We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #23 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed overnight in San Antonio and had a limited amount of time to visit the Alamo and the Riverwalk, and this hotel was literally across the street from both. It's a lovely older hotel that's well-staffed and well maintained, with full amenities and plenty of good choices for breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    653
    211
    50
    42
See reviews for
435
750
93
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were really impressed with the Crockett. We entered the impressive lobby, and were greeted by a very efficient desk clerk, who made us feel like VIPS. The rooms were large, sparsely decorated, and very clean. The hallways were a bit dreary, and the air conditioning was somewhat noisy. We had a leafy view of the Alamo Park, and the River Walk was just a few short blocks away through the River Center mall. The free breakfast was similar to what you might find in chain hotels, with plenty of choices. Best of all was the very small, but attractive pool area that made you feel you were in an oasis in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Alamo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I absolutely loved this little hotel! It is in a prime location and walking distance to everything cool.
The rooms on the inside of the building face the atrium so be sure to ask for a room with an outside view. The rooms are small but very neat and kept clean. I absolutely loved all of the brick in this hotel and the history about it.
The breakfast was decent but we really didn't eat there much so I can't give a fair review on the rest of the food. Morton's is directly across the street and its def worth the visit! Its much easier to stay parked at the hotel and walk to all of your nearby destinations... which is plentiful. Checking out took us a bit longer as everyone seemed to be checking out the same day and they only had one person at the front counter. None the less, its worth the stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmarias73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Even though the Crockett is my second favorite place to stay in town it is owned and operated by the owners of the nearby Menger my #1 choice. Until the evening before I left I didn't know that there is the "old" section and the new section. I stayed in the new section so I can't attest to the other. My room was spotless and was thoroughly cleaned every morning. However said the service was the worst they've ever scene, was based on my 4 day stay way off base. My only complaint is that the entranceway is small and it lacked a ramp for the disabled. (I admit I could have missed it) On my last evening I spoke to the hotel GM (sorry I'm poor with names) who filled me in on the history of the Crockett. Nearby are some places I'd suggest that you visit while in town. The famous Menger Hotel Bar is only a short walk away as is the Alamo. both Riverwalk and the Imax are a short walk away. One thing about the weather it can get cold and rainy in the winter and the summers are very humid. We like to go in mid spring and early fall because of the weather and there can be less tourist than in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMFDOCTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the convention center, just a short riverwalk away. My room overlooked the wall surrounding the Alamo...nice. The Crockett is a sister hotel to the Menger Hotel, another favorite of mine located across the street.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DougJodyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I were in San Antonio for the day. We loved the location of the hotel. It is located opposite of Alamo and the places we wanted to visit was in walking distance. All the tourist spots are in walking distance.It was $20 a day for valet service. It was pretty much the same price for self parking as well. We checked in around 4:30 pm and our room was in the 6th floor. The view from room pretty good. The room was clean and smelled very nice. I liked how they had extra set of towel. Usually a single bedroom has two sets of towel. They have nice little bar in the hotel itself. After a long day of doing touristy things around San Antonio, a drink in the hotel itself felt good. They had a breakfast in the morning starting 6:30 to 11 but we missed it. It looked nice in the pictures hopefully it tastes good as well. The front desk staff emphasized on trying their breakfast but we wanted to sleep in as it was a long drive back home.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rthapa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perosa Argentina, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The service at this hotel is the worst I have seen in a long time, and I travel a lot. Check-in was at 3:00pm and the room was not ready. I had arrived early (around 1:30pm), so I left and returned at 3:00pm. I had to wait and at 3:30 they gave me a room with a connecting door. When I called the reception and mentioned I would prefer a room without a connecting door, the receptionist kept insisting I had not requested a room without the door--the website made no mention of rooms with connecting doors. After that, I got downgraded to a standard room (my reservation was for a deluxe room). When I spoke at the reception about the downgrade, I was told that since I made the reservation through Expedia, that there was no difference in the rooms. False. I was then offered a suite, but when I went to see it, it also had a connecting door. Really? Was it supposed to be a joke? After much discussion and asking to see the manager, I was promised a credit on my final bill. I was given $10. Ha. The rooms facing the atrium are really noisy-you can hear everything that goes on in the reception area, breakfast area, piano players, and people talking. They need to invest in triple-glazed windows. Also, the inside rooms face the neighbors directly in front of you, so you can't open the blinds unless you want to see your neighbors. It was not worth the stay and I will never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the street. Inside rooms face the atrium, where you hear all the noise from recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#27 of 355 in San Antonio
2,335 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 355 in San Antonio
1,099 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,140 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 355 in San Antonio
2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing