We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inefficient staff”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #17 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I prepaid for a one night stay. Upon checkin the clerk did not have any idea of the package amenities included. It took about 20 minutes to check in. The free breakfast was one of the worst I've had anywhere-breakfast breads were hard and dried out, watermelon was inedible and grapes were slimy. Upon checkout they tried to charge me again for the room. Checkout took about 15 minutes to get straightened out. The bathroom was not exactly clean with black hairs all over the countertop. The location is the best part of the hotel since it's just across the street from the Alamo.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,858 - 1,864 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2011

Couldn't have picked a better location, it is right across the street from the Alamo. There is a large shopping mall on the other side as well. Tour bus begins right on Crockett St. so also very handy! The hotel room was very nicely done and extremely clean. The bed was firm but comfortable, and we slept very well there without disturbance. breakfast had a good selection including Texas shaped waffles, fruit, yogurt, bagels, cereal, eggs etc. The staff at the hotel were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. All this at what I think was a very reasonable, if not low, rate.
Try the Saltgrass restaurant on Riverwalk for great steak, and the Mercado for shopping!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fillyourboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The hotel is literally steps from the Alamo, a few blocks from the Riverwalk, and was incredibly convenient to everything I wanted to do. I was in town for a conference at the Convention Center, and found it very easy to get there. A quick 10 minute walk (cutting through the mall and taking the Riverwalk) was all it took to get there.

The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the staff helpful. I thought the room was very clean, but the bed linens are the old-style bedspreads. I took a taxi from the airport ($23 trip, 20 minutes) so I didn't have the issue with parking that others have experienced. The continental breakfast was tasty, filling, and free! All in all, the hotel was exactly what I needed for my stay: clean, safe, and a much better value than any other associated with my convention!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcking82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Our rooms overlooked the Alamo. Ultra modern appointed smaller room had excellent bed. Entrance is through renovated and remodeled atrium contained restaurants, lobby and access to pool. Parking at $18.50 a day could be a bargain if one goes in and out. I parked in a lot next to hotel parking and paid $20 overnight n part of a day for $20. Breakfast was much more than advertised continental version. Surprisingly quiet for downtown location. Riverwalk is less than 2 blocks away. Downers: low commode is for agile folks (challenge for those over 65). Room Key required for hotel elevator, while a security plus, must be inserted and removed to get selected floor. Eelevator will not move otherwise. I purchased room from aggregator and didn't pay full price. This trip occurred in the off season so some comments may not apply in late April. Yes I will book again when I have out of state guests that want to see San Antonio..

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank servbusowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We enjoyed the historic qualities of the Crockett Hotel, but that was about all. When we got to our room, we discovered that the bathroom vanity was dirty...including hair left over from someone shaving! We called housekeeping and they came to rectify the situation. We noticed smaller hair fibers behind the faucet...at which point, we just gave up and cleaned it ourselves. In the evening, around 10pm or 11pm, we were ready for sleep and we then noticed our room was next to the ice machine. You guessed it!!!! Everytime we began to fall asleep, someone got more ice for a party. Since it was late and we had everything spread out, we decided against complaining and trying to get another room. The next morning, we inquired about the shuttle to the airport and were told they do not provide this service but they would give us a number to call where we could arrange our transportation. This was really irritating because I called long distance to make sure this was provided by the hotel and was assured they provided this service to their guests. The final straw was when we checked out and the front desk clerk informed us that we had a lot of local calls on our bill and that would be added to the total. We did indeed use the hotel phone in our room for local calls because we were under the impression they were free since the phone instruction card in the room made no mention of a charge for local calls. We have stayed at hotels/motels where there was a charge for local calls but they always indicated this very clearly on the phone face or separate sheet of instructions. Due to these problems, we will never stay at the Crockett again. We would also discourage any of our friends from making the same mistake. This was a terrible experience which left a sour taste in our memory of San Antonio, which was made all the more bitter since we were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary on this trip.
Gary Petri
8805 Ohern St
Omaha, NE 68127

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omaha3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Crockett Hotel for 2 nights. We thoght the location and value for price was great. We had a large room with a queen bed and BIG bathroom overlooking the Alamo. The bed was firm, just like we like it. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to be on the other side of the hotel as the Alamo clean-up crew starts at 6:00 AM. I would recommend this hotel - great value, great location, good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WdotDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Got a good deal on this hotel thru Book It.com. The lobby looks old and a bit run down, but the rooms are updated-very nice, spacious, and clean. Free breakfast was good and the location is excellent for Riverwalk and RiverCenter. Only complaint is that $20 a day is steep for parking (mall lot behind the hotel is only $5, but no in and out allowed)and there was only one person checking in and out at front desk. Otherwise, I would stay here again and would recommend it for a reasonable weekend get a way!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodilynn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#20 of 357 in San Antonio
2,624 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#10 of 357 in San Antonio
1,168 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,238 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,298 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 357 in San Antonio
4,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $125 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing