We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historic hotel great location behind the Alamo”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #23 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice historic hotel great location behind the Alamo”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The location of the historic Crockett is the best thing about this hotel. You are right across the street from the Alamo, across the street from the huge mall (behind the steak house sign) and a block or two from the Riverwalk.
The staff was wonderful including one gentleman who always remembered my name when he saw me (and I have a very hard last name for most people to pronounce, I was very impressed by this!).
The hotel was clean. Some may find the lack of heavy curtains on the windows allowing too much sun in the room (they have a thick wooden blinds); also the bed was a little too firm for me, but I did get used to it. Otherwise, the room was always very clean as well as the bathroom.
There was no microwave or small refrigerator in the room--I don't know if the Crockett has rooms like that but I did not request one. As I was out touring most of the day and night, it did not prove to be a big issue for me. There were no laundry facilities, but again I cleaned my clothes with some soap and water and allowed them to dry over the bathtub. It worked O.K. The outside pool was small in size, but still OK with only 2 or 3 people in it.
I read complaints about the breakfast - it was the same every morning but it was included in my price and it was a good start every day. Just loved the Texas shaped waffles, which you make yourself! I looked forward to my Texas waffle every morning.
That being said, I found this a great hotel for my purposes of touring the Alamo and downtown San Antonio. There may be more luxurious hotels with more and larger facilites, but this was just great for me.
I would recommend this to friends visiting San Antonio and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I read that some people thought rooms near the lobby were noisy. My room was near the back, fifth f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpha01mav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    638
    209
    49
    42
See reviews for
423
729
93
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
148 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The location is great. Not right on the river but close to walk to it. Right behind the Alamo.

Parking is an extra fee but does have in and out privileges and valet.

The pool is sort of in the parking lot. It is small but they tried to make it inviting.

The room 306 is a standard 2 queen. The view was to overlook the back of the Alamo but was not high enough to see more than trees. The wall has an angle that made the room unique. The room was very clean.

We had a booking discount so the room was great for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offseasonfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently. I decided to try it out after reading all the great reviews online and the price was decent.

The location of the hotel itself is great. Across the street from the Alamo, walking distance to the Riverwalk, and several other attractions.

The lobby area is nice and clean, all the staff was very friendly. I loved the fact they had free WiFi (its amazing how many nicer hotels out there still don't offer this to their clients). Ernies Bar inside the hotel is a nice low key place to finish out the night, the drinks were cheap and the bartender was very nice.

My biggest complaint was the mattresses. The room I was in had a cheap Sealy that was horrible, it was way too firm. Just by looking at it you could tell it was already worn out and old. This is something they really need to look into updating.

Overall It was a decent stay, however I probably won't be staying here again unless they do something about the mattresses. I could barely sleep, and woke up feeling sore and tired.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mm54943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback after your recent stay. We embrace the responses from our guests so we can continually improve our operations in ways that matter most to our guests

We are encouraged that your found the hotel to be a good experience and a good value in a great location in downtown San Antonio.

We appreciate your comments on the bed in your room. All beds in the hotel were purchased new with our most recent renovation and are less than 5 years old. All are Sealy Posture-pedic models, specifically made for the hospitality industry. They are of a middle of the road, moderate firmness (which may be too soft for some, too hard for others).

We will keep your comments in mind when we next plan for mattress replacements. Thank you again for being our guest and helping to provide feedback on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had never been to San Antonio before. Driving thru the city looking for the hotel we were surprised when we saw an old sign. Little worried, we hoped the hotel wasn't as worn as the sign. The sign became charming when we found the hotel. The location turned out to be fantastic. The Alamo was right across the street city very walkable. The hotel was unique and charming. Rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. Service was good. We didn't need much. The valet was very patient. My kids seemed to have forgotten everything in the car and only remembered it one thing at a time. The pool area was fun and clean. The provided breakfast was good. All in all I was very happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We really appreciate your recent review of the Crockett Hotel. We are so happy that you found our historic, boutique hotel...tucked just behind the historic ALAMO mission.

Our iconic green neon sign on the roof has been drawing tourists' attention since the hotel opened in 1909. It is a labor of love to keep it glowing each night. We hope to see a renovation of the sign in the near future....possibly to a modern LED solution, that looks as it does now, but potentially saving energy costs.

We hope you return to stay with us again, and that our sign attracts many others in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Love everything about this hotel! The location is perfect and the hotel has amazing historic energy!!! The Crockett Hotel and Menger Hotel are owned by the same people. The rooms are larger at the Crockett. I read several reviews that said the Crockett was noisy, but our room was right above the bar and lobby and was much more quiet than some 5-star hotels that we've stayed at. I can't imagine paying $100 a night for a room, located within walking distance of the Riverwalk, with the cleanliness and atmosphere of the Crockett and writing a bad review. We had planned to stay at a bed and breakfast, but there was not availability...but we are so happy we stumbled upon the Crockett. My boyfriend and I honestly loved everything about this place and will most definitely stay here during all future stays in San Antonio!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacks149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

It really saddens me to write this review... I want to say only good things... But we were fairly dissapionted in our recent stay. The room was awesome-large, clean, etc... But so many small things were just not up to par. Check-in was difficult- we had requested a mini fridge (which was in the room, no problem there). When given the total for our stay, I SPECIFICALLY asked the desk staff if the total included cost for fridge... Yes, I was told... Card was processed, then I was told that she wasn't sure if fridge was included or not, so she needed to re-run my card for fridge- then I should check my records... & if I was overcharged, I should contact them to fix it later... REALLY?!? You can't tell if I've been charged the right amount- that's kind of your job, isn't it?!? Also, they did not provide us with enough breakfast tickets... Ironically, the day we ran out of tickets, our door keys quit working. We figured that she must have gotten our check-out date wrong in the system (even though we were charged for the correct amount of nights!)... When having to re-key our cards, it was an over 20 minute wait, due to the line in front of us... NOT a good experience- the bar was still nice, breakfast has gone downhill in quality from last year (I know that breakfast is a difficult thing to do, but really- warm milk & cottage cheese- we were afraid to ingest them, actually...but they did try, & a free morning meal is nice-)... Pool area was still enjoyable, but busy (NOT the hotel's fault)- could have been cleaner, & there were unattended, underaged children there many times... Again, not really the hotel's fault, but- if you have rules posted & guests inform you that the rules are being broken... MORE THAN ONCE- why is nothing done?!? We returned to the Crockett because we have had GREAT, OUTSTANDING service & stays in the past. We were REALLY looking forward to a nice, relaxing stay while on vacation... If this had been my 1st stay here, I would NOT be coming back... As it stands, we will prob give them one more chance. Maybe we just caught them at a bad time... But if service does not improve, I'm afraid that our affair w/the Crockett is over... :-(

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdh713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are very appreciative that you have stayed with us several times in the past and were encouraged enough to come back as our guest.

We strive everyday to exceed our guests expectations. As a team, we feel badly when we fail in these efforts. We know each guest visit is an accumulation of customer/staff interactions and experieinces, and we are only as good as any one of these events. In this stay, it seems that we missed expectations in a number of areas. For this we sincerely apologize.

We will certainly share your experience with all of our staff so that we can improve our operations for future guests. We remain committed to making the Crockett Hotel a great choice for guests looking for a unique hotel in the heart of a great city. And we will improve so that experiences such as you recently had are minimized and your confidence in us will be restored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Don't plan on getting any sleep while your here, day or night. There's too much noise inside the hotel to ever sleep. If someone is in the hallway you are going to hear them. The location is great, close to the Riverwalk, The Alamo, the IMAX. but inside the hotel doors are alway slamming. The air wakes you up when it comes on and when it cuts off. Again, it's nice but don't plan on ever sleeping

Room Tip: Stay someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#27 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#34 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing