We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most pleasant stay”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #23 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most pleasant stay”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a most pleasant stay at the Crockett Hotel (unwittingly during NCAA basketball week). Quite pleased with our room, breakfast each morning, and the pool area. Very convenient and easy walk to Alamo, miscellaneous shopping, the Riverwalk, and Shilo's German Deli (a "don't miss"). Cudos aplenty to Terri at the front desk who was very pleasant, personable, knowledgeable of the area, and accommodating. Very close self-park also a nice feature. Enjoyed the comfort, coziness, and prices of the hotel pub to watch NCAA basketball games.

Room Tip: High-floor rooms with an outside view probably a bit more favorable than those with a view of the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m3and1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    638
    209
    49
    42
See reviews for
423
729
93
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was in San Antonio recently for the commemoration of the siege and battle of the Alamo. Wanting to be close to all the activities on Alamo Plaza, I was pleased to be able to stay at the Crockett -- right outside the back gate to the Alamo! The room was large, the bed was comfortable, the climate control responsive. The included breakfast was excellent with many options for all appetites. The hotel itself is historic and charming. My room was on a higher floor, overlooking the atrium/lobby. Noise wasn't a problem, but I could see that if there was a lot of noisy activity late at night, that could be a problem. We also had a window looking over the pool, so we had nice natural light. There were only a couple problems. The elevators are very small. And when the luggage was brought in, we were at the registration desk so, unknown to us, the valet put the luggage cart in a locked storage room and then disappeared! We went up to the room, looked outside and all over the lobby. Finally, we asked at the desk, and they took us to the store room to see if it was there. All ended well and all in all, it was a pleasant, comfortable stay.

Room Tip: When registering, ask for a room overlooking the Alamo and one on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cachaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We recently stayed at the Crockett for 2 nights. we have stayed in 6 other hotels in the area in all star levels. The crockett is incredibly convenient to all attractions in the area. The rooms are small but updated and clean. Bathroom is very small but clean as well. Typical breakfast with waffles, fruits, cereal etc but well presented. There is no restaurant on site but MANY a few steps away. The only negative is that if you are going to sleep late its not conducive to that. The hotel is old and Im sure not well insulated. We had a room overlooking the alamo with nice plantation shutters...but they do not block out the sun so the room was very bright as soon as sun came up. The walls are thin and we could hear everything going on down on the street...horses, mowers, buses etc. For many people Im sure this wouldnt be an issue as its just a place to sleep and get up early.
You must not miss Ernies Bar. The bartender Heather is absolutely wonderful. She makes you feel so welcome and like you are in a little neighborhood "cheers" type bar. Great drink specials as well. We had an absolute blast there.

Room Tip: Rooms either face atrium or city/ alamo view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziq2Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have to say I was very impressed with this hotel. Looking at their website photos I really thought this would be an outdated place with many issues, but I was wrong. It has a charm that is captivating and the staff are very polite and friendly. The room was great. Mattress very comfortable, excellent air conditioning with room thermostat (in some hotels those don't truly work, but it did here) and plenty of hot water. Take the time to look at wall photos in the lobby. Some excellent panoramic shots taken long ago give you a real picture of that area in the past. The Crockett Hotel is a fantastic deal for the money. The location is perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotdawg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Tx
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just stayed at the Crockett with my daughter last week. Love it. Not on the River Walk but easy access to all of downtown area. Rooms are spacious, clean and staff is friendly. Will stay there again next month. If you don't need a mega chain hotel, check out the Crockett. I'm sold!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Alamo, but leave your fan on at night to cut out horses hooves from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxMoonpie-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I recently booked 10 rooms at The Crockett for a group attending an event at the convention center in downtown San Antonio. The Crockett's location was perfect, putting us within walking distance of the venue as well as being right by a number of restaurants, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamo. I was happily surprised by the friendliness of the valet and the front desk when we arrived, and they were just the start of a very pleasant stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and the sofa in my room was in excellent condition and quite comfortable for relaxing. The bed was also very comfortable, and the television worked perfectly (HD, large screen). The wet bar was tucked discreetly to one side of the room.

Over the course of three nights, I encountered several of the staff. They were all friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make sure we had a good visit. The staff member who assisted me in booking the block of rooms had also been very helpful, guiding me through the process since I had never booked rooms for a group before. This wasn't just ordinary good service; this was the sort of professional good service that one rarely gets anymore.

Don't miss the bar at the end of the evening. Ernie's Bar is a great place to relax with your group and chat. The bartender was great, chatting easily with people and filling requests quickly.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are huge and comfortable. If you go to bed early or are a light sleeper, you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFrazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed at the Crockett Hotel the night of 3/13/14. The rooms and common areas were spotless. The location cannot be beat. Just a quick walk away from The Alamo and The Riverwalk. Had a great time and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#27 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#34 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing