We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #18 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed at the Crockett Hotel 3 nights room was great (except no little fridge). Complimentary breakfast was good with Texas shaped waffles, yogurt, Fruit, Toast, Bagels, Eggs and cereal. Would recommend this hotel due to its location and price. Just a few steps from the Alamo and riverwalk. Small inconvinience when the door key stopped working due to something wrong with door lock, but was given a new room in a suite.

Room Tip: save your money i liked the basic room more then the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,822 - 1,828 of 2,060 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

The room was clean, no view. The elevator is tiny, but works. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was limited ( plan on a Belgium waffle shaped as Texas. Pool is in a strange location, not a leisurely experience. Don't book for the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buldan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the historic Crocket Hotel.

We are pleased that you as many of our guests found the hotel clean and comfortable. With our 102 year history, our 'heart of the city' location remains a special aspect of the Crockett Hotel.

Our free breakfast is often highlighted with the Texas shaped waffle. We also include scrambled eggs, breads, bagels and pastries, fresh fruit, yogurts and fruit juices.

The elevator size is a factor given the limitation and size of the original elevator shafts. We modernized the cabs and lifting equipments 100% in 2007. Also, the pool and patio were added to the property for the 1968 Worlds Fair in San Antonio. The private landscaped pool and patio are just across our front drive from the hotel entrance.

Thank you again. We look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Crockett Hotel. Loved the location. Walk out your back door and you are at the Alamo. Walk a few blocks and you are on the riverwalk. My 9y.o. loved the pool. The pool was never busy and there were plenty of chairs and lots of shade. The bar located in the hotel also allowed you to take drinks out to the pool. They are a little understaffed. The vallet backed up when i first got there and I could barely fit my car in the drive in. Other than that they were great at retreiving our car when we needed it. Our room was on the 6th floor and It had a strange smell that never went away. It smelled like it had been on fire. Not sure where this smell came from but it was very strong. Nothing you could do about it. The hallway and the hotel did not smell this way. Just our room. Very strange. Great view out the windows. They need a better system for the breakfast. Upon check in you receive cards that tell you to turn them in to the attendant when you go to breakfast. There was no attendant. Had there been an attendant... you not be fighting for a table and have someone steal your chair while you were gone checking on your child while they were waiting in line to make a waffel. This happened to us twice. There really need more staff to make things run smoothly. Especially at breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bohemian911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Sorry, but thats about it after reading reviews I was expecting something a bit more special. Rooms are VERY small and our room was right over the lobby so there was plenty of noise. Phone did not work properly. Location is the best thing here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I was extremely satisfied with my stay at the Crockett Hotel. From check-in to check-out staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Of special note was Eduardo, who is super sweet and accommodating. The room was just the right size and comfortable. The bathroom was pretty big and loaded with plenty of towels. The staff did a fantastic job of keeping the room clean. Breakfast was nice – they have Texas shaped waffles. My only complaint was that the dining area was always crowded with families with kids, so I had to take my breakfast back to the room with me – but that wasn’t the hotel’s fault. It might be a good idea to wake up a little earlier to avoid the crowd at breakfast. The location of the hotel is perfect, being right by the Alamo, the Riverwalk, and the shopping mall. Next time I’m in San Antonio I will definitely stay at the Crockett hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ileana79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

From the moment we first booked a room at the Crockett Hotel for our 15th wedding anniversay, we were made to feel like our enjoyment and satisfaction was the Crockett's first priority. I was contacted by Eduardo, Manager on Duty at the Crockett Hotel (what a great guy!!!). From his first contact, he extended an offer to make our stay as enjoyable and memorable as he could, and he kept that promise. I took him up on the offer and he arranged to have a dozen sunflowers in the room when we arrived (my wife's favorite). Hang on to this guy as employees like him make a business a true success. Our room was completely fantastic. We had a king size bed, living area, refridge, and a great view of the Alamo site. Every morning we started the day with a great breakfast at the hotel: Fresh fruit, yogurt, home made waffles, juice, eggs, etc. It was a very nice selection, very fresh and always kept stocked. The breakfast hours were also long running until 9:30 which allowed us to sleep late. Our room was professionally maintained every day, with house keeping providing additional towels or supplies upon request. The front desk was professional and assisted us in a very timely manner. On the day of our departure, our flight did not leave until early evening. The Crockett Hotel offered to check our bags into a secure area for us so we could enjoy some additional time in the city without dragging our bags around. All of the above make for a great hotel and a place I would encourage anyone to stay. We will certainly be back! Thanks to Bill & Eduardo for your fantastic customer service!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJGFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Cons:
rooms are small (but it is an old hotel and that is hard to change)
TVs are old
elevators are small
parking was complicated since it was mostly valet (adds extra time)

Pros:
In the heart of the riverwalk/Alamo area
rooms were very clean
breakfast was good and free!

I got a great deal on this room from Priceline so it was an incredible value for the location. I would stay there again but maybe not with kids because of the size of the rooms. I loved the Texas shaped waffles and the breakfast overall was better than almost any you get free at hotels. They could use one extra waffle iron and a few more highchairs. Overall, I recommend it to anyone wanting to be able to walk to wonderful restaurants and attractions in downtown San Antonio. The ability to get a carriage ride steps outside the door was an added treat!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daughterofsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#20 of 357 in San Antonio
2,620 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 357 in San Antonio
1,166 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#21 of 357 in San Antonio
2,043 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $125 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing