We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #19 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is literally yards away from the Alamo making it one of the best located hotels in San Antonio. We had a room on the 3rd floor. Our windows overlooked the foyer/reception area which meant it was very quiet with no traffic noise. Actually the road that passes the hotel seemed quite quiet anyway which was good. The buffet breakfast was perfectly satisfactory - they even had a Texas shaped waffle maker. I believe the hotel has been refurbished in recent years and our room was nice, modern and comfortable. Vending machines were located in the hotel for late night sweet fixes. With the central location there are plenty of shops, restaurants etc nearby. Access to the Riverwalk is close by as are bus stops. We liked the green illuminated Crockett Hotel at night - check it out from in front of the Alamo. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterandJanrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 2,087 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

From our room we could see the rear entrance of the Alamo with its beautiful, walled landscaping. Horse carriages clip-clopped by on the quiet street below, lit up by fairy lights in the evenings. It felt like a wonderful step back in time. Our room was comfortable and clean and, understandably for a historic hotel, on the small side. The lobby and breakfast areas are large, airy and comfortable. There is a nice bar where we had a glass of wine. Elevators are fast and clean. Entire staff was pleasant and welcoming. Parking lot is adjacent to the hotel and well-maintained. You can't beat the hotel's location- across from the Alamo and a nice stroll to the Riverwalk. We were impressed with how well the restaurants and cafes blended in with the river landscaping. We also walked to the Majestic Theater to see Memphis. A great stay at the Crockett. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: get a higher floor overlooking the Alamo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorpio49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just got back from spending several days in San Antonio at the Crockett Hotel. This is possibly the best place in town. The Riverwalk was only about a 5 minute stroll and the hotel itself is directly across the street from the Alamo Memorial--we could look out our 6th floor window and down on the grounds of the Alamo and also had a great view of many outstanding buildings. Rooms were a bit on the small side (but adequate) but the cleanliness of the entire place made up for any shortcomings. They have an outstanding staff. The breakfast hours of 6.30 to 10.00 made it nice for those (every) morning we slept in. I've stayed in many hotels and motels and by far this is one of the quietest. Compared to many of the other centrally located hotels the rates were LOW. If we get back to San Antonio you can bet this will be our first choice for staying.

Room Tip: For the best views you want to get the 5th floor and higher---on the even numbered side of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Crockett and were pleasantly surprised! Since the hotel was so cheap, I didn't expect it to be so good. The location is perfect, literally across the street from the Alamo. very close to the riverwalk, convention center & shopping center. We did not have to take a cab anywhere. The rooms are small and plain, but it is a historic hotel so is expected. The staff is very friendly and the free breakfast is good. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed at the Crockett for a conference and loved the location next to the mall and city locations. Valet fellows were very kind as were the front desk personnel. One of our conference leaders had problems with the GM but it was cleared up. Rooms were very small but I was blessed to have a corner room with much more room. Housekeeping did a super job daily. Breakfast was just OK but at least it was offered.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room...much larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Check in took mere minutes and I was impressed with the friendliness and competence of the front desk staff. The lobby is attractive and has a piano that guests are welcome to play. The room was comfortable and the beds made for three great nights of sleep. Breakfasts are decent with Texas shaped waffles, eggs, fruit and yogurt offered. The pool is small but you can use the larger pool and work out facilities across the street at the Menger Hotel if you're looking to do laps. It's a great location right across the street from the Alamo and Imax Theater and about a block from the Riverwalk. Housekeeping staff were courteous and prompt and our room was spotless. Had a great stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustLale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We arrived by AMTRAK for a very short visit while circumnavigating the 48 states by train. The hotel has an excellent location... across the street from the Alamo, walking distance to the riverside mall and the quaint double decked tour bus. The facilities were very clean and the room was large and charming. The staff were all sweet and helpful and we loved the complimentary breakfast downstairs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaVerne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#21 of 357 in San Antonio
2,666 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,268 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,082 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $112 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing