We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay at great property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Ranked #12 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay at great property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We used our timeshare to stay here for a week. Plenty for kids to do. Loved the Zoomagination- kids got to see and pet live animals like a skink and wallaby. Loved the s'mores nights and the fiesta was a blast!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kellydeb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    163
    38
    18
    18
See reviews for
426
108
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a part of Hyatt Vacation Club with Condos available to the public too. Staying there also affords access to the adjacent Hyatt Hill Country resort with Golf Club.
Great condos, kept in top shape. Could use more convenient activities and a good on-site restaurant, and is a little far out from City Center. However it is adjacent to Sea World, near top quality shopping and just about any type of restaurant and shops. Highly recommended for families or a get away. Plenty of Privacy, and the Adjacent Hotel seems to be building a great water feature which will be ready for summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Family Vacation. Had a blast. Loved that we could visit 2 different resorts during the same vacation. The Hill Country Resort is next door and we went back & forth between the 2 locations. Our kids ages 14,12,5, & 3 all enjoyed the trip and there was something for each age group. Smores were the biggest hit. Movies on the lawn was fun, 2. We had fun floating the "rivers" and resting under the shade. We enjoyed the Hyatt Wild Oak so much that we ended up buying a week there. Low pressure sales. They do not hound you to go to a sales meeting. We just had an interest. Being that the resort is 2 hrs from us- we thought it was a great place to vacation. We felt like we were out of state and a very fancy resort, all with the convenience of being a close drive from home. I highly recommend the Hyatt Wild Oak.

Room Tip: We had a corner unit on the ground floor. We were happy with our room. They are adding new buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank heygirltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Decided to stay at the Hyatt for a few days during Spring Break. Unfortunately my daughter got sick so we didn't get to take advantage of all the amenities/activities but they were plentiful. I liked the fact that there were daily/nightly activities planned everyday. I also loved the nice spacious room and the extra large jacuzzi tub. We stayed in a one bedroom suite (3 adults / 1 kid /1 infant) and it was ample enough space to stretch out and relax. We had our own private balcony as well. There were also plenty of food options/shopping nearby. My only complaints were the lack of food options at the resort and the parking. We came back around 9-10 nightly and couldn't find parking near our building. We had to park at another building area and walk. Didn't like that much but overall it was a nice stay and a great clean property.

Room Tip: Try to get a 3rd floor room so you won't hear the overhead noise and beautiful skylights in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DBHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time! It was a bit chilly during spring break, and we were really thankful that they heated the pools so perfectly. The beach entry, Rattlesnake River, and slides were awesome. Our children had a blast doing crafts at Camp Armadillo (Thank you Dariela, Riley and CJ! Our daughter could barely stop talking about how nice everyone was). They had an awesome Parent's Night Out Special, so we were able to enjoy a lovely dinner at The Antler's Lodge across the street (highly recommend the wedge salad, 5 oz filet, jalapeno potatoes au gratin and asparagus). The fam also enjoyed the nightly S'mores, mercado fiesta, outdoor movies and Zoomagination. We wanted to catch the magic show but it was during nap time. Landscaping was pretty, but not as green as it was at the Hyatt Hill Country. Our room was excellent, except for the abnormally uncomfortable sofa sleeper. I don't recall this problem at the Hyatt Coconut Plantation. The Ice House was well stocked...the only things missing were breakfast tacos and cinnamon rolls! JB's was yummy, but I would love to see some daily breakfast/lunch/dinner specials to add a little variety. The evening JB bartender and Rattlesnake River bartender rocked. Service was really superb all around!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoy going to SA and prefer to stay @ resort hotels and have always been pleased. However, this was our 1st trip To Wild Oak and it will be our last. For the price you would be better off staying at any other resort hotel. My family is really not hard to please. I am still confused why this place gets so many rave reviews.

Pros: Heated pool for kiddos during cooler months-my boys had a blast. Clean outdoor property and friendly staff.

Cons: Paper thin walls! We were kept awake by our neighbors every move and the bed was one of the most uncomfortable ever. The comforter on the bed had a blood stain!! How did housekeeping miss that? Gross! Carpets stained and filthy. Bathrooms were lacking and ammenites were nothing special. It does have a coffe maker but they leave you one oacket which only makes one cup of coffee-really. Seemed more like a motel than a resort hotel...hate to say it.

If i were you I would stay at the Hill Country, JW or La Cantera. All have pools, way more plush, clean rooms & you seemed pampered.

Room Tip: If you stay, bring your own coffee, and ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This place has all. The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely updated. There is endless activities for the kids.. Pools, water slides, lazy river, ping pong, volleyball.. Too much to list. Beautifully landscaped property winding paths with swings and benches along the way. I can't say enough about this place. We were there for our sons graduation from boot camp. I would fly back to San Antonio just to return here! I'd give it 10 stars if I could!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovesthesea02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#19 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Property: Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Address: 9700 W Military Dr, San Antonio, TX 78251-1754
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing