We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must treasure to see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briscoe Western Art Museum

Briscoe Western Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Half Day San Antonio Morning Grand Historic Tour
Ranked #16 of 262 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must treasure to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

In this beautiful city, this is a little known secret. It has only been open 4 months but it is worth a visit. You will find it full of wonderful sculptures, paintings, guns, saddles, etc.. You can view Pancho Villa's saddle and Santa Ana's sword. There is a chuck wagon and a miniature of the Alamo. Very tech savvy. You can stop and listen to all sorts of stories. This is truly a first class museum.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    127
    29
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New Art Museum Close to the Alamo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This museum has only been open a few months, and it is good. I especially enjoyed the diorama of the Alamo and listening to the narratives of key players. My only "complaint" is that you cannot take any photographs whatsoever and they have none for sale in the gift shoo. Hopefully that will change soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
545 reviews
318 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Jewel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I LOVE San Antonio! I go as often as I can and I've seen a lot of what the city has to offer. DO NOT MISS THIS!! It has something for everyone. You want art - it has it. You love military exhibits. It's there. Music? Furniture? History? Throw your expectations out the window and give yourself two to three hours to explore. I was particularly enchanted by the saddles and spurs. I loved the Western Art. I enjoyed the gift shop. It was interesting, entertaining and educational. Did I mention that you shouldn't miss it!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“So Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Lots of history, beautiful silver work on saddles, fabulous sculptures. The sculpture in the entry foyer is incredible with bison and long horn steers cascading down its sides. Very interesting and educational. Wonderful surprise.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding New Western Exhibit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

You won't be disappointed when you visit the Briscoe Western Art Museum located on the River Walk. Two floors of art, culture and history of the American West. We saw Santa Anna's sword, Pancho Villa's Saddle, Wells Fargo stagecoach, a great spur collection and many, many, pieces of art and bronze statues. The art and it's display is outstanding. Sorry we were unable to provide pictures but check out their website.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travel50_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Briscoe Western Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Briscoe Western Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing