We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #23 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
SE London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Not a huge amount of facilities, but the rooms were large and clean. Hotel staff were very helpful and the price with breakfast was very reasonable. Right next to t he Alamo so you can be first in line . Also close to river walk and the hop on trolley tour. Wifi is good and free. And in Ernies bar you should sample Bartender Heather's marguerites , which are the best you will ever drink.
Heather is a fantastic bartender , as the previous reviews testify. If you smoke cigarettes the smiling area is in a nice shady spot. breakfast was ok , but it saves you the trouble of looking for somewhere to eat .

Room Tip: Can't really say but rooms on 6th floor were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    650
    210
    50
    42
See reviews for
433
748
93
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in July. The hotel is beautiful; the staff is very helpful. The bartenders were very friendly and also suggested local places to eat. We used the pool at the Crockett which was very quiet. We also used the large pool at the Menger which was large and had many more people. They did have bar service there. The Crockett is in a great location next to the Alamo, close enough to Riverwalk, and walkable distance from most of the tourist attractions. Didn't like the $20 charge for parking at the hotel, but we did have great valets. They retrieved our car promptly every time. Also close to great restaurants and a shopping mall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colleenIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your online review and for the positive feedback you provided.

We are so glad we were able to exceed your expectations and were a nice surprise for you, in the heart of this great city. Thanks again. We will share your comments with our entire team here at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Crockett Hotel is across the street from the Alamo in downtown San Antonio. It is an old hotel that has been renovated with all new fixtures and furniture and the renovation was well-done.
The pool area is very quaint and a good getaway from the hustle-bustle of the streets and the bar area is also very quaint.
The personnel at the front desk are very nice and very helpful. We highly recommend the grand hotel.

Room Tip: The higher, the better and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2014

If you want great location, an excellent price, and to get professional service, you need to book this hotel. Loved the view of The Alamo. We could walk everywhere downtown. No doubt I recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are larger, and very comfortable. A/C works excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I've stayed in quite a few of the downtown hotels and this was the best experience so far by far. The staff at the counter were very professional. He even remembered my name the next day! We lucked out and got a room on the top floor (Rm 705). It was very large with a wall of windows overlooking the Alamo. Breakfast in the morning was adequate; the usual cold cereals and fruit. Also, a very hot items like eggs and sausage. Texas shaped waffles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarperLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel was great. The staff is amazing and very efficient. The room was clean and spacious. It is directly behind the Alamo and a mere two blocks from the Riverwalk. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for history and a great experience in downtown San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASUSunDevil27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for being our recent guest and providing great feedback on your stay. We share our guest comments with our staff and appreciate your kind words. Your review will be helpful with our staff training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We got a good rate on the hotel and it was where we wanted to be, near the Alamo and Riverwalk. The single queen room was a bit small, but the bed was good, and our room overlooked the Alamo Plaza [ask for those]. The plantation shutters kept out the morning light well, but snapped open for photos of the skyline and plaza below. The lit-up carriages clopped by in the street below; fun to watch.

Staff were nice and the included breakfast was fine, for what it was. Come early to avoid the crowds at breakfast.

Our only complaint was the required valet parking [$20/day] and limited size of the unloading area in front of the hotel.

If your focus is not on lounging around the hotel or pool, but seeing the Alamo and Riverwalk area, this is a good value.

Room Tip: Come to breakfast early to avoid the crowds. Ask for a room overlooking the Alamo Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#28 of 355 in San Antonio
2,316 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
1,095 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
2,994 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing