the heart of everything and you can just park your car there and walk to all the hot spots. Shopping and The Alamo is just a short walk away as well. Hotel Contessa is right on the River Walk and is absolutely beautiful. Need I say more? :-)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilingmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
It is always a pleasure to read wonderful reviews like yours. We look forward to your return visit.


Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We always stay here because of the fabulous customer service and beautiful decor, not to mention the beautiful rooftop pool and hottub. We stayed June 14 and at check in the staff automatically upgraded us to a larger room at no charge. Everyone at this hotel is so ready to help and so friendly. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated with beautiful views of the city or riverwalk. I would recommend the Hotel Contessa as a great place to stay in San Antonio. There is a $12.00 a night parking garage in the next block so parking can be cheaper than the hotel charges.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debdoll63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
I thank you for your praise of our staff and the excellence they displayed. Thank you for recommending us to others and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to having you once again as a guest in the future.

Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Amazing location, the Riverwalk was sooo much fun! Great hotel, had a suite and the room was huge, nice sitting area with sofa and 2 chairs and large tv, desk...big bathroom, large bedroom with lots of space.
Clean hotel, convenient, great staff!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoviFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
We appreciate you choosing Hotel Contessa for your stay. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. My wife and two young kids stayed here for about 4 nights in October 2010. Our suite was huge and very nice (perfect for traveling with kids). The staff was also extremely friendly. My wife and I couldn't believe how affordable the suite was based on the location and quality of the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleveland4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
In reading your review I can see you had a wonderful time while visiting San Antonio and we appreciate you choosing Hotel Contessa for your stay. Thank you for recommending us to others. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future.


Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Right at the heart of the City Center - you can walk to the finest restaurants and stroll along the beautiful river walk.

The actual bedroom is separated from the living room by a small corridor and bathroom, which must be very useful if travelling with children. TVs in both rooms.

Concierge and bell boys service was excellent. Valet parking is extremely slow (15/20 min waiting time). The 15 dollar a night self-parking option was not an option since the parking lot was full. So be prepared to pay 30 bucks for every 24h of valet service as there are no other parking options.

Free internet. very spacious hotel, nicely decorated. Great option for SA stays. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabellllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
In reading your review, while I appreciate your comments about the friendliness of the staff and nice facilities. Thank you for recommending us to others. We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.


Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I was recently in San Antonio for business, but seeing as how I'd never been to the city before, I decided to stay downtown. I was very pleased with my stay.

This hotel is in a great location, right on the water in a quiet area of the Riverwalk. The hotel has a bar and restaurant with a patio right out on the water. It's a Spanish themed tapas restaurant with pretty good happy hour food/prices. You're a short, enjoyable walk to the very touristy area with all the bars, restaurants and shopping of the Riverwalk, but without the all the crowds.

The room was large, a suite setup, with a seperate bedroom and living room area. The room was clean and comfortable. I didn't pay the extra $$ for the "Riverview" room, and I don't think you need to, though I would recommend a room on a higher floor, as the skyline is cool in all directions.

They do charge you a good amount for parking, and it DOES take a good 15-20 minutes for the valet to bring it around. This would probably be my only complaint. Besides that, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, upscale hotel in a very cool area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crstobal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
It is always a pleasure to read wonderful reviews like yours and we appreciate you choosing Hotel Contessa for your stay. Thank you for recommending us to others. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Sincerely,
Wende Blumberg-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,079 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,054 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,500 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing