We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TexMex on S. Alamo”

Tito's Restaurant Y Cantina
Ranked #80 of 4,628 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Arsenal
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
390 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“TexMex on S. Alamo”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good place to stop on a S. Alamo St. walking pub crawl. Tito's has the ambiance of the old commercial building redone and a staff with good service skills. The chips and salsa were as good as you can get in San Antonio and that says a lot! (and the beer was cold!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tomthbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    65
    19
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The ONLY Mexican Food in SA”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is the only place we'll splurge on Mexican Food in San Antonio- worth the calories and not greasy and crappy. Salsa is fantastic. Sopapillas unparalled. Sure, the service can be a little spotty but a smile and some eye contact will do the job in most cases...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Apparently a hidden gem...”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

When I told the cabbie where to take us, he said... HOW DID YOU HEAR ABOUT THIS PLACE? Apparently it's a locals thing, and we were tourists...but we know locals so we had the inside scoop on supposedly the best Mexican in town.

It's pretty non-descript on the outside (and inside). There is a bar area to stand around with TVs, and you can eat in there or in the other large dining room.

I felt that the Margaritas were pretty average and the guacamole was a little processed for a real-deal Mexican place. But the enchiladas... carne guisada... even the salsa that came with the chips... muy autentico! (authentic:) I used to live in South Texas so I know my Mexican food, and I was impressed.

Service was good, not great, but they were very busy. The hostess was very quick to get our large party seated on a busy Friday night. If you're looking for good Mexican with better atmosphere, La Fogata is probably better, but for authentic Mexican food near the Riverwalk, I'd come here!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GTGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really crappy service...I'll never go back!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was enjoying a nice evening stroll through King William when my wife and I decided to try Tito's for dinner. The place wasn't very busy, but no one even acknowledged us when we went in. We seated ourselves and waited and waited and waited. We were there over 15 minutes without so much as a smile or word from the folks running it. It was like they didn't want our business or something. We finally had enough and left. This place sucks, I'll never go back and that is too bad for them because we spend quite a bit of time and money in that part of town. Can't comment on the food because I have not had any.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewS_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houstonburbs
Level Contributor
338 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“One of the best kept secrets in San Antonio...”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

It is always said....find where the locals eat, and eat there for the good food. We discovered this wonderful place a few years ago, and make it a regular stop when in town. Even with the Valentine crowd, it did not disappoint! Not to far from the downtown area....weather was very nice strolling down St.Mary's .... The chicken enchiladas poblano .....OUTSTANDING!!! The margarita was superb! Can't wait to come back this summer!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladybugtx76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tito's Restaurant Y Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Tito's Restaurant Y Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing