We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded My Expectations”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #22 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Rio Grande Valley, Texas
1 review
“Exceeded My Expectations”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Everything about my stay at the Crockett exceeded my expectations. The staff (front desk, valet, security, housekeeping) were always very pleasant and helpful. After a couple of days the front desk staff addressed me by name, which was a nice change from the norm. Compared to other nearby hotels the price was great, breakfast was more than adequate and parking was reasonable. The only dilemma I had was the annoying ice machine that made ice every 30 minuets the first night. I was surprised and pleased with how seriously the manager and staff took my complaint. Although they offered to move me, they resolved the problem by resetting the timer on the ice machine (I had no idea ice machines were on a timer). I found the Crockett to be a charming and quirky old hotel perfectly located near the Riverwalk and Convention Center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlipChiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    663
    214
    51
    44
See reviews for
456
761
95
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vermilion, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

A co-worker and I chose the Crockett for our stay in San Antonio during the ER nurses conference. The hotel has a simple historic ambience, and if you're looking for something other than cookie-cutter chain hotels, this is an excellent choice!

I've noticed that some reviewers have complained about the breakfast buffet offerings. We could have paid $205 average per night at one of the well-known name hotels, and received no breakfast at all. Coffee and tea were available for free 24 hours a day, try to find that at one of the big named properties. A friend that lived in the city picked us up daily and the staff went out of their way to make him welcome (even invited him to join us for a free breakfast) and always made sure he had free coffee or tea while waiting for us.

Parking in San Antonio is expensive everywhere. I feel their rates are fair for the area.

Rooms were very comfortable. I slept well and our location in the hotel was not noisy.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

The grounds are small, but remember, you are in the midst of the historical center of the 6th largest city in the US. The Alamo is right across the street. The Convention Center is a safe 10 minute walk away. Numerous restaurants are near-by; many are family owned and unique dining experiences.

I plan to stay at the Crockett the next time I visit San Antonio. If it was good enough for LBJ, it's definitely good enough for me!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -mermaid453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The Crockett Hotel was perfect in every way. The rooms were clean and spacious enough, the breakfast was plentiful and great, the staff was helpful and polite. After a day of touring, we could relax in the pub for a drink and talk about the day's adventures. Everything we wanted to see and do was right at hand; The Alamo, Riverwalk, the mall, entertainment, the trolly, visitor center, all within walking distance. If we were not sure we were going in the right direction, volunteers from the Chamber of Commerce were around Riverwalk and the city to answer questions and point you in the right direction. We didn't need a car rental and took a taxi to and from the airport. The cost was nominal; we were two couples and with tip cost us $15.00 per couple. Looking forward to returning during the holidays to view the Christmas lights.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FallRiverGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We have stayed at the Crocket Hotel several times. Our most recent visit was consistent with the other times. The rooms were very clean with nice towels and toiletries. Spare funiture makes entertaining guests a problem, but the lounge areas are comfortable enough. The air conditioning is noisy, and the soundproofing could be better. Ernie's Bar is a comfy place to have a drink and watch the horse drawn carriages pass by the Alamo walls. Great breakfast buffet includes fresh fruit, cereals, scrambled eggs, and make your own wafles. Tiny outdoor pool with nice sitting area. Our car was delivered to us quickly, and the staff was always smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perkypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I will start with the few good things about this hotel. It was clean. The rooms (we had two) were clean, and the lobby was clean. In addition, the staff was very polite and pleasant. Now for the rest of the story.....The rooms were very outdated. The only mirror in the room was in the bathroom. The beds were uncomfortable and the pillows were worn. The double room had only double beds. No queen size doubles are available. The rooms were outdated, even with the hotel trying to keep an "antique" look. The breakfast was poor. No meat. Instant scrambled eggs, fruit, white bagels and white bread for toast. There is no dining areas, no cafe's, no food othen than vending machines. There were NOT ice machines on each floor, forcing you to go to another floor for ice and/or soda. The pool is very small and located across the alley. It is not a kid-friendly pool as the water jumps from 3 ft to 8 ft within 10 ft apart. We have traveled extensivley and found this to be one of the most expensive for the value. It is well worth an extra $20 a nite to stay at the Holiday Inn on the Riverfront. Also, NO business center. One computer, which was very small, one small printer, in the lobby. Must use credit card to use.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We value feedback and use it to review and refine our operations. Our mission is to be a great price value and a comfortable, historic, boutique hotel in the heart of San Antonio.
Your positive comments regarding our cleanliness and polite, friendly staff are much appreciated. We frequently hear these same comments from our guests and we strive every day to excel in those areas.
We also want to address the items that concerned you. We focus on the services where we can improve for the benefit of all our future guests. We renovated the Crockett with a multimillion dollar renovation in 2006-07 and did so with an eye to simple comfort and convenience, with a South Texas design. We remain a historic structure, but with a current, up-to-date feel. We certainly are sorry that you felt we were 'outdated'. As part of the renovation all beds were replaced with new Sealy mattresses and box springs. In addition, we advertise our double double bed rooms as such. We also offer a variety of other room layouts and bed types – with a single queen, single king and suites with a king bed and queen sofa bed. We are sorry if you understood that a double room here would provide 2 queen beds.
In recent years, we have done a number of things to enhance our breakfast offering. We advertise our complimentary breakfast as an enhanced continental breakfast. We have added scrambled eggs (these are made from fresh eggs- not instant or powdered eggs as some reviewers have reported in error), made-to-order waffles, fresh fruits, yogurts, cereals, 3 fresh fruit juices and more. Normally we provide a variety of breads and bagels and we will research why only 'white' bread and bagels were available during your stay.
After breakfast, we provide room service delivery for lunch, dinner and late night dining. With our prime location, We are surrounded by nearly 50 dining options in the immediate area surrounding the hotel. The hotel provides a snack vending machine (flr 4, and ice machines are on floors 2-3-5-6). A beverage vending machine is present on floors 2-6. Our staff will also deliver ice to your room upon request.
Our pool is often commented on as a great place for all to escape the Texas heat and relax. It is kid friendly while in the care of an adult. It has a nicely landscaped pool patio, with tables/chairs around the pool. Fully - one half of the entire pool is 4 ft or less and the deepest portion of the pool is less than 7 feet deep. The deep end is marked with depth markers on the pool edge and with bottom transition line as required by the city.
We provide free wireless internet throughout the facility. We do have a personal computer station in the lobby for those not travelling with their laptop. The lobby pc can provide free access for printing a boarding pass for air travel, and is fee based for other uses (surfing the internet, checking email, etc.).
We hope this clarifies some of the misconceptions that you had about the Crockett Hotel. We hope others find this helpful information and decide to be our guest at the Crockett Hotel in the heart of San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I enjoyed staying at the Crockett Hotel due to its historical features, location, and free breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcrawford253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I spent 7 nights in the Crockett Hotel with a colleague, we had 2 single rooms.
The biggest advantage is the location of the hotel, downtown, across the Alamo, very close to the Riverwalk with all its restaurants and shops. No need to use a car or taxi if you're staying downtown.
The rooms were big enough. Could be cleaner (especially the carpets), the bathroom was acceptably clean. We had rooms close to the ice machine which was terrible. It was so noisy! and with door that don't seal and paper thin walls it was not easy to sleep, however I wear ear-plugs every time in go to a hotel (just prevention), then I could sleep. The air condition is also loud when it comes on. Another surprise was the breakfast, it was served on plastic plates and cups and with plastic cutlery, enormous waste production. The choice of food was very limited, scrambled eggs (tasteless), toast bread, low fat youghurt, some cereals and limited choice of fruits. No vegetables, no ham, no cheese... But I got used to it.
The service was not very good, on the 5th day of our stay our code cards (you get 2 for each room) stopped working, the staff (young girl, don't remember her name) gave me the blame that it was our fault, that we must have magnetized them... So she recoded the cards and they did not work again, so we went there again, she took our cards and said she would call maintenance, no one came, luckily there was a man (probably superior to her), professional, gave us new cards that worked until we checked out.
The free internet was the slowest one I encountered since the dial-up era...
I must say that if you get a good rate (we had 65 per night) it is acceptable, the "branded" neighbour hotels are much more expensive. Therofore I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kukin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, Front Office Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Thank you for giving a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback and learn from what our guests have to tell us.

We strive to provide a great hotel in the perfect location in the heart of the city of San Antonio. Providing comfort and convenience at a good price-value is our main goal.

We never want a guest to have disturbances from equipment or failure of room keys to affect their stay. We will look into the cause of these situations so that we can prevent them in the future.

We have put all of our ice machines on a timed circuit, so that at 10 pm, they stop making ice and shut down for the night. They come back on at 8 am.

We will review your comments with our hotel staff and look forward to a return visit to the Crockett Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#25 of 356 in San Antonio
2,392 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 356 in San Antonio
1,110 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 356 in San Antonio
3,008 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
3,173 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing