We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“First Timer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Ranked #15 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Timer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our first time staying at a Hyatt vacation club property and we absolutely enjoyed it! We stayed two nights in the middle of "low season" and the property was deserted as expected. After checking in at the front desk I was asked to go over to the "Conciere" for our free gift which turned out to be bottled water and a San Antonio visitor guide, coupons, etc which was nice. The conciere also gave a quick sales speil about the vacation club and asked if I wanted to go on an tour of the property, which I politely declined,....no pressure.

Next we arrived at our two bedroom unit which was a short drive up the hill across from the pool area.They put us in a ground floor unit on the corner as we requested. The unit was very clean and everything we expected! All the basic kitchen appliances and utensils we needed. The master bedroom was large with plenty of space for our babys crib and a patio door for access to the outside balcony. The king bed was a little lumpy but not horrible. The second bedroom had two full size beds with plenty room to spare. The unit also had a nice computer nook just off the kitchen for the laptop.

We explored the property and were pleasantly suprised with the amount of activities, horse shoe pits, washers, two play grounds, several fire pits, and one large indoor/outdoor pool with two water slides. The pool is heated and we enjoyed it all to our selves during the day. The overall pool depth is 3 feet so it's definitely geared towards kids. The lazy river was closed for repairs during our stay for maintenance.

The only con was hearing the noise from kids running around in the unit above us on the second level. I think next time we will stay on the 3rd floor to avoid this minor issue.

Overall this is a great self catering resort and its right next to the Hyatt Regnecy Hill Country Resort in which you also get access to. A true home away from home.

Room Tip: Turn on the ice maker when get into your room the freezer takes a long time to make ice. The dishwas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ATXREDSKIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    163
    38
    18
    18
See reviews for
426
108
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Defnitely above average property, but do not arrive late. When we arrived the front desk personnel were gone and you had to call security to come down and get you checked in. Other than that the property has a lot to offer for kids and families. The pool area, fire pits, etc. are great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jchavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had requested a quiet room in august for a christmas vacation but were put with the 2nd bedroom facing the main road. We heard golf carts up until 11:30 each night-and this with a baby and 4 year old, both light sleepers. Finally, we couldn't take it anymore and requested a new room. They even let us preview a room until we were satisfied. For the trouble, they also comped us a meal at the restaurant and sent us a basket, which was really unnecessary but very thoughtful.

Pros: pool is nice and there is a portion for indoor use if it's too cold outside
Fire pits for s'mores
Restaurant is overpriced but good
Beautiful places to walk
Lazy river and "beach"
Playground and treehouse

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank librarangrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen. My kids loved the amenities: the indoor and outdoor pools, and especially the lazy river. The hammocks along the lazy river allowed me to relax and read a book while still keeping an eye on the kids periodically. We roasted smores over a bonfire one night too.
The rooms are so modern and beautifully decorated. It is near Sea World and did visit but would have had just as much fun staying at the resort that day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kath s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waco, texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I title this review "Mixed Feelings" because we had a bit of a bad experience with our room but the amenities on the property were top notch. First I will get the bad out of the way. We booked a king room with a pull out sofa. The sofa bed was the most uncomfortable thing ever. I don't know how a human being could get any sleep on it. I managed to get a few hours each night with the help of some medication. The noise level was unacceptable. There was some sort of teenage girl sleepover in the next room and they had a stereo blaring and were loud until we called the desk. The set up of the resort is several freestanding blocks of rooms so the front desk was not just a hop away. I assume they sent someone in a golf cart to quiet the guests down, but they started up again shortly after. Our room was a connecting room to them and it was just too loud. I would ask for a non-connecting room next time I go, and we will return, we will just book a two bedroom instead of relying upon the sofa bed for sleeping. And we will DEFINITELY request a NON-connecting room.
Now, the amenities of the hotel were lovely. The pools were heated and there were lots of things for the children to do. The nature walk was a huge plus, you really feel as if you are in the middle of nowhere. We dined at JB's which was tasty and the staff were all so friendly. The only improvement I think this resort needs is a few tennis courts, other than that, it was great.

Room Tip: Request a non-connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4familytravelers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Many people book condos or time/share to get kitchen facilities or enough room to spread out. But these facilities do not come with the hotel/resort facilities. But the Hyatt Wild Oaks allows guests to use the Hyatt Hill Country Resort and that makes this an excellent choice for families looking for a resort experience but with enough room to spread out.

The rooms are luxurious. We had a 2-br "standalone" unit (which has 1 king and 2 twins) and the master bedroom and bath were great! Nice large bathtub (may be whirlpool but we didn't try it), separate shower, double sinks. Large kitchen with everything (including mixers, etc and specialty items on request). Portico amenities like in the other Hyatts. Living room with dining table that fit 10. Even high chairs on request.

As far as vacation clubs go -- the facility was a cut above the Hilton club and other time share places we'd been in the past.

There was a media room that we used that fit our party of 20 around a large screen TV. Indoor pool which was great in the winter. And 2 water slides and a lazy river. That was a big HIT with the kids. They even had a recreation director for kid programs and smores at the fire pit.

The lobby was pleasant with the spectre of the time-share reps hovering over. But they didn't try to give us the "hard-sell". Everyone was so friendly and the service was GREAT!! They really took care of us.

And when we wanted a spa experience or wanted a huge lobby, we drove to the Hill Country Resort and used the facilities there (we were there over Christmas, but understand there is a shuttle bus in the summer/busy season).

One thing to note: No daily housekeeping (as is the custom for condo type rentals). But they came every day to exchange towels and take out the trash. And they came mid-way through our 5 night stay to do a cleaning.

Room Tip: If you want room with 2 doubles -- book early and call the front desk to make a request. Otherwise y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALTippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights at this resort after Christmas. We were very impressed with the level of service at the resort. We originally booked two nights but after spending time here we wanted to stay an extra night. The front desk was very accommodating and we were able to book an extra night at the same rate. We stayed in a studio which is a nice size for a family of three. Our friends booked a one bedroom, which I preferred over the studio. I liked that it had a separate living room, dining room, and full kitchen. Next time we'll book a one bedroom. I only gave the resort four stars because of the bed linens and blankets. The linens have been used and washed too many times. They don't have the crisp look of nice hotel linens. The blankets are thin and also worn. On a cold evening it would've been nice to have a thicker more plush blanket. It's a shame because the rooms are very nice, but the bed linens do not do the room justice.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank 3seasonedtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Property: Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing