We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced, few amenities and the staff doesn't care”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #16 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was very shocked at how little the Crockett offered for the huge amount they charged. No restaurant, no hot tub, dirty room (hair everywhere in the bathroom), disgusting pool, the TV didn't work ( but they didn't care and couldn't fix it or switch our room). We paid double what we paid at the Menger last year and they had everything we wanted and needed. I won't stay again and won't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank for being our guest and taking the time to provide us some feedback about your recent stay. We also appreciate your prior visit to our sister property, The Historic Menger Hotel.

We strive everyday to meet and exceed our guests expectations, and we feel badly when we fail to do so. We are certainly a different type of hotel from the Menger, being a smaller, boutique select-service hotel. We will share your comments with our staff so that they may gain a better understanding of our guests expectations. We value all the feedback we receive so we may continually improve our operation.

We do have a restaurant and it provides a complimentary breakfast daily. It was prior to 2006 when the hotel operated a three-meal restaurant operation. Since that time, we have worked with several restaurants that deliver to the hotel as a convenient option for other meal periods. We have also found that many of our guests enjoy the variety of the over 50 restaurants in our neighborhood.

Our rates (at both hotels) do vary depending on the season and local travel demand. It appears you visited the Menger in a slower time than this visit, on a mid-summer high demand weekend. This would explain a higher room rate than what you paid previously.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and will deliver to you the professional and friendly customer service that so many of our guests have experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,666 - 1,672 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

definitely very accessible... though the pillows are way too soft and we could hear everything outside the hotel, e.g. horses trotting... people laughing...
Breakfast was the same every day though not much variety... nevertheless the guest got to make our own waffle in the shape of texas.... how cool was that...
overall it was a nice place to stay in

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angel_ting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had to spend some time in San Antonio recently, so parlayed my nights between the Crockett and the Menger hotels. The Crockett was pleasant and accommodating. The room was clean with a comfortable bed. The bar was average with average pricing.
They do not have a restaurant, but they are right across the street from the Morton Steak House a couple of blocks from the Riverwalk reataurants and very near the downtown mall. Parking was $18.00. I would recommend it as something a little more quaint with a totally different character from the Merriots, etc. I would not ask the front desk staff for their restaurant recommendations, if they are reflective of where they sent me for authentic Mexican food.... Mexican Manhattan (unless there are two of these retaurants in SA)... don't go! I had fajitas and everything was so bad I only ate a couple of bites and called it quits, called a cab back to the hotel and had an ice cream at Hagen Das on the corner. The other complaint that I had was that the room I had was facing the street and although it had large wood shutters, the room was lit up all night due to the street lights. I would recommend it as a one-timer if you wanted quaint near the Alamo.

Room Tip: Check out the Menger next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXFARR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Crockett Hotel is perfect, across from The Alamo and 2 blocks from the famous Riverwalk. Lots of great restaurants on the Riverwalk within 2 blocks. Location location location was excellent and very helpful staff. Make sure you have a cold drink at Ernie's. great location in the heart of San Antonio

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had the worst experience here. The room was cute but our tv did not work, my daughter got trapped in the elevator, and we were up all night because you could hear everything outside including every single time someone used the elevator! I can't believe this place is still in business. Not a warm place at all!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kdiehlmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Naturally, we are disappointed that you felt our hotel was so below your expectations.

We reviewed our engineering logs and could not determine any reported problems with an elevator or television. But as a follow up, we had our elevators checked by our service company to ensure they were all working properly. We take the care and upkeep of these essential services as our highest priority.

We will share your review with our staff so that we can continue to improve our operations. In addition, we were happy that you accepted the financial adjustment that was provided when you checked out. We look forward to a return visit when we might be able to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We got a great rate (roughly half the price of nearby hotels). The room was spacious & clean; the bathroom was a bit small but certainly adequate. Free breakfast was okay & happy hour in the bar was nice. The pool looked beautiful (we didn't use it). SUPER close to all the things we did downtown. Friendly front desk. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Overall our stay was great. Location is awsome so close to alamo, mall, riverwalk just everything. Our room was clean, parking is not easy and it costs $20/night but that seems to be the standard. The breakfast they offered had a good selection and it lasted late. It was quite well as quite as a hotel full of people can be. Prices are decent. Would stay there again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erawson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
2,725 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,134 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,217 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,353 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $135 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing