We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
129
89
37
15
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
89
37
15
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea worldindoor poolfront deskmovie theater across the streetsaltgrass steakhouseairforce graduationlackland afbroom was cleanair forcebreakfast barevery morningwould stay here againyogurthot breakfastfree breakfaststayed nightsnice stay
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 300 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We just returned from attending our daughter's graduation from BMT at Lackland AFB. We wanted a hotel that was close for travel to the base, to the city and to Seaworld. This location was perfect. About 10 minutes from base and Seaworld, 15-20 from downtown and about 30 minutes to the airport - all on good roads and easy to find without a GPS. The room was clean and we could see the coasters at Seaword at night in the distance! The morning hot buffet was the best - ready at 6 for early getaways, tasty and plenty of it. They even put out warm choc chip cookies mid morning! Coffee 24/7. The staff was very friendly and helpful and check-in/out was quick and easy. We ate a late dinner at Bennigan's one night - just walked across the parking lot! We didn't use the pool, but did enjoy sitting out on the deck at night when it was cooler. If you will be going to Lackland AFB to watch your son/daughter become an Airman/Warrior, consider staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eventgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

Thanks for the review and letting everyone know about the location.
Yes, we are very close to Seaworld & the Lackland Air Force Base, where graduations are held
every weekend. Families love to stay with our hotel, because of the great location, indoor pool, large rooms and Great Service.
Please contact us the very next time you plan to visit San Antonio.
We would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Holiday Inn Express Sea World's location is perfect! We were within a short driving distance of all the locations we needed or wanted to visit. We were there for our Son's BMT Graduation on Friday, 24 April and our stay at this Hotel was awesome! Robert (Night Auditor) was GREAT! we had to leave early on Monday morning and Robert made cofffee and started breakfast for us. Paul (Security Guard) was very helpful with areas of the city we should see. We will stay at this Hotel for our next BMT graduation!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Proud_ParentsUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

WOW---Thank you so much for the great review.
We love to hear your feedback & use it to enhance our training, service & product.
Customer Service truly is a Priority for the General Manager of this hotel.
This staff goes above & beyond, to create an atmosphere, which leaves her guests
with a "memorable" experience.
Please call us the next time you plan to visit San Antonio.
We will be waiting for you....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stayed in this nice hotel during a recent trip to the Alamo Bowl. We used Trip Advisor to help us choose a hotel as usual, and we were not disappointed. This hotel was clean, quiet, and safe. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was very nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocAdvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

It is great to hear your feedback & read your review!
Thank you for your kind words.
We appreciate you letting everyone know, how great this hotel staff is.
The convenience of the property to Seaworld & Lackland AFB, is a great
advantage for our guests.
Please call us the next time you plan to visit San Antonio....we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for the Airfoce graduation at Lackland. The location was so convenient for everything. Lackland is right down the street. You are so close you can hear taps at night. The hotel was well maintained and the rooms were spacious and clean. The employees were exceptional. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsfan054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

A BIG Thank You for the great review.
We appreciate you kind words.
We work hard to deliver a great experience to our guests.
Please call us, the next time you plan to visit San Antonio.
We will be waiting to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We were in town for our sons graduation from Air force BMT.
This was a perfect location. Only about 12 minutes from Lackland AFB and very easy access to other activites.This was a reasonably priced hotel and was very clean.Nice rooms. Nice
breakfast at no xtra charge. Staff was very accomodating and helpful, I had a few requests and NOTHING was a problem. We
came back to our hotel after we picked our son up for his TOWN
pass the day after graduation, and it was about an hour after the breakfast bar closed. Robert even offered to make my son breakfast . I thought that was very kind of him. There are alot of
shady looking hotels right off the base. I would beware of those
hotels. This hotel is a perfect choice for anyone attending the
Air force graduation. Straight shot down Hwy 410 S exit Valley high Rd, turn left and you have a straight shot to the base. It
is about 6-8 mile drive usually took us 10-12 minutes to get
there. Just a few tips: thru 2008 Airman and their dependants
(wives and children, can get into sea world for free , no strings
attached, it is worth taking advantage of because tickets are
about $50. regular price) Aslo the River walk is alot of fun.Be
sure to take a river cruise. There are ALOT of excellent restaurants too. Saltgrass Steak house had the BEST filet
mignon, we're from Nebraska and it was way better than any
steak weve had around here. Holiday Inn Express did have an
indoor pool and hottub, we did not use it but it looked pretty
clean. The only recommendation I would suggest is to ask
for a upper level room. The pool was on the main floor across
from some of the rooms and the chlorine smell was a little over bearing. We initially had a room on the first floor right across from the pool and I could not stand the smell so I asked to
be moved to the 3rd or 4th floor which was perfect and was not
a problem. The front desk girls were very friendly and accomodating. I would definetely recommend this hotel. I am
very picky and will usually only stay at 4-5 star hotels, so I was
impressed with this one for the price. You can find hotels by
the base for about $70 a night but I heard some people at the graduation complaining about how disgusting their hotel was,
one lady said they actually checked out of their hotel the first night and drove aroud until they found another one. It is worth it
to pay an extra 20-30 dollars a night if you dont want to be bothered by mold and roaches.Holiday Inn Express Seaworld is a perfect hotel. We received a good price thru AAA, the room was
99 per night by remember san antonio has a 21 or 22 percent hotel tax. I would stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KristynOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews