We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time at the Crockett”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #23 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Great time at the Crockett”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We went to San Antonio last week for spring break and stayed at the Crockett. We loved it! It is right in the middle of everything to do in downtown San Antonio and was the perfect spot for us to base out of. Our room was plenty large enough for the four of us and very comfy. We had three laptops going and the wifi worked really well. Very close to fun attractions and great places to eat. Fun little bar in the lobby too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banderson8591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the Crockett Hotel. We strive everyday to meet or exceed our guests expectations. Our goal is to treat every guest as if they were visiting our own home.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our historic, boutique hotel in the heart of a great city. And we hope you will consider staying with us again when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    616
    201
    48
    40
See reviews for
413
713
91
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Some hotels reach a degree of excellence that sets them apart from others. The Crockett Hotel in San Antonio is one of them. It is, in an operative word, unbeatable.

Reasoning tells us that nothing in practical life is flawless (those seeking Perfection will find it only in the mind of a poet or in the ear of a composer), but for logistical and very specific -- and valid -- reasons the Crockett certainly approaches the standard: in its location, rates, room details, cordiality and professionalism of staff, and myriad other factors (tangible and not), it's effectively an ideal place to stay.

Sometimes what's most obvious easily escapes our notice. Those who plan to remain sequestered in their hotel rooms when visiting this vibrant city should clearly seek the most luxurious (and correspondingly costly) accommodations elsewhere. However, those who intend to avail themselves of what San Antonio has to offer but who want clean and comfortable (and affordable) accommodations "in medias res" -- right in the center of town -- would be hard-pressed to find lodgings more suitable, quiet, and superbly well-situated than those at the Crockett: the hotel is located directly behind the Alamo grounds and literally right across the street from them.

Even the slowest walkers would need all of two minutes to find their way from the Crockett Hotel's doors to the historical heart of San Antonio: Alamo Plaza. Repeat visitors to the city and long-time-returning guests at this hotel will vouch for the convenience and comfort the Crockett offers.

Just as importantly, their rates are fair and equitable, and their daily breakfast is entirely satisfying. Its buffet-style presentation includes fresh fruit, yogurt, choices of individually-boxed cereals, juices, different kinds of bread (with toasters handy), bagels, butter and jams, coffee, tea, milk, waffles, eggs, etc. -- all the basics plus extras you do NOT get at many of the popular motels, where guests must settle for a stale breakfast bar (essentially a candy bar disguised as "breakfast"). Additionally, the Crockett's breakfast buffet cost is included in the room rate -- and good luck to you and yours in trying to swing that at some of the other neighboring blue-chip accommodations.

The Tell-it-like-it-is principle applies here. -- Those who awaken at a pin-drop should at least have the foresight and common sense to request a quiet room at the time of booking at ANY hotel, instead of nurturing their personal irritability by complaining ad nauseum about everything and posting their grievances, usually anonymously, on various websites. (Try finding at any entity a section called the Compliment Department). Those who seek fault often find it even where no fault exists; they're those who thrive on criticizing, grumbling, and being cranky. We all know the type: they're those who have less interest in constructive improvement than in the warm glow of superiority their own comments, carping and protests will bring them. Most things in life involve a trade-off of some kind, but those who want to have it both ways get nothing from this writer but best wishes.

Some clarification is warranted. It's a given that malcontents will never be satisfied, regardless of what's being done for them. Allegations from some quarters that the establishment is in need of repair and renovating are utter nonsense -- this reviewer has seen none of this -- as are insinuations that hallways and carpets are musty. The Crockett Hotel was indeed fully renovated within the last few years; so much for accusations. The charge that some Crockett rooms are small also applies (though even more so!) to a place like the venerable Waldorf-Astoria in New York City, where, kindly note, a large closet that has the nerve to masquerade as a hotel room can be yours for about four times the price of a comfortable room at the Crockett. The complainer and nit-picker should remain at home where they can have everything their way, instead of staying at superlative and comfortable lodgings like the Crockett Hotel where they can have things the right way.

That countless guests return to the Crockett Hotel both consistently and constantly is a fact that clearly speaks for itself, and is its own testament to the entity.

Jeffrey Dane
March, 2011

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffdane43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Loved our stay during Spring Break this year. This is an old fashioned hotel overlooking the Alamo. It is a block from the River Walk which is a good thing, because when you return to the hotel, you feel like you are escaping the hustle and bustle. It was very soothing to look out of the window in the evening and hear the horse-drawn carriages clopping along, and to see the pretty lights. The kids enjoyed walking around infront of the alamo at night. I was impressed with the breakfast, the fruit platters had watermelon, honeydew, and pineapple, very healthy, along with waffels, eggs, cake, toast and other breads, with real butter. The River Center Mall is across the street for quick meals for the kids.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midnightred2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksboro, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Great hotel, staff friendly and helpful, only one complaint, our original booking was for one room with two double beds, got one king and fold out couch in a suite on first night only. Great location across the street from "The Alamo" . Parking was twenty $/night but all parking downtown is that much. I suggest parking on Crockett lot and using trolly system ($4.00/day each rider for all day).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoeman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2011

First let me say that we had high hopes as this looked like a very interesting hotel as it is a historical landmark. I must say from the check in to check out this hotel has major issues. The hotel is in bad need of repair and renovating. Rooms are very small and the hallways smell musty and dirty. There is a $20.00 daily parking fee no choice added. Carpets throughout the hotel are worn and dirty. Stay at motel 6 you will be better off. It is close to the Alamo and has free wifi the only positive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twnrunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write some comments after your recent stay. We never want a guest to leave feeling anything less than satisifed wtih the Crockett Hotel.

We learn from both the positive and negative feedback that we receive. We were troubled by the comments of musty smells. The vast majority of our guests find the hotel extremely clean and fresh. We completed a complete renovation of the hotel in 2007, so although the hotel is 102 years old this year, it is less than 4 years since our most recent update.

As a historic hotel, we have many different room configurations and a very few would be small by today's standards. But also many of our rooms are much larger than what is common in today's new hotel construction. The variety gives many guests the sense of history and uniqueness for this property, but we realize it can also surprise some who had other expectations. Whenever possible, we can attempt to move a guest to find an accomodation that they prefer.

Our parking (@ $18.50 + tax) is priced at or below any overnight parking option in our vicinity. During the very busy Spring Break week, the lot is generally at full capacity and valet parking is the only option we can provide.

Once again thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We hope you will return and enjoy the Crockett hotel on a future visit to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

It all began with a hot wire tip that The Crockett Hotel was the place to be and it over looked the Alamo and was historical. WE booked 2 night March 14th , & 15th ...arrived at 2:00pm
and was told that check in was 3pm but the room would be ready in 45mins.....okay 2:45, 3PM roll around room is not ready and the lobby is now full of people ....we were then told 10 more mins....25 mins and many many other people had checked in that were in line ...were beginning to realize that a good hotwire deal means no service or room issues.
Finally at 3:45...our room was given to us....was the condition that if we checked out early...we would be charged a full day plus a 75.00 charge..yet no one offered to pay us for checking us in late.
Elevators are extremely small which is expected for a historical building however it needs to be stated in description.
Our room was 418...right in front of the elevator which in itself wasnt the disaster until you heard that every floor the elevator hit it BEEPED something similar to a grocery check out line! Try listening to that all night. The hotel smells pretty musty and dirty.
Valet parking is the only option ..18.95...a day ....we had to get some items from our car..when we went to the front desk ..Valet attendant wasnt there ...front desk girl had to help us find the keys and then WE got to go find our own car at 10pm at night ..
Bathroom....small, sink drains slow, blow dryer was broken, shower head had very weak water trickles.
toilet...sounds broken.
internet worked great!, extra towels only took 30 mins to arrive, when we called for our car the next day it was ready in 5 mins
Breakfast was really good, however many children were playing all over the place without supervision, hands in food spilling juices..very little staff presence of which I had to find someone to stop a little girl from playing with the elevators my concern was she was going to hurt herself. They extended breakfast which was nice considering the large amount of people that showed up about 9am.

Historical was great, building was very nice, excellent for walking to the alamo and the main touristy area's.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huthcins2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond to your recent stay at the Crockett Hotel. We take all guest feedback to heart and use this information to continually improve our product and service.

We remain committed to providing a clean and comfortable hotel in the heart of a historic, unique San Antonio.

Certainly the volume of visitors during Spring Break can present a challenge and we staff up to cope with the increase in guests in house for the week. We apologize that some delays in service were experienced during your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to respond. We look forward to having you return as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
648 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I prepaid for a one night stay. Upon checkin the clerk did not have any idea of the package amenities included. It took about 20 minutes to check in. The free breakfast was one of the worst I've had anywhere-breakfast breads were hard and dried out, watermelon was inedible and grapes were slimy. Upon checkout they tried to charge me again for the room. Checkout took about 15 minutes to get straightened out. The bathroom was not exactly clean with black hairs all over the countertop. The location is the best part of the hotel since it's just across the street from the Alamo.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#30 of 354 in San Antonio
2,184 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,877 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing